We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sotto Sopra

Sotto Sopra
405 N Charles St, Ste 1, Baltimore, MD 21201-4414 (Downtown)
+1 410-625-0534
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sotto Sopra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,803 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Mulberry and Franklin St.
Transit: Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator
Description: Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm-to-table and incorporating regional specialties. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment. Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $18. Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch; Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian. Check out our monthly Opera Nights with live performances and multi-course dinner.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

An excellent menu with attentive service and well prepared food make for an outstanding experience. We always look forward to dining here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    60
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Unfortunately Balitmore is loaded with touristy restaurants, however, we did find the real thing in this place. The servers are incredible being both attentive, engaging and very efficient. This in itself is a rarity these days!
The food was wonderful and Martini's done exactly as we asked "well chilled" which not all bartenders have a clue what that means. We are looking to going back here again. Once a month they have an opera night and we are planning on attending that event.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
640 reviews 640 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wow... Sotto Sopra exceeded any expectations I've had for it.

I came here for restaurant week, which was an extremely good deal. But it was so good that I think I'm going to come back even when the event is over. It'll be a lot pricier, but I have a good feeling that it'll be completely worth it.

Highlight #1. Service was impeccable. Friendly and attentive. Constantly refilling drinks and asking how we're doing. Best yet, making awesome recommendations. I think that was the key to our fantastic experience at Sotto Sopra.

Appetizers: Fried polenta and scallops ceviche -- both absolutely delicious.
Entrees: Veal cutlet -- fantastic. Braised pork shank -- surprise of the menu; add $10 and it'll be yours. You'll eat it and you'll dream about it later than night.
Dessert: Tiramisu -- decent. Pot du creme -- mouth orgasm.
Drinks: There's a pretty decent list of wines and champagne.

There's $5 valet parking available, but there's street parking and the Purple Line also stops nearby. Sotto Sopra is a fancy place, so dress appropriately. The space is decently sized. And the food will blow your mind.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food is fresh and delicious, and the service is top notch. We were there on a busy night, but I didn't feel rushed or crowded. The meal from appetizer to dessert was wonderful. I am looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sota so special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the pleasure of Sota last evening celebrating Restaurant Week.
So many do not measure up to their regular menu during this special presentation.
But Sota's offering for RW was exceptional. No surprise.
The appetizers included our choice of the sautéed soft crabs. Exceptional mild and accented prepared dish.
Main courses shared of Gnocchi in marinara sauce, and Pan Seared Wild Chilean Salmon with Lobster Tangerine Essence, was superb.
The desert choice of Peach Almond Strudel, was perfect. Delicate balance of fresh peaches over delicate pound cake.
A perfect meal, service and ambience for $30.
Return as soon as we can...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Sopra also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Sopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotto Sopra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.