We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CrabCakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duda's Tavern

Duda's Tavern
1600 Thames St, Baltimore, MD 21231-3429 (Fells Point)
410-276-9719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 1,672 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Williamstown, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“CrabCakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Crab Cakes were delish and prices were average, but the place was friendly the beer was cold and service was fast! Can't wait till we return...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Small, quaint, friendly, ... & the best, freshest, crabcakes I have ever had in my life.... awesome!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Crab Cake Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stopped here for lunch on a hot day. This little tavern claims to serve the best crab cakes in Baltimore, and they made good on their word. Big chunks of crab in every bite. A great server made the experience even nicer. I'd happily eat here again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We walked no more than 5 minutes and came across Duda's. We went in and had a better than we could have ever expected lunch. Great crab cakes, fish and chips, and burger. Service was great as well. The bartender was moving to serve about 10 patrons while we were there. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, disappointing crabcake and argumentative staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Came in for a beer and the atmosphere was pleasant so decided to try the crabcake which was listed to be at "Market Price". That price was $18 ($19 with tax). For that we got one crabcake, a small handful of potato chips, a plastic thimble of what seemed to be supermarket potato salad, and a couple of plastic-wrapped saltine crackers.

When I was paying for the meal, I told the staff member that it had been disappointing and that for $18 I would have expected at least some fries. Maybe a lettuce leaf and a slice of dill pickle. He immediately rounded on me, as did the waitress and the bartender, all standing closely around me loudly proclaiming that the high cost of crabmeat would not allow for French fries to be included, or anything other than a small handful of potato chips, a plastic thimble of potato salad and a couple of saltines.

As the price was listed as "Market Price" this argument made no real sense. And I've worked in hospitality and I know the margins aren't that tight, or you work around it in a way that isn't so blatantly stingy.

Incidentally the crabcake wasn't even that good. Lots of filler and too much bay seasoning. Maybe it's ok for when it's on special, but not for $18.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duda's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Duda's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duda's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.