We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Everything went fairly smoothly, from booking the stay to leaving the hotel at the end of our stay. The valet parkers, bell staff, desk staff, restaurant staff all were friendly and fairly helpful. Our room was great. We had some issues with one of the hotel computers and the front desk person sort of shrugged and said she had no idea how they work or what to tell us...which was an unexpected response. Breakfast was fine, but we were disappointed that the only potato choice was mixed in with sausage. It would have been nice to have had the option to have hash browns or the like without any meat. (The hot foods were waffles, eggs, some sort of sausage by itself, and sausage mixed in with potatoes and vegetables.) We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not have much of a view--we were just a few floors up. We also heard the street noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    167
    44
    8
    2
See reviews for
168
80
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Large one bedroom suite with nice furniture. Large and comfortable bed. Great location 3 min walking distance from hotel ti Inner Harbor. Breakfast was not cheap. They also have military discount. Recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Large one bedroom suite with very nice furnishings including full size refrigerator. Two different views of Baltimore from the room. Easy walking distance to the harbor and several restaurants right outside the door. Found a Harris Tetter about three miles away to stop up on snacks and was set for the week. Great breakfast each morning with variety and decent food two evenings that week. Enough to avoid going out to eat. Room service available from several nearby restaurants. Valet parking efficient and courteous. Great friendly staff and helpful at front desk and serving area. Wonderful stay and will stay here if in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

For business I recently stayed for two weeks at the Marriott Residence Inn. I was surprised how much this hotel exceeded the Marriott standards! The Assistant Manager, Bill Green, was helpful, and permitted late checkout with no problem. The desk staff and porters were all friendly, knowlegable of local attractions and restaurants. Housekeeping was prompt and thorough each day. Staff was outstanding all the way around.

Room was large with adequate storage and plenty of hangers in the closet. There is everything in the kitchen area to prepare a meal (using microwave) if you wish.

The location is better than you expect. A few blocks down to the waterfront, and the National Aquarium. Located a few blocks from major hospitals [be aware of frequent ambulance sirens in the area as a result]

The real gem is the restaurant! The food and sevice far exceed Marriott standards. The diversity and style of items is exceptional! Prices are most reasonable. Service is helpful, quick, and attentive! Make sure you visit at least once even though you'll be enjoying a great breakfast each morning there too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute due to finding out the Tremont was undergoing extensive renovations and we were so glad! Everyone there was incredibly nice and helpful. The valet parking is fantastic and worth the extra charge. Our 2 bedroom suite was huge, I think I read somewhere it was over 900 sq. ft. While we only stayed for a few nights, I can see it being a very comfortable place for an extended stay. There was a full kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, silverware, dishwashing detergent, everything! The continental breakfast was completely unexpected...we thought we'd be getting bagels and fruit but in addition to that there was a different selection of hot foods every day from eggs florentine to french toast to sausage scramble, it was so good!. The location was great, just a short walk to the inner harbor and next door to a CVS. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, but I find it difficult to sleep away from my own bed. The essentials for purchase in the small shop in the lobby are ridiculously over-priced($14 for a 6 pack of water), but being next door to a CVS is great, just get your things there. After having a terrific stay at the Residence Inn in both Baltimore and Chicago, we will be making this our hotel of choice. For a family of 6 you cannot beat the size of the rooms, the amenities and the price.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and had no problems, heard nothing outside of our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Difficult to find fault in what is meant to be more at the budget end of Marriott chain. Location and staff were great, breakfast more than adequate and room was large with great kitchenette. Highly recommended for any type of traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My sister and I recently traveled to Baltimore with my two young children (3 years old, and 2 months old) because my husband is being treated at Johns Hopkins. We chose this hotel because of the location (we knew inner harbor area was safe, and lots of stores/restaurants within walking distance) and because of the full kitchen that was offered, but we had no idea how wonderful the hotel would actually be!
First of all, the staff is fantastic. They were very willing to help and were extremely courteous. After finding out why we were traveling, they upgraded us to a larger room. I couldn't be more grateful, because the extra space made for a much easier trip. Late one night, my daughter had a very messy "accident" (she is 3, use your imaginations!) and the staff was up in a matter of minutes to help us clean up.
Secondly, the rooms themselves are extremely clean and well kept. Beds were very comfortable.
Finally, the hotel breakfast was very, very nice. I've stayed at quite a few places that offered free breakfast, but this was by far the best that I have experienced. This is much more than your typical continental breakfast.
For those visiting family members at Johns Hopkins, there is a free shuttle service that will bring you there and back for free. Ask the front desk for the phone number. It is very convenient.
Overall, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Baltimore with or without children.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is the city’s premier, downtown all suite hotel. Offering 188 studio, one and two bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas the Residence Inn Baltimore is the perfect hotel choice for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center or the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure travelers can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the Baltimore Aquarium, US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront and experience the best Baltimore has to offer. Our sports enthusiasts can pre-game at 17 Light, our on-site restaurant & lounge. Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are also with in walking distance of the hotel.The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is an excellent choice if you’re planning a meeting or group event. The hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Our on-site restaurant and lounge, 17 Light is open for lunch, dinner and room service, and features happy hour specials Monday thru Friday. Replenish after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine and some Baltimore favorites like our jumbo lump crab cakes. Kick back, relax and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail in before taking the elevator home. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge!We are easy access the Baltimore’s top medical facilities. Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also very convenient to our hotel Our hotel offers large suites, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, evening social events Tuesday through Thursday, complimentary high speed internet, on site business center, and guest laundry facilities. Offer discounted room rates for guests staying five nights or more while earning Marriott Rewards points make us the best value in Baltimore.Our staff specializes in creating a comfortable home like atmosphere with all the conveniences of a hotel. We want to help make your next trip to Baltimore a particularly memorable one. The Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown makes it easy to enjoy all the things “Charm City” has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.