We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have a new menu with yummy new dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewer's Art

Brewer's Art
1106 N Charles St, Ste 100, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Mount Vernon)
(410) 547-6925
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brewer's Art is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 1,672 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon
Cross street: Chase
Transit: Light Rail: Cultural Center, 3 blocks west of us. Amtrak/MARC train: Penn Station, 5 blocks north of us. Bus stop(#3,11,61), Chase and Charles, 1/4 block south of us . Coming in 2010: Circulator Purple Line, Charles and Biddle, 1/2 block north of us.
Timonium, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“They have a new menu with yummy new dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I’ve been to Brewer’s Art a few times over the last couple of years and it’s always been good, now it’s excellent.

It’s still a pain to find parking (don’t use the bank lot next door, you will get towed), which means we drove around the surrounding blocks looking for on street parking, but the new menu is worth the hassle.

We started with two appetizers to share; the Curried Rabbit Pâté and the Seared Scallops. The Pâté was in the country style, so not overly rich and it’s made to be eaten with a fork, not spread on toast points. It was delicious. The scallops are served over a small portion of vichyssoise soup, which was absolutely heavenly. The scallops were seared perfectly, but do make sure they give you a spoon to eat all the soup.

We also had the Proletary Braised Domestic Lamb Shoulder and Grilled All Natural Veal Flank Steak, oh my goodness they were good. I really liked the Veal, but the braised lamb was to die for… I mean I’d get it again in a New York minute. It was melt in your mouth goodness with a wonderful reduction.

We were absolutely stuffed but once I saw Bread Pudding on the menu I had to have it… We shared the Pear-Ginger Bread Pudding and it was worth the calories.

I love the new menu and need to go back to try other apps and entrees.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    95
    29
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bawlmer Knows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's been around for sometime. And the rosemary fries are always good. The beer is as good as they do it themselves too! The food seems to be on the edge od using local quality produce that is in season with a modern culinary twist at times yet sometimes you se good old classics with a twist. So the only problem is the menu changes every week so get what you like while you can! lol Always busy and popular with local college students too! Mike teh bartender downstairs always friendly

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I seldom visit Baltimore, but was extremely impressed with this place. The overall ambiance was awesome and the scene was very good. The patrons were generally young, hip, educated, and fashionable. The beer selection was terrific. The food here looked good, although I didn't get a chance to try any. I really look forward to coming back. The service was fast and quick with respectful servers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Holy S&^% this place is good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our friends suggested it to us and man - what a find. tried the beer sampler and had a hard time picking which one i wanted a pint of. starter of Duck proscuitto was complex but nothing too gourmet. the Golumpkies were outstanding for a vegetarian dish. dessert of chocolate tart was so rich i couldnt finish it (good problems). the service was great and the ambiance was delightful. Wish i could go here again soon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“they make and serve very good craft beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

i came here last weekend with a friend and thought this place was great. they make their own beer, and i tried about 4 of them, and they were all good. my favorite was the belgian style tripel - very tasty. they also have two bars on two levels. the top level is more the upscale restaurant feel, and downstairs is the dark, cool vibe with open face brick walls. i'm not sure i'd want to make an entire night of it, but this place is a must to stop by for an hour or two and try a couple of beers. it's that good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's Art also viewed

 

Been to Brewer's Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewer's Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.