We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Hon

Cafe Hon
1002 W 36th Street, Baltimore, MD 21211
+1 410-243-1230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #418 of 1,673 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Roland Ave
Description: Cafe Hon established in 1992 has been a Baltimore tradition for 20 years.Located in Hampden a four block main street Cafe Hon feature comfort food,homemade pie and cakes, homemade hot fudge for sundaes and a variety of burgers and seafood.
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been here several times since discovering how close the restaurant is to campus. I've tried multiple dishes and each one has been fantastic - especially the Beef Sliders. The wait staff has been friendly and quick each time. So I've definitely enjoyed the place from this standpoint.

More recently, I participated in a karaoke fundraiser here for a student group from Johns Hopkins which I'm part of. The staff working that night was amazing. Chris was exceptional behind the bar and somehow managed to keep up with nearly 30 thirsty college students flawlessly. The entire fundraiser went off without a hitch and was truly a great time. We're really looking forward to going back soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    34
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Brunch #1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I are on a quest to find a great brunch spot in the Baltimore metro area. We went on a Saturday morning and although parking was at a premium, we quickly found a spot. We got a seat in the window and was quickly served our mimosas which were great. The cafe was hopping and our server looked so very busy - but she was attentive. We got the Hon Bun to start. It was a microwaved bun and was too doughy for our liking. We both got the crab egg benedict. The hollandaise wasn't very good and the english muffin was tough and very hard to cut. The saving grace was the gingerbread pancakes which we would come back for. So great mimosas and great pancakes but the eggs benedict were not good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quirky but worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Reuben sandwich is a winner. Good drinks, friendly and quick service. Parking is terrible and the towtrucks are waiting to get you.
Sunday morning is crazy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quirky but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Cafe Hon is essentially about comfort food in a quirky neighborhood. Yes, the pink flamingo on the roof should say enough! Stay away from the 'creative' dishes and stick to the tried and true.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Food great, service very good nice varied menu the burgers were excellent, our group went from oysters to turkey, pot pie desserts to die for. The eclectic decor is like no other place, it's Hampden Hon it's an experience. To get 6 guys who love to eat agree on the experience is hard but we dd it. Go try it out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hon also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Hon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Hon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.