We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, friendly staff, Very Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
harris52307
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, friendly staff, Very Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Felt like home, our insurence company placed us here due to some house problems. Located less then a block to harbor. The staff was very nice. And the bar downstairs is great, and great food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    183
    46
    8
    2
See reviews for
179
88
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Central location to where we needed to be, very walkable to Inner Harbor. Very friendly front desk staff, allowed me to check in a couple of hours early due to travel changes. Workout space was modern and well apppointed, a tad on the cozy side, but that is overshadowed by the fact there is a tv remote on each piece of equipment, nice touch. Room was clean and comortable, if you are a light sleeper, you may want to ask about a high number floor as there is a good amount of city noise, but it was a Saturday night. Breakfast with the room, I did not try it but it was stocked well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We are just finishing our stay at this hotel and have really enjoyed our 4 day trip to Baltimore. The hotel is what's best about the Residence Inn chain from Marriott: well designed hotels, competent and helpful staff, in great locations for travelers. This hotel is in the Inner Harbor district of Baltimore with an easy 3 block walk to the Inner Harbor and its many attractions. It is also right on/near two routes of the Charm City Circulator, the free bus service that is a real gift for tourists.

Across the street from the hotel is a 7-Eleven, a block away is a CVS with a good selection of food and drinks, and there are several restaurants in the area including on at the hotel. The hotel is a high rise with15 floors with an exercise room and guest laundry on the 2nd floor and a business center on the 1st floor. Although the hotel serves the usual buffet breakfast in the 1st floor Hearth Room, we tend to be cereal eaters so our trips usually include a trip to the local convenience store for cereal, milk, bottled water, and other stuff. With the convenient stores in the area that was a breeze. The first floor also featured an Express Market which sold snacks and drinks.

The rooms were compactly designed as is often the case in an urban hotel. Our 1 bedroom suite included a bedroom with an in suite bathroom and sliding door closet with ample hangers, an iron and ironing board, a queen size bed, 2 nightstands, a dresser holding a 37" LCD LG TV, and a clock radio. The room was snug, but comfortable, with plenty of pillows and an extra blanket if needed. The bed was comfortable and the pillows actually had some fluff in them. If we had one minor complaint it would be that the lighting in the bathroom where the toilet and shower were was minimal, but that is a complaint we have had in many hotels so we've gotten used to it. The shower itself featured a very nice adjustable showerhead with plenty of water pressure. Again everything was clean and in good condition.

The main room consisted of a living room and kitchenette. The room's kitchenette featuring a full size rerigerator, microwave, two burner stove, sink and dishwasher plus a decent selection of plates, glasses, silverware, pans, etc practically begged to be used. Everything was in great condition and the helpful cleaning staff nicely loaded our used dishes and ran the diswasher each day.

The living room included a full size couch and arm chair for comfortable lounging in front of another 37" LG LCT TV, coffee table/ottomans, an end table, a computer disk, and tucked into the corner a table with 2 chairs for eating or reading. It was a very functional layout with plenty of room for two people to spread their stuff around and it was all done very stylishly.

There was some street noise as is to be expected in an urban hotel, but less than I've experience in many places. There was no noise from other rooms or the elevator which was 10 feet from the door to our suite. Transportation in the area was a breeze with the two Charm City Circulator routes plus local bus service and the light rail station just a few blocks a way. We took the light rail from BWI to the area of the hotel and then it was a few blocks walk to the hotel itself. Going back to BWI we opted to use SuperShuttle for convenience. It was a mere $13 fare to BWI from the hotel plus tip.and fuel surcharge.

Room Tip: Booking directly on the Marriott.com site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I did not want to leave the residence inn. My family and I went to Baltimore to catch a game and I did a lot of research and decided on Residence Inn after checking out TripAdvisor. From the moment we checked in we were impressed. The valet was pleasant and remembered our family name every time we took the car out. The room was huge with a kitchen, flat screen and separate living area. The front desk called after we checked in to make sure everything was ok. the continental breakfast was delicious-hot and cold items that were restocked. The hotel itself is in a great location-close to lots of great restaurants and Camden Yards. Overall a fantastic stay with great staff and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

So...I am about to go to law school and am deciding between South Carolina and U of Maryland in downtown Baltimore. We are from South Carolina so my fiancé and I are used to hearing the horror stories of crime in Baltimore. So we figured there's no way we can move there without at least staying a weekend and checking things out. We picked this hotel because it is close to the harbor and hoped that would be safe for walking around. I originally wanted to rent a car to get around but was worried it would be a waste of money if we didn't use it. I called the hotel and they were insistent that I would not need a car to get around, that the area was perfectly safe to walk. Just let me say I am so glad that I listened to them! We were out and about from early in the morning on a Saturday until late afternoon on Monday and had an amazing time. The hotel was great. The room was set up the way a small apartment would be set up, so it felt a little more home-like than a standard hotel room. The hotel was extremely clean and the front desk was one of the more helpful I have encountered. By comparison when I stay in New Orleans I can barely get the front desks to get new towels, here the front desk was helpful with all my questions about the area, calling a cab to get back to the airport, etc etc. At night I woke up a few times because of street noise but I completely expected that to be the case in the city so it was no big deal. Also, the breakfast was great with eggs, biscuits, bagels, etc. The best part for the hotel was that I went to an Orioles game and bought a t-shirt and when I left in the cab I forgot my shirt in the lobby area. When I got to the airport I called and asked if they would hold it until I sent them a labeled box to send it back to me. I half expected it to get lost or the person who received the box to not know what it was for or something like that. But sure enough about a week or so after I mailed the box the shirt came back to me in the mail. I was very impressed that they bothered to take the time to do something like that! This location was perfect to walk around the harbor, to Federal Hill, and U of Maryland-Baltimore/ Camden Yards. We even walked to Mt Vernon and Fells Point, which we thought would be a little sketchy in between the hotel and those areas but it wasn't bad like we thought. The worst I could say was that there were a few panhandlers around the hotel but they weren't especially aggressive or anything to worry about.
I would definitely recommend this hotel with its great staff and great location!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I did a lot of comparison shopping before finally settling on this hotel for a mid-week stay with the wife and daughter. We booked a king suite that had a separate bedroom and living room with a sofabed. All in all, the price was very good for the location, and the room had quite a bit of space.

As with most hotels with free breakfasts, the key is going at the right time. One morning, we went during the last hour, and it was a mob! No tables, long lines, etc. Go a bit earlier, as we did the next morning, and it was quite good.

Location - the hotel was in walking distance to everything we wanted to see, from the Babe Ruth birthplace to the President's Street Train Station, which is now a civil war museum. We could also easily walk to Federal Hill and the Visionary Art Museum. My biggest concern was walking back from Camden Yards at night after the game. However, there was a lot of ballpark foot traffic, and a lot of cars on the street, so I felt safe (despite almost getting run over twice crossing Light and Lombard...).

The staff was very friendly, and promptly brought us more towels upon request.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while I was at a conference at a nearby hotel. Breakfast is included and we had a great experience. The staff is very service oriented. There seem to be a number of roomy one-bedroom suites in this Res Inn. I highly recommend this well located hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if a 1 BR suite is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#19 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is the city’s premier, downtown all suite hotel. Offering 188 studio, one and two bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas the Residence Inn Baltimore is the perfect hotel choice for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center or the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure travelers can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the Baltimore Aquarium, US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront and experience the best Baltimore has to offer. Our sports enthusiasts can pre-game at 17 Light, our on-site restaurant & lounge. Oriole Park at Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are also with in walking distance of the hotel.The Residence Inn Baltimore/Downtown is an excellent choice if you’re planning a meeting or group event. The hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Our on-site restaurant and lounge, 17 Light is open for lunch, dinner and room service, and features happy hour specials Monday thru Friday. Replenish after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine and some Baltimore favorites like our jumbo lump crab cakes. Kick back, relax and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail in before taking the elevator home. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge!We are easy access the Baltimore’s top medical facilities. Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers offer our guests complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also very convenient to our hotel Our hotel offers large suites, complimentary hot buffet breakfast, evening social events Tuesday through Thursday, complimentary high speed internet, on site business center, and guest laundry facilities. Offer discounted room rates for guests staying five nights or more while earning Marriott Rewards points make us the best value in Baltimore.Our staff specializes in creating a comfortable home like atmosphere with all the conveniences of a hotel. We want to help make your next trip to Baltimore a particularly memorable one. The Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown makes it easy to enjoy all the things “Charm City” has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.