We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and creative drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampden Food Market

Hampden Food Market
1017 W 36th Street, Baltimore, MD 21211
410-366-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hampden Food Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,803 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: The Avenue
Description: The Food Market focuses on approachable, really good food, in a smartly designed industrial-modern space, featuring an open kitchen. Award-winning Chef Chad Gauss’ value-driven menu offers our guests a complete dining experience, by combining recognizable ingredients with unparalleled technique. The Food Market strives to provide real good service, in a comfortable environment, where our staff & diners can be themselves. We invite you to come relax, enjoy, and allow us to do what we do best, for you. Located on the Avenue in Hampden, and open every night, The Food Market serves brunch on Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 9am – 3pm. Dinner is served on Sunday – Thursday from 5pm – 11pm, and on Friday & Saturday from 5pm- 12am. Valet-Parking provided at no cost. Up to par, down to earth.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food and creative drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The menu here changes with the seasons but the food is consistently top-notch and there are a lot of creative seasonal drinks. We recently enjoyed Korean chicken-- spicy sauce and mac & cheese, and soft shelled crabs with a zucchini sauce and asparagus. One thing that makes this restaurant good for families is that there are several creative non-alcoholic drinks with fresh juice combinations. Desserts are also delicious so make sure to save room-- we enjoyed a strawberry and custard type dessert that was a great summer take on an Eton mess-type dessert. As some other reviewers have noted, the place is very busy and the industrial sort of décor and open kitchen makes it pretty noisy. Make sure to make a reservation or you will probably not be able to get in during regular hours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    52
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Super - the menu is spectacular and so is the bison burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The bison burger was outstanding. I love the choices on the menu and also the drink selection. We loved everything we had including the burgers which are not huge but which I prefer and the crunchy brie sticks were so good. We also had the maryland tomato salad which was a treat. It is an upbeat place but not pretentious. Will go back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Busy, Busy,Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food is good and well served...noise level is high...maybe a wait even with reservations...we like it and have returned several times

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Very Loud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Dinner for 6 on Saturday night. Make reservations 2 weeks in advance for prime time dining.

The service was extremely attentive and helpful. We started with salad and appetizers, Caprese Salads and Pan seared mussels. The mussels were truly the best preparation I've ever had and the Caprese used fresh Maryland like tomatoes.

Dinners were Grilled Bronzini, Super Scallops, Steak Frites (Waygu Hanger), & Blackened Tuna. Each Entree was superb!

Shared deserts, Cremesicle Creme Broulee, and Flour-less Chocolate cake with Chocolate Ice cream. The Coffees hit the spot too, a perfect decaf brew.

The surprise of the evening was the some of the cast and crew from House of Cards was dining that evening too. They are currently filming season 3 in Baltimore. It was fun to see Kevin Spacey and his "thought to be murdered" chief of staff Michael Kelley, I guess he's not really dead....

Terrific Food experience, loud and difficult to hear your friends, BUT don't miss this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A very good dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I usually wait until I have dined at a restaurant a few times before giving it a review. I really think what separates a very good restaurant from all the others is it's consistency. Let's face it, any restaurant can have a good night or a bad night. I have dined at the Food Market several times and I can tell you that it is consistently good.
The last time we all decided to go family style and share everything. The appetizers are particularly good and meant to share, the mussels and the Amish bread sticks were excellent and we tried the bronzini, scallops, sea bass and the steak frites.
Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted great.

The atmosphere is pleasant and has a high energy vibe.

A definite must try when in Baltimore.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampden Food Market also viewed

 

Been to Hampden Food Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampden Food Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.