We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting for Romantic Dinner or Night Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
600 Water Street, Baltimore, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)
410.783.0033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Market St
Description: Expect nothing less than an extraordinary meal and first-class service from one of the most outstanding prime steak houses in the world: Ruth's Chris Steak House. Among the most distinctive dining destinations in the area. At Ruth's Chris Steak House your service will always be first class-attentive but never fussy.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Setting for Romantic Dinner or Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great experience as a couple at dinner. With that said, there were other groups of people who were enjoying a night out with some good food and good wine. Waiter, Ben was exceptional and very knowledgeable of the menu. They had the wine we requested and we did not have a very long wait for our food to come out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    46
    21
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Ruth's Chris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We've been to several Ruth's before, and even this location before. In general, we don't frequent very many if any "chain" cookie cutter places, but we like Ruth's. As for the quality, I find all the locations to be consistent and this one to be exceptional. As for value, I wouldn't call it inexpensive, but it's nowhere near over-priced. We've paid a lot more for less elsewhere, particularly in Baltimore.

We recently had our wedding for 100 people at Pier V hotel. We had a cocktail party upstairs and the dinner at Ruth's. The management was extremely accommodating, easy to reach, professional in every circumstance. This was very simple to plan, and they nailed every detail with perfection.
Catering menu is easy to read, and a great value. For somewhere near $100 a plate each guest has a choice of one of two apps, soup or salad, choice of 4main courses and 2 desserts.
The food was amazing, many guests loved the seafood gumbo. We were impressed how the kitchen basically put out about 75 steaks (ranging from cold red center rare to well) pretty much all at once. Every steak cooked as ordered. Again, perfect execution.

Service was professional, yet intimate, and very accommodating. Aside from a beautiful main dining room, this Ruth's also features some beautiful private dining rooms. The rooms feel private, but still cozy like a restaurant and they avoid feeling like a sterile banquet room.

Point is I highly recomend this place for dinner, or a place for an event. Everything was perfect, your guests will love it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ruth Chris is one of our favorite restaurants! Our meal was delicious but we prefer the Pier V location. The steaks are always delicious and we love the chopped salad. The cheesecake is creamy and smooth and can easily be shared by several people.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great steaks but lacking elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ruth's Chris has great steaks. I ordered a filet au poivre pittsburg rare and it was melt in your mouth good. Our server was very nice and efficient, maybe too efficient. We were not quite done the appetizers when our entree's arrived. Regarding the appetizers: my husbands seared scallops were superb, succulent, tasty and not overdone. My crab stuffed mushrooms were lacking crab. The stuffing was nearly all bread crumbs so had a mushy texture. I was very disappointed. For the price, our meal was not up to snuff.

So, I would go again for the steaks but instruct the waiter to give us some time to finish the appetizers. Nor would I ever again get the crab stuffed mushrooms.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place for an elegant meal, but always pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went to Ruth's Chris at Pier 5 tonight (not the other Ruth's Chris in Baltimore) and had a very enjoyable steak dinner. We tend to go there at least once during the holidays and a couple of times during the year when we're feeling up for a special meal.

The steaks are reliably tasty, but be advised that they're cooked in heavy amounts of butter. The steaks are served on sizzling hot plates, so they continue to cook after they've been brought to you. As a result, the medium-rare steak will probably be well done if you don't manage to eat it all in the first few minutes. The sides dishes portions are ample, meant for sharing, and the wine list, while far less extensive than at many places, offers sufficient choices to allow you to find a good wine to pair with your meal.

The wait staff are highly attentive and we like the intimate scale of the restaurant. The other Ruth's Chris in Baltimore is much larger and the seating staff there sometimes engage in a good deal of annoying "deciding" where to seat guests, presumably according to how they're dressed or appear. We don't like that kind of pretentiousness, which is why we prefer the Pier 5 location.

The meals at Ruth's Chris are always pricey. We've never managed to have a meal for two that costs less than $200. That includes drinks, wine with dinner, appetizers, entrees with a few sides, dessert and decent tip. That's about the same price you'd expect to pay at Cinghiale, Sotto Sopra, Pazo or any of the other top restaurants in Baltimore for similar type meals, so it isn't outrageous, but don't expect cheap eats.

If you're familiar with Ruth's Chris, you'll get what you're expecting. If you haven't tried Ruth';s Chris, I'd recommend trying it if you like a good, comforting steak dinner in a very pleasant environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.