We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Formerly Mount Vernon Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok for the value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I stayed here for a conference, it was affordable but nothing spectacular. The wifi didn't work. Breakfast was decent. You pay for what you get and it was a distance from the convention center and Inner Harbor. I you are trying not to send so much and wont be send time in the room this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
13
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference in the area. The staff was receptive and helpful. It is a small hotel that provides the basics. Only negative thing I found was that the blanket had a cigarette burn. Location is great. It is in an artsy area and within walking distance to the main areas of the city. If you are in Baltimore for a night or two and need somewhere to sleep, this is an okay place. If you are looking for fancy this is definitely not the place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I stayed here for one night for a conference at the convention center. The hotel is small but average. Nothing special.
The location is very nice I was able to walk to the city center and the harbor as well as the conference location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. We do have a great location, being centrally located in a walking friendly city is a huge plus for our hotel. I am glad you were able to experience the location. We are also very excited for our conversion to a hotel indigo in the spring of 2015. Hopefully we will see you again in the spring.

General Manager
Jared Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I checked in with the friendliest staff i had ever encountered in Baltimore and was happy to shortly thereafter enter a clean room that was comfortable! The staff was great even brought us extra pillows and helped us with directions. The room smelled nice was clean and comfortable all at a fair rate! I really enjoyed my stay here...clean safe and friendly all at a fair price..only downfall i wasnt a fan of the continental breakfast but that was just my personal take on it.!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am so pleased to hear of your experience with our wonderful staff here. We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated and caring staff. We are preparing for an entire hotel renovation and will re-launch in the spring of 2015 as a Hotel Indigo. With the new product we will of course continue to have tremendous service and friendly staff.

General Manager
Jared Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We have travelled the world, and the staff of Mount Vernon will get the prize for the rudest and unfriendliness staff ever. When we arrived at the hotel there were two “ladies” at the front desk. Whilst the one was busy with a customer, the other completely ignored us. When we tried to converse with her, she just pointed to her (already busy) colleague and continued doing what she was already doing: NOTHING!!!! The room was dirty; the bathroom vent hasn’t been cleaned for at least ten years. We stayed at the hotel for three nights. When we arrived at our hotel on the second day – after visiting the harbour – at about 18:00 – our room was not serviced. When we phoned reception we were told, rather rudely, that the cleaning staff has already left for the day. After 40 minutes a rather tired looking man brought us some clean towels. The only positive of the hotel is that it is within 2 minutes walk distance from the purple line of a local free bus service. Breakfast was a rather oily affaire.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience with our hotel and staff. This is not indicative of who we are or what we are working towards. There is no excuse for the experience you had and for that I apologize, we are working hard and are excited for our conversion to Hotel Indigo in the spring of 2015.

General Manager
Jared Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We were mostly pleased with this hotel for one over-niter as we were headed to a trip to NC. Location good right in the city, an older type hotel, affordable and parking across the street only cost us $4..surprisingly. a continental breakfast w/small cafe area but we left too early to try. Negative is that the room was clean but we found the tub did not look clean and it was not that modern a bathroom it had a cheap type bath fitter covering and wall that cracked in one part.We mentioned this upon leaving and the girl at the desk did not seem that interested or concerned. I saw a security guard which though there were no type problems is always good to see as part of the lobby personnel. Again i'd rate this Avg to VG.. if you need a one nite stay its not bad for the most part but could use some improvements and more attention to details.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon Hotel Baltimore. I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your trip to NC. We are very excited to be undergoing an entire hotel renovation beginning in the next few weeks and re-launching as a Hotel Indigo in the spring of 2015. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

General Manager
Jared Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I have been at better hotels but for 2 nights while going to Camden Yards, it served the purpose. Of course there are nicer hotels, but for the price, you can't beat the Mount Vernon. The hotel is a little bit of walk from the harbor, but not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmmountvernon, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Mt. Vernon hotel Baltimore. Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are working hard to make sure it is the best it can be as we prepare for a renovation and re-launch in the spring of 2015. Hopefully we will see you again after we become a hotel Indigo in the spring.

General Manager
Jared Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon

Address: 24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Formerly Mount Vernon Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt Vernon is located in the heart of the city, our uniquely designed hotel is one of a kind; and we want your experience to be as personalized as possible. Hotel Indigo offers all the amenities you have come to expect in an upscale, independent, boutique hotel. From our complimentary wireless internet to the full service restaurant and service that is second to none. Let us help you make our visit more enjoyable, helping you to get to know our neighborhood, we will recommend some fantastic independent restaurants and help you find your way, like a native. Walking down the cobblestone sidewalks, skirted by rows of elegant brownstones, ornamental wrought-iron gates and manicured greenery, it's impossible not to be enamored by the timelessness and quirkiness of Mt. Vernon. Between the architecture, marble and monuments, you might think you've been transported to turn-of-the-century Europe. But behind the conventional facade, a lively eccentricity radiates from nearby Johns Hopkins, and it's anything but old fashioned. In face, this neighborhood has always been a forward-thinking place, defined early on by a dynamic network of social clubs. We're talking about the city's movers and shakers - the bankers, presidents, preservationists - and they gathered often in the name of culture, cocktails and creativity. You could say it all began with George Peabody's institute, which ignited the cultural movement of the 19th-century Baltimore. Housing over 300,000 volumes, it's easy to see how the "Cathedral of Books' was the catalyst for dozens of cultural clubs that soon shaped the community. Modern scholars stood on the checkerboard marble floor in awe, staring up at the six stories of hardback knowledge wrapped in intricate ironwork. Often times, club members were so inspired by the Peabody's string aesthetic they hired many of the same craftsmen to design their own breath-taking gathering places just steps away from the institute. Here, at the center of Mt. Vernon's social scene, you can see a lady reaching for her delicate perfume bottle, about to play hostess to Baltimore's elite. Mingling downstairs, a gentleman raises his glass, welcoming his distinguished guests. The opulent drawing rooms of these stately homes were a nice fit for the club craze sweeping through Mt. Vernon. Whether you were interested in German lore, literature or laying bricks, there was a club for it. At one point The New York Times declared, "Baltimore has club fever!" From five-course holiday feasts to festive performances by the Vagabond Players theater group, the great windows of the many clubs offered glimpses for passersby, as they still do. One group enjoyed attention way more than the others. Easily the most colorful of the bunch, The Charcoal Club, was founded with an independent streak on the fringe of conservative culture by artists who were fond of drawing from live models, as they did in Paris. This club particularly enjoyed practical jokes, poker nights and feisty battles with the Baltimore Museum of Art. They went so far as to invent an artist, I.L. Glutz, who like today's Banksy, was never seen, but whose paintings were discovered mysteriously several times a year, usually in alleys or attics around town. So, a slightly twisted love of art brought them together, and their individuality set them apart. It's with today's generation of social renegades that the essence and energy of Mt. Vernon's club culture lives on. Even though time seems to stand still in the unmovable bricks and cobblestones, these streets were paved with the intention of leading the way for those who live by their own rules. They are the new class of creatives, undeterred by those monumental shoes to fill and determined to do things their way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Baltimore - Mt. Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.