We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab Saute dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips Seafood

Phillips Seafood
601 E. Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
410-685-6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Phillips Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #181 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pratt & Market Streets
Description: Classic Casual Dining: Phillips new Baltimore location, is an exciting and easy blend of vintage and modern, with a nod to the longstanding tradition of Phillips restaurants. Phillips at the Power Plant sits directly on the water, just a few steps away from the old Light Street Pavilion location, in the iconic renovated Power Plant industrial building. The innovative redesign of the interior by Carl Myers and Marcie DeLaRosa shows off gleaming, rich woods and jewel toned stained glass fixtures, distressed finishes and antiqued mirrors juxtaposed with a modern, open kitchen.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crab Saute dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We went to Phillips on our last night in Baltimore. Damion was training a new waiter and they both did a splendid job of making sure my wife and i had everything we cared for, even the dessert!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    268
    176
    92
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The food was great, as was our server! Perfect location right by the aquarium. The crab cake salad was excellent, as was the key lime pie. It worked for us!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

You pretty much know what you're going to get here. A tourist trap with good seafood. We sat outside on the Crab Deck and loved every minute of it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A nice al-fresco lunch spot if the weather is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We'd just spent the morning touring the Aquarium and wanted to go somewhere for a nice lunch with some wine. The Harbor area has a lot of eating spots....but most of them are chains and we wanted something a little more authentic to the area so we chose Phillips.
The weather was great the day we were there so we asked for a table outside to enjoy people watching.
The two of us split a bowl of Clam Chowder which was great! (only $1 more for the Bowl versus the Cup....so go for the bowl). We also had the Crab-Stuffed Mushrooms which were ok- the stuffing was delicious but the mushrooms were pretty bland and watery. Then we split one of the Seafood Platters with crab-stuffed flounder, crab cake, stuffed shrimp, scallops, asparagus and seasoned rice. The platter was also good....not over-the-top-amazing...but still very good food and we were happy. The portions were good and we left feeling full but not overly stuffed.
I'd echo what other reviewers have said - it's probably not the very best seafood I've ever had....but the location is great and the food was good so I'd probably go back if I'm in the area again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great service and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After a less then impressive visit to jpauls the night before we opted to go to Phillips for our last night in town. What a great spot! It's not hard to see why they are so much more crowded than other harbor restaurants. The bartenders were attentive and friendly and the food was phenomenal. perfect way to end our stay in Baltimore/

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Phillips Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.