We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute due to finding out the Tremont was undergoing extensive renovations and we were so glad! Everyone there was incredibly nice and helpful. The valet parking is fantastic and worth the extra charge. Our 2 bedroom suite was huge, I think I read somewhere it was over 900 sq. ft. While we only stayed for a few nights, I can see it being a very comfortable place for an extended stay. There was a full kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, silverware, dishwashing detergent, everything! The continental breakfast was completely unexpected...we thought we'd be getting bagels and fruit but in addition to that there was a different selection of hot foods every day from eggs florentine to french toast to sausage scramble, it was so good!. The location was great, just a short walk to the inner harbor and next door to a CVS. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, but I find it difficult to sleep away from my own bed. The essentials for purchase in the small shop in the lobby are ridiculously over-priced($14 for a 6 pack of water), but being next door to a CVS is great, just get your things there. After having a terrific stay at the Residence Inn in both Baltimore and Chicago, we will be making this our hotel of choice. For a family of 6 you cannot beat the size of the rooms, the amenities and the price.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and had no problems, heard nothing outside of our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    168
    44
    8
    2
See reviews for
168
82
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Difficult to find fault in what is meant to be more at the budget end of Marriott chain. Location and staff were great, breakfast more than adequate and room was large with great kitchenette. Highly recommended for any type of traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My sister and I recently traveled to Baltimore with my two young children (3 years old, and 2 months old) because my husband is being treated at Johns Hopkins. We chose this hotel because of the location (we knew inner harbor area was safe, and lots of stores/restaurants within walking distance) and because of the full kitchen that was offered, but we had no idea how wonderful the hotel would actually be!
First of all, the staff is fantastic. They were very willing to help and were extremely courteous. After finding out why we were traveling, they upgraded us to a larger room. I couldn't be more grateful, because the extra space made for a much easier trip. Late one night, my daughter had a very messy "accident" (she is 3, use your imaginations!) and the staff was up in a matter of minutes to help us clean up.
Secondly, the rooms themselves are extremely clean and well kept. Beds were very comfortable.
Finally, the hotel breakfast was very, very nice. I've stayed at quite a few places that offered free breakfast, but this was by far the best that I have experienced. This is much more than your typical continental breakfast.
For those visiting family members at Johns Hopkins, there is a free shuttle service that will bring you there and back for free. Ask the front desk for the phone number. It is very convenient.
Overall, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Baltimore with or without children.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel. The studio room we stayed in was immaculately clean and everything in it was as though it was brand new. The high-speed internet is really high-speed. Every employee that we encountered, no matter what part of the hotel we were in, were fantastic. They couldn't do enough for us. It really seems like a family-oriented hotel. We have two children and they love the hotel. Also, the breakfast (included) was great. They had a buffet style setup with eggs, hash browns, sausage, pancakes, oatmeal, cereals, bagels, breads, muffins, fresh fruit (actually fresh) and even make-your-own Belgian waffles and that is not an all-inclusive list. The hotel is just a two block walk to the harbor. I could go on and on, but I think you get the idea. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Studio rooms have a full kitchen, dinette table, two queen beds and a sofa. They are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I recently stayed one night at the Residence Inn when I had a meeting to attend at another nearby hotel. The Residence Inn was half the cost of the other chain and every bit as nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were helpful even after I had checked out and allowed me to use the computers to check on getting an earlier flight home.

The room was gigantic. I stayed in a one-bedroom suite that was about the size of my first apartment. The kitchenette had 2 electric burners, a large refrigerator, a full sized microwave and even a dishwasher. Everything was immaculate and the bed was nice, just the right firmness for me. Both the sitting area and bedroom had a large flat screen TV.

The breakfast buffet looked amazing. While I stuck with the freshly made oatmeal (which was great) they offered about everything you might want, including grits pancakes, sausage, potatoes and cereals. They even had a make your own waffle station. The only thing missing was the man in the chef hat making omelets to order (they may actually offer this, I didn't ask).

The bar/restaurant was also great. When I couldn't find anything I really wanted on the menu for a snack, the waitress offered to make me a bowl of chips and salsa. The chips were great and the salsa was clearly freshly made in their kitchen, not from a jar.

As this was a 24 hour in-meet-and-out trip, I didn't explore much, but the Inner Harbor, Camden Yards and the convention center were all within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again if I was coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel offers affordable and convenient valet parking when you pull into the inviting hotel entrance on Light Street. The valet parking offers fast in and out parking throughout the day and night, which works out cheaper and safer than using one of the nearby parking garages. Location is great -- just a short 2 block walk to all the Inner Harbor attractions. Staff was friendly and accommodating. My King Suite was super spacious, organized and clean, plus a full kitchen. Free breakfast had just about anything you could desire and it was kept fresh by pleasant staff that called you "Hon".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

When traveling, if we don't stay at an inn or B&B, we prefer Marriott hotels. We have never been disappointed with any of their hotels, but we both have to admit that this was one of THE best Marriott hotels we have visited.

What immediately grabbed our attention was the wonderful friendliness/efficiency of all the staff members that we encountered there..........from the valet staff to the front desk people to the VERY helpful breakfast staff. They couldn't do enough for us to ensure our satisfaction with our stay there.

First of all, the location of this hotel is ideal.............just a short walk to anywhere in the Inner Harbor area, but just far enough removed to leave the craziness of the area behind when entering the front doors of the Residence Inn.

Our room was spacious and had a great view. Too many rooms that we have visited in the past needed to have a re-do of both furniture and accommodations, but we were very happy with this one. Very clean, contemporary in styling, and complete with all the Residence Inn's extra ammenities.

Valet parking was $32/day..............it may sound pricey, but it was very convenient to have them park our car, rather than us having to look for available parking at local lots. When we needed to have our car, we had it within 5-10 minutes. When we wanted a cab, it was there in less than 5 minutes. Our $32/day was definitely worth it!

To be honest, we were planning to leave the hotel to search out breakfast places, but after hearing the description of the breakfast, we decided to give it a try...........SO glad that we did! A full assortment of both hot and cold entrees....including a "make your own" Belgian Waffle station. The breakfast staff was constantly on the go....... cleaning tables, replenishing foods, etc. They were terrific!

Trust me, whenever we return to the Inner Harbor area, there is NO other place in which we will stay...........that is how great our experience was there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is the city’s premier, downtown all suite hotel. Offering 188 studio, one and two bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas the Residence Inn Baltimore is the perfect hotel choice for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center or the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure travelers can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the Baltimore Aquarium, US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront and experience the best Baltimore has to offer. Our sports enthusiasts can pre-game at 17 Light, our on-site restaurant & lounge. Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are also with in walking distance of the hotel.The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is an excellent choice if you’re planning a meeting or group event. The hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Our on-site restaurant and lounge, 17 Light is open for lunch, dinner and room service, and features happy hour specials Monday thru Friday. Replenish after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine and some Baltimore favorites like our jumbo lump crab cakes. Kick back, relax and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail in before taking the elevator home. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge!We are easy access the Baltimore’s top medical facilities. Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also very convenient to our hotel Our hotel offers large suites, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, evening social events Tuesday through Thursday, complimentary high speed internet, on site business center, and guest laundry facilities. Offer discounted room rates for guests staying five nights or more while earning Marriott Rewards points make us the best value in Baltimore.Our staff specializes in creating a comfortable home like atmosphere with all the conveniences of a hotel. We want to help make your next trip to Baltimore a particularly memorable one. The Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown makes it easy to enjoy all the things “Charm City” has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.