We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Baltimore to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Baltimore
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Formerly Mount Vernon Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Excellent Location & Tip Top Services !!!! The Prices were very reasonable and stay & services even better !!! Going too recommend too all friends & co-workers who always visiting the area !!!!!! On the scale of 1 to 10 ????? I have rated it 10 ++++++ !!!!! Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VernonMng, Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear SpiicyD ,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review & for telling all of your friends.
Thanks,
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    173
    119
    70
    77
See reviews for
113
138
48
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Location and price are the Mount Vernon Hotel's key selling points. In the historic Mt Vernon district there are charming places all around, unfortunately this hotel is not one of them. A good choice if you're planning to be out and about most of the time and just looking for a reasonably priced, average place to sleep and leave your things. If you're looking for more than that in a hotel there would be plenty of other preferable options.
Location: the highly rated Walters Art Museum is less than a block away, Charles Street with shops and restaurants not much further, and it's a 10-15 minute walk down to the harbor.
Hotel: average but quite dated. Room was quite large but bathroom tiny. Good heater kept room warm during cold weather. No room service or fridge in room. Older TV with poor reception on some channels. Free wifi but connection was spotty and slow at times. Free breakfast included both hot and cold options which were just okay. Bed was comfortable and no sign of bedbugs other recent reviewer mentioned. On site parking is $15 per day but includes in and privileges. There is another car park across the road which would be cheaper if you we're just wanting to leave the car there.
Staff: most seemed a bit flat - bored or tired? and not particularly friendly or helpful and not always anyone around when needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VernonMng, Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mel904,
It is very disappointing to learn about the incident that took place during your stay with us. Rest assured that additional training and coaching has been done in order to avoid any re-occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Bedbugs; no doubt; person at desk didn't sound surprised, just put us in a different room, comped us one night of three, someone came and took photos of some of the bugs we'd smashed. Still itching 5 days later. Hotel is in nice location, good, interesting restaurants nearby, so too bad this is the case.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VernonMng, Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Juaquim,
We are working closely with the pest control company to determine the issues at hand and apologize severely for your inconvenience. We are working closely with the pest control company to determine the issues at hand and apologize severely for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel his a little tired but it is in a great location. Great service from staff. We arrived to find out that they didn't have our reservation which we did on the hotel website. Fortunately we had a printout of the reservation and even though they were "full" they found a room. We got a top floor king which (after the lecture about not smoking) smelled like old cigarettes and the room in general was in dire need of renovation. I asked about a different room but it didn't look good. The agent at the desk was persistent though and got us an upgrade into a two level room that was much nicer. Bottom line though, the bed wasn't very comfortable and the design/layout of the room was a bit odd. We ended up moving the second night. But temper this with the price, it was about 1/2 of other hotels. Location was great with a short walk to the inner harbor. If price is your priority, it's not bad. If your interested in comfort, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If they say it's a metal key as opposed to a keycard, it probably hasn't been renovated and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VernonMng, Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear USPhotographer,
The management of the Mount Vernon Hotel appreciates you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave feedback on your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Reservation for 4 people with 2 queen beds room turned into a king bed with loft and pull out single. The single was extremely uncomfortable and inconvenient. Room was unbelievably hot. We had to ask for more towels, pillows and the TV remote. Coffee service in the room was for only 2. It was as if we arrived as a surprise. No place to place anything in the bathroom while showering except the floor and the toilet didn't even have a lid to close. Light bulbs out and no operating fan in the bathroom. No pen nor paper available in the room. The room was very noisy. We had a terrible night's sleep. Breakfast was good. We will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VernonMng, Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Susan P,
It is very disappointing to learn about the incident that took place during your stay with us. Rest assured that additional training and coaching has been done in order to avoid any re-occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Either we stayed at the Mt Vernon the same night as the people who wrote the last two reviews - "Avoid at all costs" and "Won't stay again" - or the management and staff are even more incompetent than we could have imagined. We had similar experiences - we waited two hours for our room that was supposed to be ready at 3:00 - with no apology or real explanation - and while we were waiting for our room we overheard that the air conditioning had been turned off for the season and that the windows don't open. Even though we were fortunate to claim one of the few available fans (note: we had to ask for a fan, it was not offered by the front desk clerks), the room was still unbearably hot. As an aside to these larger issues, I was also disappointed to note cigarette burns in one of the blankets in our "no smoking" room. The location is great; the building is historic and interesting; parking across the street is convenient and reasonably priced; and an OK breakfast is included in the amazingly low room rates. The big problem with this hotel is unbelievably incompetent management and unhappy, incompetent, stupid, surly staff.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VernonMng, Manager at Hotel Indigo Baltimore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear TRIODenver_CO,
Thank you for taking the time to contact us about your recent stay at the Mount Vernon Hotel. It is with comments and suggestions of our value customers we are able to improve our service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Baltimore

Address: 24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Formerly Mount Vernon Hotel)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Indigo Baltimore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.