We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Buffet !! Awesome Catering !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Paradise
1660 Whitehead Ct, Baltimore, MD 21207 (Downtown)
(410) 594 - 9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #544 of 1,817 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Buffet !! Awesome Catering !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Have been here many times for lunch buffet, it is good. I like the spread, and the variety. Recently ordered food for a party, it was awesome !! Everyone was raving about the food. It was way better than what they serve at the buffet and the quantity was also good. Impressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union Bridge, Maryland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“OK if you're desperate for South Indian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Paradise is in a motel just off the Baltimore Beltway at Security Blvd. My wife and I went to the weekend buffet @ $13/each. The restaurant was busy with a mostly Indian clientele.

The buffet features a range of mostly South Indian dishes -- idli, uthappam, chettinad chicken, biryanis and assorted fried doughy things. Nothing was prepared and presented in a particularly attractive way. In fact, the buffet line was bit of a slop chute what with dishes spilling into each other, on the floor, etc.

The atmosphere was on the dinghy side. The women's restroom was a mess with vomit in 2 stalls ( according to my wife). We can't think of a good reason to go back….unless we're suddenly desperate for South Indian and can't make it to, say, Pavan Foods.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to have South Indian Spicy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best place I came across to have South Indian Spicy food. Their buffey is the best in town and location is very convenient.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Marvelous Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had eaten at the Paradise a few years back, but had been going to another Indian restaurant in the area. My co-worker suggested that we go to this place for an office function. I must say this is the best Indian food I have had. The dishes are flavorful and spicey. The wait staff is courteous and constantly refilling my glass.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty and Spicy Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After the recent closure of my favorite, I hit the pavement looking for an alternative authentic, flavorful, yet inexpensive South Indian restaurant in the Baltimore area. Based on the reviews from several online sites, I decided to try Paradise. First the menu is extensive and contains a good selection of vegetarian dishes, as well as non-veg fare. I was excited when I ordered a dosa one night, and the crepe dish arrived literally spilling over the side of the plate due to its enormous size. The potato filling was aromatic and delicious, and the side sauces and sambar nicely accented the crepe. The meat curries I tried were great as well, especially the Andhra curry, which was authentically spicy. I will definitely be returning for more, in particular weekdays when they have special pricing on biryani as well as dosas. Do not worry about its location next to Days Inn, it is still Paradise.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.