We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Little Italy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 1! Book Now
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“Most convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a Johns Hopkins patient and the hotel is on their recommended list. The hotel not only provided a discount on the room but we were provided taxi vouchers to and from the hotel. They do not have a shuttle service and this was their way of helping us out on getting to the hospital. The registration desk was very helpful in every way. They recommended restaurants in the area and even gave us a discount card for the restaurant we chose. The property itself is very convenient to the Inner Harbor East area and all it has to offer. The room was spacious , clean and nicely appointed. *****bed comfort!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong staying here. Lots to do and see
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our beds comfortable. A good night’s sleep is always important and it sounds like we were able to provide that to you. Our front desk staff tries their best to stay on top of all the restaurants in our area and like you said we are sometime able to give discount coupons or free items from restaurants that drop off their information to us. We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    160
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
78
73
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very pleasant stay. Room very clean and staff very friendly and attentive. Quite atmosphere which is great for a business trip. I found the beds to be way too soft for me but overall a good choice for a short stay!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay with us and I am sorry that you found our beds too soft. I was happy to read that you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly and will pass all your comments along to our staff. Hopefully you will decide to stay with us again and if you get a room with a soft bed, please let us know and we can try to see if another room would be a better fit for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose hotel because I'm a Hopkins' patient and hotel participates in Hopkins' lodging plan. But, our experience went far beyond our expectations and is perfectly situated and equipped for any visitor who's looking for comfort, proximity to Inner/East Harbor amenities, ready transportation and a hotel staff who in all ways seemed dedicated to comfort and guest services. Rooms are newer Courtyard - clean and adequately-furnished/appointed with good city/waterfront views from upper floors. Business center typical, but working! Staff seemed not only genuinely courteous and helpful, but also went several extra miles for us in handling last-minute changes, ensuring transport and other special needs. Cannot say enough good things about the multitude of front desk, managerial & Bistro staff -- this made a hard trip much easier. The neighborhood is ideal, especially for walking -- 1/2 block to a Whole Foods & CVS; easily a dozen restaurants within 5 minutes - 2 dozen within 10 min; 10 minutes to Harbor, Little Italy, west Fells Point; 15 minutes to Nat'l Aquarium and Miss Shirley's (must go there). Marriott chose well with this location as it's right in the middle of solid Baltimore revitalization. Hopkins or not, we'd stay again when in Baltimore.

Room Tip: Upper floors have best views (duh). Maybe avoid 4th floor because of gym/pool traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I truly am happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our staff was able to accommodate your last minute requests and changes. We try our best every day to make our guests feel welcomed and no matter the reason for their stay that we try and make their stay comfortable. I have shared your comments with our entire team because as you noted it takes everyone working together in all departments to make a guest’s stay easier. I also agree that if you are in Baltimore you must try Miss Shirley’s or for another great breakfast place try Blue Moon Café. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant Stay, Clean Hotel, Friendly staff. Courtyard predictable. Will stay there again. Hotel is almost directly on the waterfront. A good location for walking, jogging, etc. You can walk to good restaurants, nightlife, etc. Taxi's are abundant. If you are "Marriott" this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Hotel is "L" shaped. Elevator is near the elbow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, Assistant Hotel Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt that our staff was friendly and our hotel was clean. We agree that our hotel is in an excellent location and within walking distance to nice restaurants and various attractions. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future whenever your travels bring you to the Baltimore area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEWELL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is fabulous! They checked us in in a timely fashion and helped in anyway they could. We were upgraded to a corner King room which had a small view of the water but very nicely appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable! It is basic however..no frills or fancy decor. (Expected though with this level of Marriott.)
They do have a Starbucks coffee shop in the lobby and a nice sitting area where we felt comfortable hanging out while we waited for friends. No bar though.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay with great service and clean rooms.A shout out to Tambra who helped us check in. Unfortunately, my only gripe is that we paid for 5 rooms but Marriott only allowed us to receive 3 towards our Marriott rewards card...doesn't seem to make sense to me.

Room Tip: Upper,corner king was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable and our staff was "fabulous". We are fortunate to have Tambra and happy that she provided you with a timely checkin and excellent service. I am glad that you found our lobby sitting area and Starbucks to be nice, however, you mentioned that we do not have a bar. Our bar is located in the same area as Starbucks but it doesn't open until 5pm so it may have been closed when you visited Starbucks. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Courtyard by Marriott is usually a reliable brand, but the Baltimore Inner Harbor rates above the company baseline. In addition to being within walking distance to attractions like Little Italy and the Inner Harbor, the hotel is situated in a "quaint" area of the city, with shops, restaurants, and a movie theater situated nearby. I've stayed at this hotel for business on at least a half dozen occasions (most recently in Nov. 2014), and each time the front desk staff has been exceedingly helpful and friendly. The rooms and common facilities have also been very clean and the beds very comfortable. Free wifi is also a big plus, especially because it works. I haven't made use of the café, which provides breakfast as well as a variety of dining options throughout the day, but having the option is a plus. Add a reasonable price as well as overall efficiency and this hotel is a very good choice for accommodation, especially if one is a business traveler.

One drawback is a limited fitness area, both in terms of variety and amount of equipment as well as space. At peak times, you may have to wait your turn. Also, the hotel could use better signage indicating where the fitness center is. A very nice pool (which I have not used) may mitigate this concern for some. Otherwise, the only other limitations I've experienced is the lack of a mini-refrigerator, which comes in handy for a longer stay, and the cable TV package doesn't include MASN, the local sports network on which Orioles games are televised.

Room Tip: The fitness room is on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for being a repeat guest and for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you enjoy our hotel and that you find our staff to be both friendly and helpful. As you noted our fitness center can get busy, but one thing it sounds like you do not know about is our arrangement with the Maryland Athletic Club. They are located one block from the hotel and it is a full size health club that are guest can use by picking up a complimentary pass at our front desk. Also when we renovated last year, we added refrigerators in all of our rooms. They are located in the dresser underneath the TV area. I am sorry that we did not inform you of these options while you were staying with us, but I did want you to know about them so the next time you are here hopefully you can try them out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It is worth staying at this hotel where the staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is the best. You have everything nearby, Whole Foods around the corner, and the rooms are clean and simple. Great value for that area of town!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am glad our location worked for your visit to Baltimore and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor

Address: 1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Inner Harbor hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This hotel near downtown Baltimore is also conveniently located near the National Aquarium and one and a half miles from the Baltimore Convention Center. We offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Your stay at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Courtyard
Baltimore Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.