We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge says "Right where we wanted"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Little Italy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Makawao
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Concierge says "Right where we wanted"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As a concierge on vacation we were right where we wanted to be for our one day vacation in Baltimore after dropping off our daughter at college. All of this during the Baltimore Grand Prix Races in town! Despite everyone telling us traffic would be difficult, we found it very easy to get the GPS to take us into town from the NewYork side, rather than from the DC side, thus avoiding Pratt Street and other road closures, by asking it to take us to White Marsh IKEA first....We literally cruised into town and right up to the front door of the hotel.

The hotel is a block away from the waterfront and walking paths, and very close to all of the attractions such as the Baltimore National Aquarium, the Baltimore World Trade Center, shops and restaurants of Little Italy, Fells Point, and the Inner Harbor. For us 50 somethings we found the walking along the waterfront easy, comfortable and safe. Maps are deceptive and the distances between attractions were much less than we anticipated.

The hotel was comfortable and clean, our room faced the water, but there was no view of it, rather a view from the 7th floor of other buildings which was fine. The fitness center had several treadmills, weights and towels. My husband did his routine easily, only missing only a jumprope to be complete. I enjoyed the jacuzzi (a bit cloudy) so I only dipped my feet in. Pool was appropriately cool as it was hot and humid outside. Sun deck was large (4th floor) and open. Computers for boarding pass check-in all worked. We had two options for parking, via pre-pay at the hotel (Around $28.00) or get a ticket at the garage (shared with the hotel and located to the right of the lobby entrance (look for the Whole Foods sign). We left our car overnight (3pm) and paid $18.00 the next morning at 9am when we departed...which was less than what the hotel reps quoted ($26.00).

All in all an easy place, and well situated to everything we wanted to see and do in a day.

Room Tip: We got a King bed as hotel reps said the doubles are full-sized not queen-sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I can tell from your comments, that you must be a very helpful concierge because you covered all aspects of our hotel. I am sure future guests will find this information extremely helpful as these are the same things I try to point out to our guests. Thank you again for your detailed review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    148
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
78
72
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was great all around, we stayed for 2 nights to get to know baltimore a little bit. We were greeted every so nicely by a young woman who offered my 3 year old son fruit snacks, which he thought was great! The hotel is located perfect in harbor east, lots of close by restaurants and shopping all walking distance. Pool was a nice set up with the courtyard right there, the hot tub was great, the pool was definitely cold though. The little dining area in the lobby was great, and not too pricey, and a beautiful decor, very modern and fresh!

Best part... My son left his favorite stuffed animal and pillow behind, i called, they promptly called back, found his stuff, shipped it to me the next day! Thank you to housekeeping for that! It was fantastic service.

Worst part .... (this has nothing to do with the hotel) but just a side note for travelers ... DO NOT take the "Charm City Circulator" this is FREE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION. Not a good place for visitors. We made the mistake of reading on here that it was a free bus ride around the city that stops ever 10 minutes etc. We went to Camden Yards for an O's game, took the bus at 5 pm on a Friday ... We witnessed a robbery ON the bus. The bus had to stop, the police had to come, we had to change buses. The scenery on the bus was a little scary, especially with a 3 year old in tow. Do yourself a favor and pay 5 bucks for a cab, that's what we did on the way home, TOTALLY worth it. But Marriott employees, please read this, and do not recommend the bus to tourists, as a safety precaution!

Room Tip: Floor 4, has a great courtyard and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to read that we were able to locate your son’s stuffed animal and get it safely back to him. Our housekeeping staff tries their best to ensure lost items are turned into management so we can return them to their rightful owners and I will share this success story with them. I also wanted to thank you for letting us know about your experience on the Charm City Circulator. Most of our guests have had wonderful experiences using the free bus service, but based on your comment I will make sure our staff informs all of our guests about possible issues with this service. We hope to see you again soon in Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent a night at the Courtyard by Marriott in the Inner Harbor area, in Baltimore, and we loved every minute. This is the second time we stay in this hotel and we hope to come again. It is much cheaper than the other Marriott that is near by, and it is as good ! The rooms are spacious and very comfortable' the service is outstanding, the location is great(walking distance to the center and to the Aquarium and other attractions). We came with our grandson and we had a wonderful time.

Baltimore is a great city to spend a weekend with children. We just came from Europe where we stayed at beautiful hotels, but we paid double...

We whole-heartedly recommend this hotel and its outstanding staff.

Room Tip: You can ask for early check in and late check out They do their best to accommodate you. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for our anniversary. The location was great! We enjoyed walking to Little Italy for dinner and walking to the Inner Harbor. The hotel itself was extremely clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was one of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I've ever seen. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable room in the Baltimore area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Our location in Harbor East does give our guest easy access to areas like Little Italy, Fells Point, and the Inner Harbor and I am glad you got to explore some of those areas. Our Executive Housekeeper has been here since the hotel opened and she takes great pride in keeping the hotel clean, so I will share your comments with her about your bathroom. Her staff truly wants all of our guests to enjoy their stay and a clean room is a great place to start. We hope you will come to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, right in between Fells Point and the Inner Harbor area. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly.

However, I am just rating this hotel as average because they are doing construction in the parking garage and it starts somewhere around 7am (even on a Sunday) and is very loud as the sound carries throughout the building. We stayed over labor day weekend, not sure when the construction is supposed to end but it was annoying.

Also, the A/C in our room wasn't blowing very cold. It didn't matter how you set the temp or the fan speed. Our friends were in the room next door and it was freezing in there, but our room stayed around 78 degrees day or night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMcmanus, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel. I truly am sorry that encountered these issues during your stay. The adjacent garage had to do some emergency repair work that weekend and it was completed by that Monday. I will also have our maintenance department look into the issue with that room’s thermostat because we want all of our guests to feel comfortable in their rooms during their stay. Again, I do apologize for these issues and I hope you will come back and give us another chance the next time you are in Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed warmly by the front lobby staff. Checkin was swift and the room was clean, ample -sized for the two of us. Walkin distance to fells point and the inner harbor, we never had to love our car! Free wii is a plus, so is the cold lemon-infused water in the lobby. Super close to some boutiques and a market, will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent one night at the Courtyard while in town for the Summer Antiques Show. We parked in the hotel garage which was very convenient and not crowded while we were there (Saturday/Sunday). Our room was on the 12th floor and had a small balcony with a partial view of the harbor. There was some of the usual "city noise," but nothing too bad. Overall it was a nice room with a comfortable bed, and very clean. The staff were very friendly. In the morning we had breakfast at the cafe in the lobby (it was included in our rate), which was good, and I was pleased that there were healthy options to be had.

The location is convenient to walking around the Inner Harbor or you can pick up a water taxi a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor

Address: 1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Inner Harbor hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This hotel near downtown Baltimore is also conveniently located near the National Aquarium and one and a half miles from the Baltimore Convention Center. We offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Your stay at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Courtyard
Baltimore Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.