We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant Week value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SoBo Cafe

SoBo Cafe
6 W Cross St, Baltimore, MD 21230
410-752-1518
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
SoBo Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,803 Restaurants in Baltimore
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Contemporary comfort food. New Americana.Vegetarian FriendlyOutdoor SeatingTake-outReservations Accepted
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Week value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

$20.14 for a three course dinner was a bargain. SoBo has an excellent chef! Appetizers of mussels were plentiful and delicious. The mac and cheese was generous and scrumptious. Grape leaves had the taste of real lamb but were small and only two to a plate. Entrees: excellent salmon on white bean puree and salmon, a thick perfectly done pork chop on shaved brussels sprouts, and a huge juicy burger were all appreciated; chicken pot pie looked like the winner, however! Desserts. Four were offered and we got one of each: butterscotch pudding with delicate home made marshmallows on top was amazing comfort food, flowerless chocolate cake was rich although the pear with it was average, the cheese plate looked lovely and the parsnip cake was reportedly tasty. Service was impeccable and the decor was cheerful. We will definitely go back during Ravens' season--maybe stop for dinner there to let the traffic thin out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Excellent food, trendy vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went here for restaurant week just to check it out and we were not disappointed. The food is elegant yet simple and it tasted divine. I got the impression that the menu changes, but if you get the chance to try the stuffed grape leaves, definitely do. It was completely packed and we were lucky that we got there early because they had reservations for every table, so we managed to get a seat at the bar. It's very small and maneuvering is tight - also makes for things to get very loud when the place is full. I'd say if you're going during regular "busy" times, a reservation would be a good idea. Service was prompt and pleasant and we're very likely to return next time we're in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So fresh and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I love it here...started with the always yummy sangria. They only serve wine, beer, sangria and a few sake drinks. First we had a threesome of hummus, spicy feta and salmon which is served with veggies and the crunchiest cheesy toasts ever! For dinner I chose the pork chop with a sweet potato and veggie pancake with applesauce. Cleaned my plate! My husband had the very popular chicken pot pie and he loved it. The flaky pastry topping was obviously home made and looked great! (their hamburgers are the juiciest!). So warm and friendly here! Make reservations...not many tables and always full!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oasis in Pubfood land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staying in Federal Hill was great and very convenient but the majority of the restaurants around there serve pub food. Which is fine and I don't mind it, but after a while there are so many burgers and fries you want to eat. This place was a great find! Locally sourced food! Fresh! Vegetables! Family run! Had a roasted pepper bisque that was light but somewhat spicy and an heirloom tomato flatbread that was full of flavorful meaty tomatoes. In fact it was so good, we went back the next day for lunch. If you are looking for a little something off the beaten path that has really solid food, go here!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A cosy spot before or after an Oriole or Ravens game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Cross Street market area in South Baltimore offers many bars, restaurants, and cafes--all being a short hop to either stadium. Sobo probably seats 16-20, offers six locally brewed beers on tap, and an interesting menu of appetizers and entrees. The kitchen s skilled, and keeps up with the orders,the dishes are served by two cheerful ladies, and the sound from a flat TV over the bar is audible but not intrusive. Jim,a part owner,adds his amusing and interesting presence at dinner,and presides ably over the bar.
The presence of locals speaks well of the cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SoBo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SoBo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.