We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what happened to the good ol days ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bengie's Drive-In Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bengie's Drive-In Theatre
3417 Eastern Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21220
410 687 5627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Fun & Games in Baltimore
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what happened to the good ol days ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I been to drive -ins since the 60's an yeah things change an you must roll with um , but too many rules can ruin a classic moment in your love life with guards walking though .Its still a very nice place , but must tell you ....BRING A RADIO with you ! You don't wanna drain your battery . Its not like the old days when they had speakers . Don't be loud or they will toss you out . If you have a pick up truck , park backwards an watch the movie with folding chairs in the bed ! Bring your own drinks an foods an snacks to save $$.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great movie theatre but signage reminded me of elementary school”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This movie theatre really reminded me of those you hear about from the 50's. it was fun and relatively inexpensive but the 3-movie lineup wasn't all that great. The first movie had no cursing and was a children movie (despicable me 2), while the following 2 movies had obscenity which i found was not a good combination of movies because there should be some kind of consistency. This is the perfect place for a date night though since it was much easier to hear the sound of the movie when seated in the car as opposed to sitting on beach chairs outside. It would be nice and cosy sitting in the front seats of the car and viewing the movie through the front screen of the car. You have to bring your own fold-up chairs and you have the option of bringing your own food but you must have a permit to bring your own food. I think that the permit costed 10 dollars but with that permit you can bring in how much food you want. There is food selling at the concession area but I don't know about the prices since I didn't check it out. The signs about warning people not to walk here and there was as if people are little children and I thought that was unnecessary. I felt that the language used for the signs could have been a little less harsh and maybe with less exclamation marks so that people would not interpret that as shouting. The commentator who spoke before (and during the movies sometimes) was very annoying. I didn't like that the movies went into early morning (3am) but I guess that was the point of it. It was a great experience that the commercials were very original and had a fifties feel because it gave you a vintage experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cool Place For Families or Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Cool place. Classic American pastime meets modern day mainstream cinema! I agree rules are mostly common sense. We were first timers, got lost on the way and didn't arrive until the middle of the second movie. We had no issues whatsoever. I think that's what makes the experience so great, that they have all those rules in place to ensure that everyone has a good time, is safe, able to enjoy the show, and doesn't disturb others. Great value, $9 for 3 movies and a snack bar with lots of options. You can bring your own food but will have to pay for an outside food permit. The first show is usually a children's or a family movie. We will definitely be going back as we have toddlers and it's a great option for those with children who want to see a movie but can't always get a sitter (kids can see their movie, then fall asleep in the back of the car, parents can see their movie after the kids' show, and if they wake up they don't disturb others as you are in your own car :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place For a Movie Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I love this place! You get 2 or 3 movies for cheap. A resonable fee to bring your own food & drinks. You can't do that at a regular theater. There are rules for safety and to prevent problems.There are rules every where you go. This is a good place for good people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A good Drive-In”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I like Drive-In's. The people here are a little particular about their rules, but once you jump through hoops you can have a very nice time with you kids, dog, and the outdoor film!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengie's Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Bengie's Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengie's Drive-In Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.