We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Greek peasant food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikaros Restaurant

Ikaros Restaurant
4901 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21224-4422
410-633-3750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Greek peasant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is not a fancy place but the cooking is authentic and very tasty. The portion sizes are HUGE so sharing with 2-3 people is a recommended option. They have the best calamari in town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, basic, plentiful Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not the most gourmet place, but the food here is always very good, the portions very large, and the people very pleasant. This was my first time in the new location. They now have a very extensive Greek wine list, and they have a few new food items, along with the usuals.

I have been going to Ikaros off and on for 30 years and it is classic Baltimore.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Greek Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived around 4 PM on a Sunday afternoon. The restaurant was about 1/2 full with families and friends. The rotisserie was cooking lamb; however, the lamb was not ready until 5 PM. Of course we wanted some rotisserie lamb. So service was a little slow until we waited for the lamb to be ready.

Overall, we had a pleasant experience. By 5 PM, the restaurant was full with families and groups.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tried and true”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first meal at Ikaros at the new location. I am happy to report that the service and food are as good as in the past. I had calamari, my friend fried shrimp, both delicious. The veggies - green beans, rice, and broccoli were also good. The galaktoboureko I had for dessert was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Greek food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Delicious Greek delicacies in a setting that takes you to the old country. Try the calamari. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ikaros Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ikaros Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikaros Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.