We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still going strong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyric Opera House

Lyric Opera House
140 West Mount Royal Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Mount Vernon)
410 727 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 157 attractions in Baltimore
Type: Operas
Attraction Details
Baltimore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Lyric sits in the middle of a cultural hub.Located near the Meyerhoff Symphony Hall and the Maryland Institute of Art.The opera house was opened in 1894.On the walls of the atrium you can find ephemera of Baltimore history.It is airy and welcoming.The seats were made for an earlier day and so people of ample girth will find them tight.Parking for events is located right across the street.All in all it is a pleasant place with an air of class that enhances any performance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Couple of Seating Issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the worst experience I have had goign to a play. The play was ok, the people were a hotttt mess and kept talking, would not stay in theirs seats. Bottom line I left in the middle of the play.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lord of the Dance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A friend and I took her Mom to the Lyric to see Lord of the Dance for her 87th birthday. The show was fantastic and our seats were great. I had called to ask for special seating as the Birthday girl uses a walker and they did not disappoint. We had great unobstructed seats that were easy to get to.

The only thing I would mention as a negative are the manners and personalities of the ushers. They could use a lesson in dealing with the public with courtesy and a smile.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

There are no bad seats in this place. We were there for a Christmas BSO concert and they opened up an extra section right next to the stage where we had a side view of the conductor. We had a wonderful view of the string section though. It was a long performance and we were not cramped. In some places you feel like you are in a folding chair, but not here! Almost forgot to mention the acoustics were really good. We could hear fine without being blown out of the room by the loud parts of the music.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Yo Gabba Gabba show at the Lyric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went to the Yo Gabba Gabba show with a 3 year old at the the Lyric Theater in Baltimore, MD this past weekend. There were hundreds of children ( from the very young) to the young at heart(grandparents). My 3 year old child sang, danced, shaked, wiggled and jumped so much the first half of the show that he was tired by the second half.

We were seated in the center dress circle ( which is on the second level). The seats were great cause the little children could still see the stage. The Lyric is under going renovation. There is an additional renovation charge to the ticket cost. Tickets for the show were 25.00; 35.00 and 45.00 dollars.
The show was very interactive. All the favorite characters were there, Brobee, Munro and Plex. If it comes to your area, go see the show. Well worth the cost. The big guest for all of the parents was the live appearance of Biz Markie. The parents went crazy, dancing and singing along with Biz, the Yo Gabba Gabba crew and the children. Great show.
The main problem was thecost of souvenirs. They were very expensive. The falshing light-$20.00; tee shirt for toddlers-$25.00; boom box for Yo Gabba Gabba characters-$35.00 and the poster-$5.00. If you hjave more than 1 child, bring your credit card as the cost mounts easily. Another thing was that the Lyric sold alcohol beverages. I was taken back by this occurence. Felt this event should have been non-alcoholic. A bottle of water-$3.00. No, not spring water, city water. I live around the street and don't drink the city's water.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyric Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Lyric Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyric Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lyric Opera House to your Saves list