We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old restored theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hippodrome Theatre

Hippodrome Theatre
12 North Eutaw Street, University of Maryland Baltimore campus, Baltimore, MD (Downtown)
410-837-7400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 316 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
baltimore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great old restored theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a Baltimore classic. The theatre has been restored wonderfully. you feel like you have stepped back in time when you enter -but in a good way-

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    8
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Always excellent shows, beautiful renovation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The concerts and productions are always first rate. The building has been renovated beautifully, so it a joy to be there. The lobby has photos of the old Baltimore. I remember going there as a child to see the movie "The Sound of Music" so I have many memories there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We love this theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have gone here numerous times to see shows. It is a beautifully restored art deco theater and we always enjoy the shows we see there

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No bad seats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've seen a few plays there. I've always enjoyed myself and think you get a good deal for your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Baltimore Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Despite its ability to draw great crowds to Baltimore, it's a tough seat. Very small and I;m not particularly large. However, new shows are coming. I would rate it better if I found more shows I MUST see. It has been a great plus for Baltimore

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippodrome Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Hippodrome Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippodrome Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.