We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with friendly, quirky service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar

The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar
213 Penn Street, Baltimore, MD 21230 (Formerly Corner Bistro and Wine Bar)
410-727-1155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,673 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food with friendly, quirky service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to the Corner Bistro and Wine Bar based on tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The restaurant is small, with a bar and a half dozen tables. The menu is limited, but has sufficient variety that just about everyone will find something (or, like me, many things) that you really look forward to trying. The food came out quickly and was delicious.

I'm a little torn about the service. On one hand, it was really fantastic: friendly, highly attentive, accommodating. On the other hand, it was almost too rushed. When the wine we ordered was out of stock, they poured an alternative (very good, but different variety) without checking with us first. Our appetizers were simply forgotten.

When the main course came, all was forgiven, and dessert and after-dinner port more than compensated. Although, again, it was almost as though I had to guide the waiter to ask us whether we wanted drinks and dessert - a strange phenomenon at a restaurant.

I'd certainly go again. The lapses in service were more than made up for by their enthusiasm and the food itself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    20
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience of the year - by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very hospitable, good prices, and FANTASTIC food. Oh, what I would give to have this place in my neighborhood. There is a 100% chance that I'll eat here on my next trip to Baltimore. We ordered a variety of goodies and they were all rock-solid. Half-priced bottles of wine on Tuesday (maybe other days of the week?) Can't wait to go back. Also in a great area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jay-Z, JT & the Corner Bistro = A Fun Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I made reservations at the Corner Bistro & Wine Bar before the Jay-Z and Justin Timberlake concert. The restaurant was packed with everyone apparently going to the show. We ordered a bottle of Malbec to go with our crab cakes and steak sandwich. Very nice wine for the price. The crab cakes were all jumbo lump crab, seasoned perfectly. The steak sandwich was a big hit with me. The garlic truffle fries are the best. We enjoyed the atmosphere here its like being a bunch of freinds. We will for sure be back during the football season.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been traveling to Baltimore for work over the last while and saw this place on Trip Advisor. I usually dine alone as i'm here on business, so atmosphere (as well as food) is important to me. This truly is a hidden gem as it is not far off the beaten track, but feels like a neighbourhood bistro. Very small but quaint. Drumsticks were amazing, as was the crab trio (both on the bar menu). The bartender had excellent wine recommendations and let me sample a few to ensure I found what I liked. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Gem in Ridgely's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. They never disappoint! Burgers are delicious. You must try the drumsticks! And the ciabatta is amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.