We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great server, bad food!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
301 Light Street, Baltimore, MD
410-244-0838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Federalsburg, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great server, bad food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I liked the atmosphere of the place, but the food was awful. I got a pound of snow crab legs and what was delivered was over cooked and looked very under weight. Our server DJ was excellent and made the bad experience a good one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    96
    112
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Friendly service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A bit confusing to get in to, the entrance from Harbor Place didn't have a hostess stand, had to walk up behind the stand at the door leading to the harbor.

Even though it was late on a Friday night, the workers were pleasant, and put in effort that was more than I expect from chain eateries. Management also stopped by the table at one point to see how we were doing, so they definitely have the service end of things down.

The food was mediocre, it satisfied the fact that we were hungry, and some of it was actually pretty tasty - the Coconut Shrimp was seriously tasty. I got the Shrimper's Heaven, which looks great on the menu but was a bit depressing in reality. The Tempura Shrimp wasn't good at all, and the fried shrimp was basic. The actual amount of shrimp you get is underwhelming - you get a dozen or so small cold shrimp, and then a dozen or so total of Tempura, Coconut and regular Fried. And some sad fries. For the price, they I'm sure they could increase the portion size and still be running profit. The Better Half got the Accidental Fish and Shrimp, which was rather average, but filling.

We both had drinks - I had a Loose Cannon, and big thumbs up for having local craft on tap - and she got some fruity specialty drink, of which they have dozens. Both drinks were fairly priced, given the location.

In the end, our bellies weren't as full as our check thought they were, which was a bit irritating, but all in all, it was an average, inoffensive experience. While we wouldn't go out of our way to eat there again, and there are certainly better places to eat in and around the Harbor, it is just fine for a quick, no-reservation meal and would be a winner for families with children in tow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paying for the location - that's it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Food was overpriced and not all that great. I got the coconut shrimp and the shrimp were not deveined. (Yuck) They have a good sized Kids’ menu, but the 2 dishes we got were sort of gross. It came with neon blue Jell-O that my kids would not touch, the pizza looked like a microwavable “Celeste” pizza, but it tasted worse. We also got a pound of steamed shrimp and they were tiny little things, but it was priced for the really big things. You’re basically just paying for the location. Will not be coming back. Go to the Harbor with your belly full and just spend your money at the Aquarium, Museums or on the sightseeing, not here! At least the service was decent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I went here for his Birthday while visiting Baltimore Inner Harbor. The atmosphere was fun. The staff was friendly. We had a excellent waiter. The food was very good! We had a great time! This is a family friendly and clean restaurant! We will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I Guess You are Paying for Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was ok but pricy for what they offered. The atmosphere was loud and had a lot of stuff to look at on the walls, but the food was average.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.