We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, and close to major sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Little Italy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 1! Book Now
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, and close to major sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As you'd expect from a Courtyard, this hotel is not fancy but the rooms were comfortable and clean. When we stayed here, the lobby and some other areas were under renovation, but it didn't interfere with our stay in any way. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Fells Point and Inner Harbor sites are within walking distance, but there is also a stop just down the block for the free bus called the Charm City Circulator (worth checking out - it goes to major sites and there's no charge). As for amenities, this Courtyard is in a shopping area (stores and a couple restaurants), with a grocery store (Whole Foods) just next door. In my opinion, this hotel provides a good value if you want to be very near the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    150
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
78
73
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent one Saturday night here (using a complementary voucher) to avoid driving home late. Hotel is nearly-new; lobby and some floors undergoing renovation but we didn’t hear noise. Location is walking distance from Little Italy, Inner Harbor, and Fells Point. $23 parking fee; you get a plastic card to let yourself in and out of the garage so no waiting for valets. Room was functional and very clean. Refrigerator and coffee pot in room. 24 hour complementary coffee in lobby. Included “cold continental breakfast” included oatmeal and toast, plus the expected muffin/Danish (from Starbucks), packaged yogurt, fresh fruit (grapefruit sections and mixed melon/grapes), a selection of cereals, hard-boiled eggs, and a nice selection of tea besides brewed coffee and decaf. When I reserved the room no breakfast was listed but they’ve recently added it. Front desk staff was polite and professional. Requested extra towels and got them 10 minutes later. Beds were comfortable but on the soft side. We were 2 adults and 2 teens and really didn’t fit into the 2 beds (we were being cheap and didn’t want to pay for an extra room so we got what we asked for) but I’m pretty sure they were double beds and not queens.

I visited the indoor pool (but didn’t swim in it) – it’s larger than I expected for a Courtyard indoor pool. The exercise room is small but had 4-5 treadmills/ellipticals (can’t recall), a bike, and hand weights and was empty Sat. afternoon. Peeked in the laundry ($1/wash with detergent included).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYHOTELMGR, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. As you stated, our location is wonderful for anyone visiting Baltimore. Our guests have easy access to the Inner Harbor, Fells Point, and Little Italy. While our hotel is under renovation, which should end in early March, we are offering all guests a complimentary continental breakfast due to our restaurant being closed. When it reopens in March, we will offer both breakfast and dinner on a daily basis with a lot of options for our guests to choose from. Also as our rooms are renovated, each of them will have a refrigerator and coffee maker, all new beds, and new fabrics to brighten them up. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We could walk to most attractions and restaurants. The staff was very nice and the rooms were quite. If I hadn't needed this location to be close to family, I think I could have found a better value. For the price I expected breakfast, but they may have had higher rates because of the holidays and other hotels were sold out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We checked in here for a family celebration away from home and had a great stay. Check in was flawless, staff efficient and helpfull. We enjoyed the room and the city view from a high floor. In Baltimore you can see a long way from vertually any tall building since there are so few...tall buildings to block the view. The pool was a bit of a let down as it was cold. The hot tub was the savior of this area even though we were scolded for dangling our legs off the side by the young guard. The fitness center ...needs serious updating. Equipment is worn and the room is tiny. I understand that the hotel is getting a face lift and I hope the fitness room gets attention. The best thing to do would be to open up the wall between it and the pool area with glass partiitons. it would have a dramatic effect. The breakfast buffet was incredible with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, bagels then several kinds of breakfast meats, eggs cooked to order, fresh made waffles. I can't imagine someone not being able to find something they like to eat. The service was efficient and polite. There are plenty of dining choices in the neighborhood. Park your car and forget about driving. Heat the pool and I will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYHOTELMGR, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I was happy to read that the staff was friendly and efficient while you were here and that you found our location convenient to all the great restaurants nearby. As you stated, we are currently under renovations which are due to be completed by the beginning of March and with them we will be changing and update a lot of our features throughout the hotel. Our fitness room will be getting all new equipment as well as a facelift. Our restaurant will be getting completely redone and will offer both breakfast and dinner every day when it re-opens. The buffet will be replaced with many options that are sure to please every guest. In regards to the pool, we have been working with our pool company to try an increase the temperature of our pool water so that guests can enjoy it year round no matter the temperature outside. I do apologize for the fact that the water was cold while you are here, but it is something that we are checking every day and making adjustments when needed. Please do come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A block from the harbor, near lots of shops and the like. Self parking only, which makes parking a tad cheaper at 23 bucks a night. Amenities lacking compared to other Marriots in the area. For that reason I felt the price was a little high. Its an older building as well, but quiet and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here off of Marriott points for a friend's birthday. i travel frequently to Baltimore for work and usually stay at the Marriott Waterfront or Renaissance Harborplace, but they were both sold out. The Courtyard was good, but not great. It is not as big or update as the other hotels in the area, but is a good value for the price. Rooms were spacious and the front desk was nice. There was an issue at first that our room did not have a roll away as requested, so they moved us to a bigger room that would accommodate a roll away bed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We tend to stay at marriotts where ever possible. This hotel is in a great location that was close to everything, shops, restaurants and the inner harbor. The staff was wonderful, helpful and very friendly . The rooms were clean and nice but I have I have to say the hotel could use a bit of an upgrade.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYHOTELMGR, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you found our staff both friendly and helpful and at the same time that the rooms were clean and nice. We try our best everyday to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay at our hotel. I also agree with you in regards to our location being wonderful. Our guests have easy access to numerous attraction around the city as well as restaurants and shopping. We are about to go through a renovation this winter during which our rooms will be updated and our lobby and restaurant areas will be converted to the Courtyard Bistro, so please come back again so you can see these exciting changes. They should be completed by early March 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor

Address: 1000 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#28 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Inner Harbor hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This hotel near downtown Baltimore is also conveniently located near the National Aquarium and one and a half miles from the Baltimore Convention Center. We offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Your stay at Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Courtyard
Baltimore Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore Downtown / Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.