We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeper dish than I expected but still ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matthew's Pizzeria

Matthew's Pizzeria
3131 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21224-3904 (Canton)
(410) 276-8755
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 1,803 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Canton
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deeper dish than I expected but still ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I liked the sauce a lot. the crust was soggy in the center, not cooked long enough. The three cheese did not go well together for me. But the sausage and pepperoni meats that I added to the pizza were TOP NOTCH.
Order a cheese and add your favorite toppings for the best option. Also I saw many people ordering the meatball sub sandwich and they all loved it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First experience with Matthew's Pizza - enjoyed everything but LOVED the 3 cheese pizza. Friendly, fast service. Limited seating but we did take -out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Magnificent Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Arguably one of the best pies in town! Historic, old pizza shop feel! You gotta try it! You'll be hooked!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pizza Pizza Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Matthew's is a must if you are visiting Baltimore. Make sure you venture downstairs to the bar. Did I say bar ? You'll think you are in someone's basement. It looks and feels like home. Upstairs it's bright and yummy.
We make it a family night with all the kids. My husband and I sneak away for date night. The staff is friendly and helpful. The menu is pizza, pasta, subs and salads . Nothing fancy just tasty fresh amazing pizzas.
Drinks may be ordered at your table as well.
The only challange with Matthew's is the on street parking. You might have to walk a bit and read the street signs before leaving your car. enjoy. I know you will it's worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once you try Matthews, you will definitely eat it again. The place is small and usually jam packed so if possible, you may want to call ahead see how busy they are or be prepared to wait. That being said, the wait is worth it. We have never gotten a bad meal or left feeling the slightest bit hungry. One note, if you want pizza fries, they are a meal in themselves and are incredible, but they take a while to cook so factor in extra time for them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Matthew's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matthew's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.