We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect sound and seating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall

Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall
1212 Cathedral St, Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 783-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 65 Activities in Baltimore
Type: Symphonies, Performances
Attraction details
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect sound and seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've seen the BSO a few times here, and some other performances. I've never had a bad seat - and the acoustics are wonderful!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Venue for the Baltimore Symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A comfortable, aesthetically music venue to see and hear one of the premier symphony orchestras in the country. Good sight line, good acoustics and a good sight lines.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Late Review (June 2012) - Wonderful Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I am very late sending this review but am doing so, anyway. In June 2012, my boyfriend and I had the great fortune of snagging some extremely discounted tickets to see jazz singer/pianist Diana Krall in concert (that same month/year) at The Meyerhoff Symphony Hall in downtown Baltimore, MD. We had never been to this venue before and it was convenient/easy to get to. Our seats were only 4 rows from the stage (orchestra level-first floor)! We almost pinched ourselves because we could not believe how close we were to the stage and how cheap the tickets were we quickly snagged. The theater is really nice and the seats were comfortable. Diana Krall's piano was facing our direction, so she was seated facing us, as well and we had an excellent view of her and the band. We thoroughly enjoyed her performance along with her band. The Meyerhoff has just the right amount of seats so that it's not overwhelming crowded with people and the acoustics were really good. We both highly recommend this venue for concerts. The decor, etc. was nice and clean bathrooms available on each floor. They have a small restaurant area inside (for appetizer type food) but we opted not to eat there. We found free street parking only a block away because of the time of day of the show on a weekday. The Meyerhoff reminded us a little of The Strathmore (in Rockvillle, MD) in terms of the look of the venue, etc.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The show "All that Jazz" was fantastic. The hall is one of the best venues around. Baltimore can be proud of its symphony orchestra and Jack Everly, the conductor. Everyone enjoyed the music and songs from Kander and Ebb. If you have not been to the Meyerhoff, try it. I especially like the Pop Series of music.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Broadway night at the BSO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a lovely evening. The BSO is a class act- all the way! The music was outstanding and we had great seats. :)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall also viewed

 

Been to Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.