We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar, friendly staff, friendly patrons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Vernon Saloon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mount Vernon Saloon
909 N Charles St, Baltimore, MD 21201-5352 (Mount Vernon)
(410) 685-7427
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 1,793 restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $20 - $20
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great bar, friendly staff, friendly patrons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a great sports bar. The first night we came here was a Saturday, and us 4 Canadian travellers had a hankering for some hockey. We ask the bartender if its at all possible to get Hockey Night in Canada on one of the TVs, and he was happy to oblige. The rest of the patrons in the bar took notice that we must be Canadian and started asking us about hockey. It was like watching the game with a bunch of friends, the bar had a great feel to it. We had hockey, playoff baseball, and college football all going, and were talking sports with everyone around. The drink prices were great, the food was good bar food. We were told on Monday they had rib night and we had to come back for it. We did, and are we ever glad we did. The cajun ribs were fall off the bone perfection.

I would like to give a big shout out to Ashley and Kara for making us feel like we were at home. Both were super friendly and really made the bar a greta place. I will definitely be back if I'm ever back in Baltimore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    6
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Old Friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been a patron of the Mt. Vernon Stable for years probably off and on for the better part of 20 years. It has dinner specials that are to die for. It also has a happy hour on the weekend that is great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to a great old neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great little cafe that would be perfectly at home in the better parts of Paris or Rome. Very continental, but without the appetite killing prices you now see in upscale small cafes in Europe. Very intimate, great staff, great food! Maybe I should not be telling people all this...I would like to get a seat there the next time I go there, which will be soon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrtanna, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is the place to eat and drink in Mt Vernon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Incredible burgers and bar food. Super friendly wait staff and Cheers like feeling in the basement pub. This is where the real people who live in the area go to have fun. When I lived in Baltimore I was a regular there for a reason.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“So glad I went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

While visiting in Baltimore, a relative recommended this restaurant, which is in the heart of downtown Baltimore, in the Mt. Vernon area. We ate early so missed the crowd. The inside was quite a surprise based on the building it was in. I loved the decor and the atmosphere. Very modern with a great bar area. We ate three different types of food--my husband had mussels, which he raved over; I had a burrito, which was huge and out of this world, and the third party had enchiladas, which he enjoyed. The variety of the menu was amazing. I will definitely go back next time I am in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Vernon Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Mount Vernon Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Vernon Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.