We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half off bottles of wine Saturdays and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar

The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar
213 Penn Street, Baltimore, MD 21230 (Formerly Corner Bistro and Wine Bar)
410-727-1155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,817 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Half off bottles of wine Saturdays and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Looked for a restaurant Saturday night and found The Corner Bistro on TripAdvisor and Yelp. It did not disappoint.

I ate the Chesapeake and my girlfriend had the Baltimorean. We were both extremely happy. The Cheseapeake was a grilled chicken sandwich with crap dip on a ciabatta. Extremely delicious. The Baltimorean was equally delicious for a crab cake sandwich.

Go with the garlic truffle fries over the sweet potato fries. A little light on the truffle oil flavor but eat them without the ketchup and they're good.

Had a bottle of Cellar number 8 with our meal. Was a blend of 8 grapes and created a smooth blend of wine. Went down easy and tasted good but lacked some character.

Overall had a great experience here and would recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    19
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not #1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The best part was the service (Derek). Food was solid but not off the charts. A couple items I ordered were being taken off the menu next printing and were no longer available. Overall, it was good but not the best in Baltimore. 2 glasses of wine (least expensive on menu), bowl of soup of the day (onion and very good) plus an appetizer plus tip ... $40. All in all. I didn't think the #1 rating in tripadvisor was warranted.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This small locally-owned bistro is a real gem! We ate off the bar menu (crab trio and pork drumsticks) but the kitchen was also turning out some wonderful smelling steaks and other specials. The wine list offers lots of choices, both by the glass and by the bottle, and they have some very affordable specials. We will absolutely be back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in Baltimore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Visited the Corner Bistro & Wine Bar as a result of reviews on Trip Advisor and discovering it was within walking distance of our hotel. We went on our second night in Baltimore and then returned 2 more times! We were warmly welcomed by Amber who was working the bar that night and then met general manager Derrick Vaughn who made us feel like regulars. Corner Bistro is small so best to go early. We saw both baseball and football patrons when we were there. Service was great and the food excellent. Nothing complicated about the menu, but very well done. My husband enjoyed the crab cakes very much and he is not a fan of shellfish at all but loved the crab cakes here. He also had the corn chowder with a lump crab and loved it. I had the chopped salad w/ribeye steak one night and with shrimp the next... Loved both versions and my husband's ribeye steak special was prounced excellent. Our third visit was for a drink only as we were attending a baseball game at Camden Yards (easy walking distance). Corner Bistro & Wine Bar was definitely a highlight of our visit to Baltimore. We would certainly highly recommend it. Derrick is a wonderful host (even to Red Sox fans!) and the food and wine selection make it a great experience. It is fun to feel like a "regular" in spite of being far from home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A small corner restaurant tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. The setting is intimate, the staff friendly and the dishes we had were very good. Will be sure to patronize again on our next visit to Baltimore.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Bistro and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.