We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suites and complimentary breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Brick NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spacious suites and complimentary breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Baltimore overnight to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We wanted to be within walking distance of the inner harbor. The residence inn was a perfect choice. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to the harbor. It is clean and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are suites with full kitchens and very comfortable beds. The only downside was that there was no parking and we chose to valet out car which cost $32.00 for the night. I have stayed in hotels in cities that have free off site parking and this was not an option for this hotel. If we were staying more than one night, we would have had to find a hotel that had parking included. The free breakfast was very good and had a lot of hot and cold choices.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Parking can be costly in major Cities. Please keep in mind 3 recommendations:

1. Don't drive unless you have to. Baltimore has good public transportation. Your car ends up sitting in a garage unused and is costing you ($32/day).

2. There are Residence Inn by Marriott's located 10-30 minutes outside the city with free parking (BWI, Huntvalley, Columbia, Arundel Mills, and White Marsh). If you do not need to be downtown, there are some great option in the suburbs.

3. If you are staying for an extended period of time, get a monthly pass from one of the garages across the street. The rate ranges from $180-$220/ month.

I wish I could to free parking, however, having a place to park your car in a major city is expensive.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    166
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
168
77
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

On arrival, we were given an upgrade from a studio room to a two bedroom suite. (It pays to be a Marriott GOLD member). Well equipped kitchen. Very nice breakfast included. Only two blocks from inner harbor restaurants, water taxi, USS Constellation, National Aquarium. We noted a few negatives: (1) charge for on-site parking...$32 per night and no in-out privileges. So perhaps not best choice if you are driving. (2) hotel uses satellite for TV reception, which was very spotty. (3) smallish exercise room and a $5 charge for headphones, so bring your own. (4) no pool on site, although the nearby Hampton Inn has one that can be used.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid city street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing the helpful tips for future travelers coming to the Baltimore.

You mentioned in your review that valet parking was $32 per night and no in-out privileges. I am very sorry if you were misinformed, however, we allow guests to go in and out as many times as they like with their vehicles. In addition, you can leave your car with valet until 5pm without an additional charge. This way you can enjoy the Inner Harbor all day without worrying about your car or your luggage.

The Residence Inn by Marriott-Baltimore Inner Harbor is located in the heart of the City. Like most major cities, it is very expensive to park. I like to recommend looking into traveling by train, plain, or bus because once to come to downtown...you do not need a car. There is a free bus called the Charm City Circulator that goes all over downtown including the Train Station, Federal Hill, Fells Point, Little Italy and Harbor East. Taxi's are plenty full and there is a metro (two blocks away) that takes you to Johns Hopkins Hospital.

For travelers staying for more than two weeks, there are self parking garages with rates starting at $190 per month. Please feel free to contact me for more details.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I travel for business so I've seen many hotel rooms. I did not know how to feel about my trip to Baltimore. The hotel is located downtown which is a pretty traffic busy area. The hotel itself is old and relatively small. The staff is nice and the hotel restaurant is not bad. The room was just okay. The kitchenette which included a microwave, stove top, refrigerator and dishwasher was a really nice touch. The silverware in the cabinet was dirty, which was a bit upsetting. The chair, bed and couch are very uncomfortable. The hotel needs to invest in better furniture. This was my biggest gripe with the hotel. It's conveniently located across the street from a 7-11 store, next door to a dunkin donuts, so it wasn't all bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I definately will share your information with our team. Our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable "home away from home".

I am very sorry that there were items in your kitchen that were not clean. We try to call every customer back within 15 minutes of check-in to make sure they are happy with their suite. We do make mistakes and appreciate feedback so that we can correct them.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoneham, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was wonderful, pleaseant and always there to assist us if we had a question. We were there for a baseball game and it was pretty crowded but they were still happy and willing to serve the guests as they were walking in and checking in

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I hope you enjoyed watching a ball game at Camden Yards. We are proud of our Orioles 20-13 start.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Residence Inn at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore. Hotel is clean, close to everything and the staff was so helpful. Two blocks from the Inner Harbor was the selling point for us. Complimentary breakfast was impressive and a great value. My kids loved the large rooms that let them play games and hang out with their cousins with out being on top of each other. Everything you could need for a stay in close by. Dunkin' Donuts next store to hotel and Walgreens and CVS are right next door. I would stay here again with out any hesitation. There is not a pool at this hotel so that is a negative, but really the only one in my opinion

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. The next time you stay with us, please let the front desk know that your children would like to go swimming. One of our neighboring hotels allows us to send over 4 guests at a time to use their indoor pool. All you have to do is bring a towel from the Residence Inn.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here in November with a friend and my daughter. The staff was super helpful and friendly upon check in. We were given a corner room on a high floor and the views were simply stunning. The room was huge and well-equipped.

The breakfast buffet that was included in the price was more than I expected. Lots of choices, plenty of food, fresh and delicious. Once again, staff very friendly.

The location was very good. Within easy walking distance of Inner Harbor and area.

Super price.

I would stay here again and recommend it highly for a visit to Baltimore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the review. You should come back to Baltimore (it's much warmer too) because we have a lot to offer this time of year. The weather is unbelievable and the Inner Harbor is a great place to visit on a sunny day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the pre-pay rate of $189 + tax booked off the Marriott website.

It's a great location down near the inner harbor and an easy walk to everywhere. My convention was at the Hyatt a few blocks down the road. There are plenty of food and beverage outlets in the immediate vicinity.

If you are arriving by train the free Baltimore 'Charm City Circulator' Purple bus route goes from just outside the station right past the hotel and stops ~250 yds down River Street.

The hotel itself had decent rooms with a small kitchenette and fridge, etc. Free wifi worked well, if a little slow at times.

Gym was basic but adequate with two X-trainers, two joggers and a bike and some free weights.

Breakfast (free) was the standard fare but did include a hot buffet option of scrambled eggs, sausage paties and a couple of other options.

Good stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#16 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#19 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is the city’s premier, downtown all suite hotel. Offering 188 studio, one and two bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas the Residence Inn Baltimore is the perfect hotel choice for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center or the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure travelers can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the Baltimore Aquarium, US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront and experience the best Baltimore has to offer. Our sports enthusiasts can pre-game at 17 Light, our on-site restaurant & lounge. Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are also with in walking distance of the hotel.The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is an excellent choice if you’re planning a meeting or group event. The hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Our on-site restaurant and lounge, 17 Light is open for lunch, dinner and room service, and features happy hour specials Monday thru Friday. Replenish after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine and some Baltimore favorites like our jumbo lump crab cakes. Kick back, relax and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail in before taking the elevator home. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge!We are easy access the Baltimore’s top medical facilities. Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also very convenient to our hotel Our hotel offers large suites, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, evening social events Tuesday through Thursday, complimentary high speed internet, on site business center, and guest laundry facilities. Offer discounted room rates for guests staying five nights or more while earning Marriott Rewards points make us the best value in Baltimore.Our staff specializes in creating a comfortable home like atmosphere with all the conveniences of a hotel. We want to help make your next trip to Baltimore a particularly memorable one. The Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown makes it easy to enjoy all the things “Charm City” has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;