We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brussels Sprouts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden West Cafe

Golden West Cafe
1105 W 36TH St, Baltimore, MD 21211-2410
(410) 889-8891
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 1,803 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Coffee Shop, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Woodbridge, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brussels Sprouts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Who would have thought that anyone would serve Brussels Sprouts worth raving about? Their burrito that is a veggie burrito is one of the most addictive foods I have eaten!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Delicious New Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I eat here a lot. More frequently then any other restaurant and I eat out a bunch.

Pros:
*Weird , homey decor
*Live music, ALL the time!
*Delicious fresh food
*Elvis Pancakes! (Pancakes with Bacon in them topped w/Peanut Butter & Syrup!)
*Brussel Sprouts
*Aztec Burrito

Cons:
*Hipster Service
*Doorman are always weird - If there is a show and you are eating beforehand, WATCH OUT. Do not step outside to smoke or you will be forced to pay a cover and the doorman will have no mercy because they are hipsters who can't understand that while you didn't pay a cover, you did just pay $50 for a meal and you should still get to watch the show.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Green chile burger rocks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went for the green chili burger and it did not disappoint. Neither did the tres leches cake. It was delicious and totally unexpected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love the Golden West.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was the first place that I went to eat in Baltimore when I was looking at colleges - definitely influenced my decision, along with a generous financial aid package.
The Golden West has great, innovative food, a wonderful atmosphere in a great neighborhood, a great bar, and awesome events and concerts on the weekend. One of my mainstays during my years in Baltimore. This is not a traditional restaurant, and more uptight types of people will not like the service.
All the food is from sustainable sources, locally grown or raised (I personally went to the farm that provides the meats).
I chose this place for my birthday (Cinco De Mayo)!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Veggie options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I LOVE THIS PLACE! I am a vegetarian and was super pleased to find they have DELICIOUS veggie options. They do not do your run-of-the-mill grilled portabello mushroom sandwich crap most restaurants do as the veggie option. They have creative, and super tasty offerings and the atmosphere is awesome as well. They have meat for meat eaters, and most importantly BREAKFAST ALL DAY LONG!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden West Cafe also viewed

 
Baltimore, MD
 

Been to Golden West Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden West Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.