We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently visited Baltimore to attend the Pearl Jam concert and stayed at the Residence Inn. Earlier that morning, we got engaged at the beach and then traveled to Baltimore. When we got to the room, I quickly learned that my new fiance had conspired with the Residence Inn manager to have roses, champagne, and balloons waiting in our room. They even left a heart made out of Hershey Kisses on the bed! We made a point to thank the manager and the employees at the front desk who helped with the surprise - everyone was so kind and thoughtful. The staff went above and beyond to make a great day even better. We can't wait to get back to Baltimore and we'll only stay at the Residence Inn!

Room Tip: The room was clean and comfortable. We had a partial view of the harbor on the south side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special day. We had a lot of fun helping out your future husband. It sounds like you had a great day you will always remember.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    168
    44
    8
    2
See reviews for
168
82
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this property using free nights/points. We had not visited Baltimore so we didn't know much about the city. We debated getting a rental car but decided against it in large part due to the high overnight parking fee at the hotel. It turns out that was great for us because we didn't need a rental car at all! This hotel was in walking distance of many of the Baltimore tourism attractions. Cabs were abundant and the Charm City Circulator (free bus) had stops near the hotel.

The hotel was very clean and spacious. As a family of three, we love the Residence Inn properties because it gives our child more space to play and it is nice to have two televisions as well as a kitchenette. Our only MINOR glitches were towels and bedding. There were three of us in the room and we had to call for extra towels each day as they only supplied two to our room. Our son slept on the pull-out sofa and the sheets for it had some ink stains and a couple of holes. We were on the 9th floor near the elevator and did not have any noise issues.

Our biggest surprise about the hotel was the staff. I am always amused at the comments on staff on tripadvisor. My contact with the front desk staff is usually limited to getting a key at check-in, so when people have a lot to say about front desk staff (either good or bad) I'm a little curious. However, we had several contacts with the front desk on this trip and they were all great! We went in to Washington DC for one day during our four day stay. I had researched the "best" way to do this on the internet, but I asked the front desk staff as well. They gave me a MUCH easier (free!) way to get to the train station. They answered lots of Baltimore questions and were just super helpful/friendly.

The valet/bell staff was also great. They were helpful in getting us cabs and with giving directions. In addition, we had a car service scheduled for our return trip to the airport. The car wasn't there when it was supposed to be. It was scheduled for 12:30 and when it didn't arrive at 12:30, they were making calls about it. The car arrived in a couple of minutes. They were very engaged with my son as well. We had a great trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the review. Leaving your car at home and using public transportation is a great way to save money when traveling to Baltimore. I appreciate your feedback on the towels and linen. I will make sure we discuss in staff meeting this morning.

Thank you for your business!

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Let me start off by saying I'm a dyed in the wool SPG loyalist, so I wasn't to thrilled about needing to slum it at a Residence Inn. I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is OK - decent size rooms, decor dated but it's really clean and taken care of.

The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming.

For the price, you really would have a hard time beating it. Thanks, Residence Inn Baltimore, for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Third floor had a bit of street noise, try higher up OR just not giving out on Light St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for giving Residence Inn by Marriott - Baltimore a try. We hope to see you again.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was totally worth it. For $145 we got a 1BR suite with separate kitchen, and a perfect view of the Baltimore marathon route (which is why we were there). They also accept pets and don't give any sort of hassles about it, or anything (such as additional deposits or size discrimination, etc., like other places), and the staff was mostly AMAZING. The bell/valet staff was literally a JOY, they were so nice, fast, considerate, and genuinely helpful, people-people, if you know what I mean. The only downside is I basically had to threaten that I was going to squat there to get a late checkout--and I was running the marathon, so it was physically impossible for me to check out. And, this was something I requested in advance, am a Gold Elite, and everything. They were busy, so I understand, but the woman at the front desk was so rude about it. So if you want that, make sure you confirm it up front! However, I realize this is a privilege, so I was ultimately grateful they gave it to me--it was just in how it was done seemed unnecessary. Bottomline though, is it was great service, great value, great location, and really a pleasant stay. I would totally go back and recommend to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.

On behalf of my staff, I am sorry you had a difficult time getting a late checkout and felt my staff could have been more accomodating. With the marathon and the Green Bay Packers vs. Baltimore game...the hotel was very busy. We do our best to accomodate everyone's request on a first come first serve basis.

I can certainly understand your need to go back to your room after running a marathon. I am glad it work out. Thanks for your patients.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My experience from check in to check out was amazing. Walking distance to the EXPO and Race start and finish was a blessing. I was on the 5th FLOOR and found it surprisingly quiet inside the hotel and no noise from any of the other guests. Bed was comfy and after the marathon chose to stay an additional night for recovery before returning home to FLORIDA. All restaurants were within walking distance (INNER HARBOR). DUNKIN Doughnuts and CVS were right next door.

One little flaw was the street noise and Baltimore tends to have sirens going 24 hours a day.

Breakfast on the day of checkout was awesome and hot.

Overall, super Stay and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us over the Baltimore Marathon. Please keep us in mind for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

From the friendly greeting to the cleanliness of the rooms, this is still a great family hotel. Breakfast is busy, but they opened other rooms. Excellent downtown value. Fortunately we had free parking available as that might be an issue.

Room Tip: If you travel with children this is great as the suite had a fully equipped kitchenette. Better tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott-Baltimore Inner Harbor. I appreciate you feedback regarding the need to use your key in the elevator. I understand that your hands may not be free every time you get into the elevator. My staff tries to assist any guest that does not have a fee hand.

As a General Manager...I like this feature for two reasons. 1) If your keys get demagnitized because it was too close to your cell phone...you will find out in the elevator and not when you get all the way to your room. 2) It helps keep people out of the hotel who do not belong here.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times when I have visited Batimore. Very convenient location, within walking distance to the Inner Harbor, Camden Yards, and Raven Stadium. I was in town for the Marathon and walking to the starting line was very easy. Dunkin Donuts, CVS, and 7-Eleven are all next door. Valet parking is a bit pricey but convenient. The hotel is pet friendly and we have brought our dog on past visits. Kitchen has a dishwasher, microwave, and stove top. Full sized refrigerator. Street noise can be a bit loud on lower floors. Shower is nice, plenty of hot water. Bed is comfortable, and many rooms have sleeper/sofas. Free breakfast in the morning is tasty and the room it is served in is large. Wi-FI could be a bit stronger. Wish you didn't need to use your key every time you use the elevator!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding the speed of our internet. We currently have a 10 meg, however, we will be getting a least 50 meg by the first of the year. Now that customers have 2-3 items that use the internet...we are finding that we need more bandwidth. Thank you for staying with us!

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is the city’s premier, downtown all suite hotel. Offering 188 studio, one and two bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas the Residence Inn Baltimore is the perfect hotel choice for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center or the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure travelers can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the Baltimore Aquarium, US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront and experience the best Baltimore has to offer. Our sports enthusiasts can pre-game at 17 Light, our on-site restaurant & lounge. Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are also with in walking distance of the hotel.The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is an excellent choice if you’re planning a meeting or group event. The hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Our on-site restaurant and lounge, 17 Light is open for lunch, dinner and room service, and features happy hour specials Monday thru Friday. Replenish after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine and some Baltimore favorites like our jumbo lump crab cakes. Kick back, relax and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail in before taking the elevator home. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge!We are easy access the Baltimore’s top medical facilities. Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also very convenient to our hotel Our hotel offers large suites, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, evening social events Tuesday through Thursday, complimentary high speed internet, on site business center, and guest laundry facilities. Offer discounted room rates for guests staying five nights or more while earning Marriott Rewards points make us the best value in Baltimore.Our staff specializes in creating a comfortable home like atmosphere with all the conveniences of a hotel. We want to help make your next trip to Baltimore a particularly memorable one. The Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown makes it easy to enjoy all the things “Charm City” has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.