We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Staff was friendly, the valets were nice. Breakfast was just ok. But all in all nice place. My only quam was everytime the maid cleaned our room she sprayed some type of air freshner that was waaaaaaaay too strong

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    165
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
168
75
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
easthampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for 4 nights in mid June. Our suite was very small, especially one of the bedrooms. The hallways appeared not be vacuumed in the 4 days we were there. The one saving grace of this hotel was the staff. The front desk employees were OK, but didn't seem the be able to answer a lot of questions. The door people were great. A good source of information and always really nice. The best were the individuals who served and maintained the breakfast buffet. I have found that many people are just pigs and leave such a mess. These ladies and men were great. The area was always clean and food dished were always filled.

By far, they were a wonderful for directions and opinions for things to do. They were friendly and just so pleasant. Hotel management--give them a raise!! All other guests--make sure you tip them well. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs FL USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our room on the 10th floor was more than adequate for the needs of 2 seniors. The walk to the National Aquarium and the Harborfront area was a.short 10 min as well as the many restaurants in the area. The room itself was a king room with a small kitchen attached. The decor was a muted brown color and had an approx 40" flat screen tv with a good variety of channels. The free breakfast was certainly enough food and pretty good quality. There appeared to be a problem keeping the food area stocked with the breakfast entries. Short staffed?? The staff seemed to be genuinely helpful and friendly At $159 plus tax, we got what we paid for

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

General: Stayed for 2 nights on a recent weekend trip to Baltimore. When I booked, the price was a little bit higher than I would have liked, but it was completely worth it.

No comments on: parking (came down from NY by train), fitness center (did not use).

Room: I had a "studio" room, with king bed and sofa (pretty sure it was a pullout but I didn't actually attempt it). I was by myself, but the room could easily fit 2-3 people without being remotely cramped. TV was on a swivel stand so you could watch easily from the bed or couch (small detail, but appreciated).

Didn't hear a lot of noise, but I was up on the 15th floor (the top, I believe). One oddity: each time the A/C would turn off, there was a whirring noise that sounded like a drill coming from behind the wall near the bed. Not loud enough to wake me up during the night, but strange. Thermostat is adjustable and worked fine.

Kitchen is really great. Full-size fridge and freezer (with ice maker! It's the little things), stove, microwave, sink with garbage disposal, dishwasher, plates/glasses/silverware. They will even stock the fridge with groceries if you provide a shopping list. For a weekend stay, I didn't take much advantage of the kitchen, but for anything more extended (or if you're with a family), it'd be a huge perk.

Amenities: Breakfast is free, standard hotel fare. Hot food as well as bagels/pastries/cereal. There appeared to be coffee in the lobby all day, but I did not have any. There is a "market" in the lobby that is open 24 hours. Has basic drinks/snacks, but also things like ice cream, microwave dinners and alcohol. Very helpful for an 11:30pm chocolate craving. (As is to be expected, prices are pretty marked up. Go to the 7-11 across the street instead).

I ate dinner in the restaurant (17 Light) one night. Sat at the bar so can't comment on table service. Food was decent and reasonably priced, bartender was friendly and attentive. He indicated it can get pretty crowded after Orioles games (one was ending as I was finishing up), so keep that in mind.

Location: Very quick cab ride from Baltimore Penn Station. Short walk to the Inner Harbor, longer walk to Camden Yards but still reasonable. Though if you're going to multiple games and lazy about walking like I am, I'd probably stay at one of the hotels closer to the stadium. The area is okay safety-wise, but as a young female traveling alone, I pretty much stayed in at night (and took a cab back from OPACY instead of walking). There is a Dunkin Donuts next door, a 7-11 across the street, and a CVS about a block away. There are also some pub-type restaurants on Water St. around the corner. Looked interesting, but didn't make it in.

Staff: Valets brought my bag in for me when I arrived and hailed a cab for me when I left at the end of my stay. Front desk staff was also very helpful and friendly.

Overall: Great, great hotel. Would definitely recommend for longer stays. For shorter trips, still nice, but might not be worth the price for some. I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel location is top notch from inner harbor. We could see mast of USS Constellation from our 15th floor window. Large room with nice kitchenette. Loved our stay until we went to get our car from valet parking.
Our rear car window was smashed open and items were stolen from our car while in "secure" lot. We discovered the lot is an open lot is next to the hotel and not a garage. It has a 4ft. decorative fence not a secure fence. Our car was backed into far corner spot, a perfect spot for theft.
The valet helped us unload car to hotel cart when we arrived and saw that we were leaving behind camp chairs, beach towels and our son's lacrosse bag. No one warned us to take all belongings inside. Our car is a Traverse with a large darkly tinted trunk area and we thought secure meant secure.
The valet and hotel manager informed of us our smashed window as we waited to load our belongings and head on to our next destination. The manager was very helpful. He assisted us with contacting police and allowed us back into our room until window could be fixed. He also said the hotel would pay for replacement of window but not for the stole items since the valet slip says NOT to leave personal belongings in cars. We did not see that and were not told that in the haste of getting our stuff unloaded in the very minimal front drop off area. We were rushed since other cars were waiting and block street traffic.
It began to feel like an inside job by the valet or a tip off from the hotel valet due to the location of our car in the lot and the fact that no other car was broken into even though I saw personal items in their cars too. Our son's sports equipment was worth at least $800. We learned our lesson the hard way.
We recently received an email from hotel corporation saying that they would not be paying for our window since we assumed all risk while having our car parked in their lot. Like we had any other choice???
The hotel could of at least comped us our two night stay at the least. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised by this place. It is one of my favorites. I would come back again. The place is really clean. I believe the place was built in 2006 and was renovated in 2009. We stayed in a suite with a small kitchen. It was convenient for us to cook and store food in the big refrigerator. There is five of us but didn't feel crowded even though it wasn't a big room. The room had a lot of windows and really clean carpets. Those are good thing. We had free breakfast, which is a plus in my book. The food was decent. The only think that they didn't have is a pool. But we were able to use Hampton Inn's pool which was only half block away. We enjoy the pool. The location was perfect. We walked to the inner harbor for dinner. There is not many negatives. I wish the bathroom was a little bigger and a large ice maker on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a work meeting and it was very nice. The rooms were spacious with little kitchenettes and a sitting area. The rooms were also very clean. Food for breakfast was okay, but included. A nice little bar in the lobby and a couple of little taverns nearby. Definitely have to valet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. I hope you were able to stay productive while working in Baltimore. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#19 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is the city’s premier, downtown all suite hotel. Offering 188 studio, one and two bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas the Residence Inn Baltimore is the perfect hotel choice for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center or the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure travelers can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the Baltimore Aquarium, US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront and experience the best Baltimore has to offer. Our sports enthusiasts can pre-game at 17 Light, our on-site restaurant & lounge. Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are also with in walking distance of the hotel.The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is an excellent choice if you’re planning a meeting or group event. The hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Our on-site restaurant and lounge, 17 Light is open for lunch, dinner and room service, and features happy hour specials Monday thru Friday. Replenish after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine and some Baltimore favorites like our jumbo lump crab cakes. Kick back, relax and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail in before taking the elevator home. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge!We are easy access the Baltimore’s top medical facilities. Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also very convenient to our hotel Our hotel offers large suites, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, evening social events Tuesday through Thursday, complimentary high speed internet, on site business center, and guest laundry facilities. Offer discounted room rates for guests staying five nights or more while earning Marriott Rewards points make us the best value in Baltimore.Our staff specializes in creating a comfortable home like atmosphere with all the conveniences of a hotel. We want to help make your next trip to Baltimore a particularly memorable one. The Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown makes it easy to enjoy all the things “Charm City” has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.