We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS A TREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tio Pepe Restaurant

Tio Pepe Restaurant
10 E Franklin St, Baltimore, MD 21202-2294 (Downtown)
(410) 539-4675
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,817 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $200
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“ALWAYS A TREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Following an excellent Beethoven concert with the Baltimore Symphony we returned to one of our favorite restaurants. We ordered a half pitcher of red Sangria as our waiter brought the wonderful fresh bread, Having dined there countless times we knew of the size of the portions. So, we began by sharing a bowl of black bean soup, topped with rice and chopped onions. Then came one order of "fish in a bag" - a large filet of Chilean sea bass covered with fresh shrimp and cooked with a delicious sauce in parchment paper. When served with fresh green beans and sautéed squash and carrots there was still more than we could eat. By saving some food for take home we managed to have room for our favorite dessert - pine nut cake. Another dinner to remember.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    60
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great staff, Classy. Pretty normal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tio Pepe's features an incredibly skilled, spanish-speaking wait staff. Super expensive though, and, in the face of a 30-dollar meal (with parents after my graduation - I could never afford such things), I found my college student's mind wishing that we could have had a more exotic meal somewhere for about half the price.
I lived in Thailand for 6 months, so I find European food pretty plain, but all the same it is good and solid.
That being said, this is definitely an extremely classy place - a lot of older folks come here after the symphony or theater or what have you. I love the low-key location as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Classic, but just that, classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The dishes were all amazingly tasty but I couldn't help but notice they all had butter or cheese on them. The food was really tasty and the prices were fair for the type of fare. Portions were very large and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Just don't expect to find much on the menu that is healthy and delicious or innovative for that matter.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a good meal although a tad pricy. It's a basement place and some of the seating and the nooks and crannies are a bit odd---but I supose it makes it unique

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been going to Tio Pepe's since 1994 and have never had a bad experience. The staff is always nearby without being in the way. I love when the chef comes out of the kitchen to talk to the diners about their meals. The dinning room is a little noisy but intimate and fun. Everyone there always appears to be celebrating some sort of special event. My favorite entre is the filet with bernaise sauce and my husband likes the beef tornados. If rockfish or the suckling pig are the specials they are not to be missed. Go hungry, overorder and take lots home. The food is so good and there is so much of it you'll be cheating yourself if you skip the appetizer or desert courses or do not order a vegatable with the meal. I like the articholes, hot or cold. The bread is fabulous, you have to try it but don't fill up on it too much and save some to sop up the buttery sauce that comes with the garlic shrimp. If you plan ahead, sometimes you can order a souffle. The grand marnier and the chocolate souffle are both great. With reference to the wine, years ago our server intoruduced us to the Marqui Rescal wines. The red is especially good, and very reasonable for a quality vintage wine. There are just not enough good things I can say about this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tio Pepe Restaurant also viewed

 
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore, MD
 

Been to Tio Pepe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tio Pepe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.