We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun fun fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Street Market

Cross Street Market
Light and Charles Streets, Baltimore, MD 21230
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 45 Shopping in Baltimore
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great place to grab a beer and food. Lots to see and do. Great place to shop and people watch. Had my first raw oyster, which was pretty cool and tasteless.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We went here to grab a quick beer at Nicks. All I can say is awesome. This place was fun for our family and the market had great prices!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great concept, need more vendors to keep it going....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

First went to Cross St. Mkt. many years ago as a college student and enjoyed the happy hour deals at Nick's Seafood and plowing through some steamed shrimp. Wanted to try it again on a recent visit to B'more (7/26/12) to get the great food and beer I remembered. Arrived just after 9 p.m. and it was closed. Granted it was a weeknight, but it's in the summer - thought it would have been open later. Not to be discouraged, I tried again for lunch the next day. Several vacant vendor spots were unoccupied/closed down - I guess b/c of the economy. But, Nick's is still there with 32 big-oz. beers (specials btw. 3pm-6pm) and plenty of steamed crabs, shrimp and other assorted seafood. They do have sushi bar if that's your interest.
Overall, I expected more in the area of fresh veggies and or seafood vendors given the recent farm-to-table and farmer's market trends on the east coast. I think there was one veggie stand, and I'm not sure that any was local produce. Other vendors include: ice cream, fried chicken, asian food, taco's, deli counter, seafood, flowers, and a few 'junk shops' with sundries of variety of plastic/imported crud. One set of public small restrooms on site; although Nick's has a set of thier own for customer's only (anyone with families in tow be aware of limited facilities of average cleanliness.)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A quiet version of Lexington Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you prefer somewhere quiet, and still can enjoy about the same food in Lexington Market, you may want to try Cross Street Market.
If crabcake is something you like, do try Nick's crabcake. It's near one of the entrance, and you surely can't miss it. Nice place, with friendly people around. Get a beer and order yourself a crabcake, the best combination.
Besides crabcake, there are sandwhiches and hotdogs which looks quite appetizing as well. If only my stomach can take in more, will definitely do that.

After a heavy meal, walk around the neighbourhood. Nice cafes and interesting shops. Perhaps a slow walk back to Inner Harbour too, which I think is possible :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

They make me happy. I have tasted about every vendors product. Nothing bad to say. Go visit and enjoy. Raw seafood, sushi, crabs, shrimp, Asian, fried food and more.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Street Market also viewed

 

Been to Cross Street Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Street Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.