We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than last time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sotto Sopra

Sotto Sopra
405 N Charles St, Ste 1, Baltimore, MD 21201-4414 (Downtown)
+1 410-625-0534
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sotto Sopra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,672 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Mulberry and Franklin St.
Transit: Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator
Description: Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm-to-table and incorporating regional specialties. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment. Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $18. Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch; Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian. Check out our monthly Opera Nights with live performances and multi-course dinner.
WESTMINSTER
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Much better than last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I dined at Sotto Sopra a few years ago and we were not happy. But a friend invited me to lunch there yesterday and I was both surprised and pleased! I got a great parking spot on the street right in front of the restaurant. We were there at 11:30 so we were virtually alone upon entry, but the lunch crowd soon came in to the point that the room was half full upon our departure. The waiter was attentive but invisible. That's a good thing. There were three of us and we each had an appetizer, an entrée and a dessert, of which none were alike. The waiter knew the menu well and was a great help. The key point here is that the food was delicious.......all of it. Everything was small but each item was a "tongue buster". So, I wound up with a parking spot, excellent service, a venue reminiscent of the New York Italian restaurant where Michael shot the Don in The Godfather series, and WONDERFUL food. Shall I give Sotto Sopra anything other than an Excellent rating? I think not! Note: My guess is that their resident chef did not prepare our lunch, since it was lunch. So they should be recognized for the depth of their bench.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    65
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delious tranne per il pane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The food was truly excellent. My sea bass was exquisitely prepared and perfectly accompanied with the butternut squash purée, gnocchi and veggie slaw. The prosciutto appitizer with the fried artichoke was wonderful. Festive atmosphere, nice decor and great raspberry sorbetto dessert with gingerbread fingers. Only downside, the bread competed with the food to such an extent that we placed it on the empty appitizer plate so it would be removed from the table before the entree arrived. It was not worth taking the first bite. Some nice plain crusty bread would have allowed us to completely enjoy the rich delicious meal and excellent quality olive oil provided for dipping. Bread was real disappointment but I would still highly recommend with caveat not to bother with the bread.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nicely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Incredible venue for incredible food. Love the atmosphere.....by far best Italian we had in Baltimore! Will definitely go back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“before a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a group of 3 arrive at 6 for friday dinner before a local show at 8. Our waitress was very attentive and got us through a very pleasant meal in just the right time without feeling rushed. Our appetizers arrived quickly. The prosciutto flatbread was visually overwhelmed with the prosciutto, but the flavor was complemented with warm provolone. Crispy calimari was tender on the inside, just as it should be. A special Chilean sea bass was very nicely done - crispy finish but moist inside, and on a nice bed of pureed sweet potato with tender gnocci. Some contrast with the overall sweetness would have been good, but it was a very nice dish I'd gladly have again. The seafood risotto special was bursting with good seafood, and the risotto actually seemed to get a bit lost, but it was a hearty and satisfying bowl. The pork ossobuco is justified as a favorite on the menu - the meat melted off the bone, and the mushroom risotto paired with it very nicely. Our waitress recommended good wines by the glass to complement the food. The restaurant was filling up quickly, but the noise level was not bad thanks to a high ceiling with acoustic tiles. Our only regret was not enough time for dessert! Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, especially the Pork Ossobucco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I dined here on a particularly busy Saturday evening. Rather than wait for a 9 p.m. reservation time, we opted to eat at the bar. We were glad we did! The bar staff was extremely attentive, even with it being so crowded. We were not rushed or ignored, even though we had a full course meal there. My spinach ravioli was a little oily, but very flavorful and the tomato topping was excellent. My husband really chose the winning dish--the huge "fall off the bone" pork rib was extremely moist and delicious. If you eat pork, you won't regret this meal.

The restaurant itself is small, which I assume is very intimate if it's not packed. But it WAS packed and walking through the dining area felt like swimming through a full can of sardines. So eating at the bar was actually the best experience we could have had considering the number of people who had come out that night.

There is Valet parking for a reasonable price. Just pull in front of Sotto. If you don't want it, you'll have to drive around and look for a spot of the street.

All in all, it is a great restaurant and we'll be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Sopra also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotto Sopra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.