We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Baltimore
Ocean View, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom suite with kitchen and living room for one week while my husband was a patient at Johns Hopkins University Medical Center. The staff from Chastity and Jordan on the front desk to the valet guys were always very helpful, polite and courteous. Our suite was clean and stocked with all the amenities of home (ie., coffee, coffe pot, dishes, pots and pans, stove and frig.) The hotel offered a self serve breakfast buffet every morning from waffles to ceral, eggs, muffins, yogurt, etc. and coffee. They also had a gym and laundry facilities as well. I would definitely stay there again. Perfect for a family visiting the Inner Harbor which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    174
    45
    8
    2
See reviews for
170
85
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avalon, NJ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great location downtown Inner Harbor, Baltimore- Being an older but updated hotel it's your typical Marriott. Great service, nice people and did I mention the location to Downtown Inner Harbor? Only downside is lack of parking- NONE! $30/night valet if you like or park in a public lot down the street. My one buddy ( rich but cheap) cried all day about pulling 30 bucks out of his pocket! My wife and I had a great stay as we always do in the Marriott chain

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had an opportunity to stay at the Residence Inn Baltimore Inner Harbor, and it was a great hotel. From the well appointed rooms to the amazing staff, I cannot say enough wonderful things about this property. Everyone at hotel went above and beyond to meet all of my expectations and needs. Great location being its only 2 blocks from the Inner Harbor where you have The Cheesecake Factory and Baltimore Aquarium, as well as other attractions.This is also one of the few Residence Inns that has a restaurant attached to it. They have great food!

Thumbs up on this awesome property!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a large group, choose the 2 bedroom/2 bath suite. What a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This Marriott has a lot of wonderful aspects to it. First of all the cost is extremely affordable compared to some other hotels in the area, the complimentary breakfast is nothing spectacular, but has good food and has both hot and cold options for everyone- and if their free breakfast wasn't something that interests you, the in-room kitchenettes are definitely another option for making yourself a nice breakfast for less money than going out into the city to eat. That option is also available though, and Baltimore is certainly not lacking great restaurants. On our first night there we ate a delicious meal in P.F Chang's and had a great time visiting an old friend who moved to Maryland. The hotel's location is also a great bonus, as we were so close to the inner harbor and some fantastic restaurants, yet not completely surrounded by tons of city noise. It was also in a close proximity to the Peabody Institute of Music, where we were spending the two days visiting for an audition. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious, easily fitting all three of us with two queen size beds and a pullout couch, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Less than two blocks from Harbor Place, I took my daughter and her friend (both 11) to stay overnight, planning to shop, eat out and visit the aquarium. We got a king suite, perfect for the girls had their own room, and I stayed on the sofa bed in the sitting room, with my own tv (thanks goodness). My blanket, sheet and pillow were stashed in a protective bag in the closet. Nice little kitchen, lots of room, many windows -- on two sides of the building. Staff was very nice, and allowed a late checkout. Nice selection at free breakfast buffet, and nice waitering staff. All in all a nice visit, on what was a soggy and cold February weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

From Philly. Stayed here for one night while passing through from Washington. Decided to take in the Inner Harbor sites. The hotel was very clean. The room was awesome and surprisingly large. Even my boyfriend who travels a lot for business and stays in 5 star hotels on company $$ thought it was a great hotel room. Planning another trip to Inner Harbor for spring break with kids and this is definitely where we are staying. Very close to the Inner Harbor and Gallery Mall.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed one night to visit the Aquarium and Science Center. The staff was friendly and efficient, from the valet parking to checkout. We were upgraded from a Studio to a 2 room suite (a nice unexpected perk for a family of 5 - not sure if it was because we are Marriott Rewards members). It was an easy walk to the Harbor. For dinner, we opted for the restaurant attached to the hotel. Complimetary breakfast was well stocked. Would stay here again for personal or business travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#19 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is the city’s premier, downtown all suite hotel. Offering 188 studio, one and two bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas the Residence Inn Baltimore is the perfect hotel choice for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center or the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure travelers can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the Baltimore Aquarium, US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront and experience the best Baltimore has to offer. Our sports enthusiasts can pre-game at 17 Light, our on-site restaurant & lounge. Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are also with in walking distance of the hotel.The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is an excellent choice if you’re planning a meeting or group event. The hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Our on-site restaurant and lounge, 17 Light is open for lunch, dinner and room service, and features happy hour specials Monday thru Friday. Replenish after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine and some Baltimore favorites like our jumbo lump crab cakes. Kick back, relax and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail in before taking the elevator home. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge!We are easy access the Baltimore’s top medical facilities. Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also very convenient to our hotel Our hotel offers large suites, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, evening social events Tuesday through Thursday, complimentary high speed internet, on site business center, and guest laundry facilities. Offer discounted room rates for guests staying five nights or more while earning Marriott Rewards points make us the best value in Baltimore.Our staff specializes in creating a comfortable home like atmosphere with all the conveniences of a hotel. We want to help make your next trip to Baltimore a particularly memorable one. The Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown makes it easy to enjoy all the things “Charm City” has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.