We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar and happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bo Brooks Crab House

Bo Brooks Crab House
2701 Boston St, Baltimore, MD 21224-4729
(410) 558-0202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #274 of 1,803 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pasadena MD
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good bar and happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bo Brooks is known for their crabs which are good (most of the time) but after eating there three to four times I prefer their bar (inside or outside Tiki bar in good weather). The appetizers I have found are better than some of the entrees in being consistently good and not the hit or miss like with the dinners I have had. The bar staff is always helpful and very friendly. The one thing I did find strange is that you can order orange crushes but only the outside Tiki Bar makes them with fresh squeezed orange juice as the inside bar does not have the orange press. We have walked out to the Tiki Bar to order them and brought them back inside and when I was recently there the inside bartender was not very busy so he went outside and made them and brought them in to us. Just thought that was not a very wise set up with the "crushes" being such a popular drink at this time. However, if you are looking for a place on the water to relax with friends or a quiet drink, you can find it here -- especially during happy hour.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    32
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over an hour to straighten out the bill!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I don't even remember the food at this place, the evening was so horrendous! We came with a large party, but were seated at several tables. When we asked, ahead of time, to receive separate checks, we were told they could only take 2 different credit cards--didn't realize at the time that meant the entire party, not the table we were seated at. Although separate staff were assigned to each table, they must have put the whole order in together--it took forever to get our food (and several people never got served), and the orders were mixed up between the tables. When it came time to determine the bill, even though each table got a check, the bill was all mixed up between the tables. When we asked to speak to a manager (earlier, when the food didn't arrive), he told us "sorry", but nothing was done to speed service, and, although one person walked out, the final bill still reflected his (never served) meal. While we were trying to figure out the bill mess, another manager came over, and said we should never have dealt with the previous manager (who had been sent to us!). The experience was so bad that everyone in the party exclaimed they would never come back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“crabs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had some great crabs at Bo's - a little expensive, but worth it. The crab cakes were dry and uninspiring. The drinks were $10, which was a bit over the top. The waitress was not very nice, but got the job done. Overall, ok.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was great, parking, not so much...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We dined here with 2 other couples during a weekend stay in Baltimore. We had a great time and the food was great. The only down side is you have to pay for parking. It isn't unreasonable considering this is in the city but it would be nice if the restaurant had a separate lot for their patrons.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Crabs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great place for crabs, although they only had a medium when we were there. Call ahead and see what they got.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo Brooks Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Bo Brooks Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo Brooks Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.