We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Dining Room

Ambassador Dining Room
3811 Canterbury Rd, Baltimore, MD 21218-2340
410-366-1484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 1,817 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
hydes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the best Indian food in Baltimore. My entire family loves it, including kids 8 and 10 years old. The food is great and in the nice weather you can sit out on the patio. It is also nice in the winter with the candle light and 2 fireplaces. The service is reasonable and the people are nice. This is the resturant we go to for all of our special occasions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a reservation at 9.15. Upon arriving we were informed that the kitchen closes at 9.45. The service was horrible and the hostess showed a lot of attitude. Food was not good and it's HIGHLY over-priced. I would recommend everyone to try any other restaurant rather than this one.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Indian Food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Another top five restaurant in Baltimore, the Ambassador is well worth a trek up past Johns Hopkins Univ. It's a grand building, and the restaurant is both elegant and welcoming. We've only been in the winter, but understand that it's delightful in the warmer months as well. The food is just superb, the service is fine, and the experience very rewarding.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in an unusual location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Ambassador is an Indian restaurant that I highly recommend. It's located in what (for me) is a unique location--an apartment complex. I'm not even sure there's a sign outside.

Once inside, the decor is superb--elegant, sophisticated, and peaceful.

The food is well-prepared, creative, and well-presented. Service is friendly, respectful, and competent.

The food isn't inexpensive, but it's not overpriced either.

We have eaten in Indian restaurants in many U.S. cities and many other countries.
(Not in India, however.). Ambassador would rank with the very best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with a friend who lives locally and thought this was a good place. I was quite impressed with ambience. The restaurant had character and was spacious. The service was pretty good too.

The food however was disappointing. We ordered chicken cheera and malai kofta. the chicken was a 4 out of 10 and the malai kkofta was 7 out of 10. The food was also pretty bland. the bread were kulcha and garlic nan and were almost indistinguishable. I would probably have given it 3 stars if it had been less expensive. with the mains costin $18 each I expected something better.

The heating was also turned up to the point that it was uncomfortable. I was just wearing two layers. I don't think I was overdressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambassador Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Ambassador Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.