We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a bad meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darbar Cuisine of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Darbar Cuisine of India
1911 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21231 (Fells Point)
(410) 563-8008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Darbar Cuisine of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #178 of 1,793 restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Cross street: Wolfe & Washington
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We adore this gem!

Papri Chaat - an appetizer you can rarely get in a restaurant, is done perfectly here! The Tikka Masala is to die for, the korma is aromatic and delish!

The owner consistently walks around to the tables to ensure the food is good. Service is kind, efficient and timely. The restaurant also has a parking lot across the street - not well advertised, but certainly a help when Aliceanna gets busy.

The waitstaff is happy to offer suggestions and tailor your meal to your tastes (spicy or not, addition/deletion of items like onions.. etc.).

We'll be back again and again!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    8
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“I expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Disappointing Indian restaurant. I was not expecting Indian food the way it is in India, but I have had much better Indian food abroad. The food is mediocre for the price, sometimes lacking in spices (strange for Indian food), but it compensates for the food with good service and a semi-romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic, candle-lit setting with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I first went to this restaurant when it just opened and introduced myself to my server. After the meal, I told him how much I enjoyed my experience and that I would be back for more. Now, whenever I go (at least 4 times since), he serves me and I get the VIP treatment!! It just goes to show that if you make an effort to make dining a pleasant experience not just for you, but for your server/waiter as well, good things will come later!

The food is delicious and the menu is extensive with a nice wine list as well. What sets it apart from other Indian restaurants is the great service (see statement above), and the atmosphere. The walls are painted in a dark blue and the lighting is dim with candles on the white linen covered tables, which really makes the restaurant feel quite upscale. The price isn't any different than other Indian restaurants, but if you want a romantic date setting with Indian food, this is the place to go!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Decent Indian Food at a Reasonable Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Darbar is fairly new to Baltimore and is a decent restuarant. They have a reasonably priced lunch buffet ($9.99 all you can eat) and the selection is ample. They had a reasonable mix of vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes. The food was tasty (not the best Indian Ive tasted but ok). Overall its an ok restuarant which wont displease.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lobster Tikka Masala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Had never heard of this place until it popped up on Groupon. Very cool that they have private parking available in the lot accross the street. Parking is a premium around these parts.

The first order of Papadum was a little stale but we ordered more and it was fine. After that the rest of the meal was amazing. Tried the Palak Tikki app and it was good. I had also never seen Lobster Tikka Masala on an indian menu before so I went for it and it was devine.

Casual atmosphere and clean place with solid indian food. Will absolutely return especially if they pop up on Groupon again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbar Cuisine of India also viewed

 

Been to Darbar Cuisine of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darbar Cuisine of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.