We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but don't drink the .....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltimore Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baltimore Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Little Italy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel but don't drink the .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Baltimore and the inner harbor, and we picked the perfect hotel. *
The tone was set when we got a free upgrade to an inner harbor view from the 20th floor. All we did was politely ask. Impressive.
The room was spacious, clean, and of course had a 24/7 incredible view. The bathroom had everything we needed, including nice travel size toiletries from Bath and Body Works. In fact I will be going to my local store to purchase more of the fragrance we had (orange ginger)!
The location was perfect - with a great path which ambled along to anywhere you wanted to go in the inner harbor. We saw many people jogging, walking their dogs, just strolling. Nice.
The parking garage was easy to get too, and worth the extra charge. It is extremely well lighted and I never felt unsafe walking around in it.
Why 4 instead of 5 stars ? You can add and subtract as you wish on this comment. We went to the restaurant in the hotel for breakfast one morning. We were suspicious because it seemed so empty. It was expensive, yes...
* but you have to ask yourself this question, is coffee important to you? If yes, then stay away from this restaurant. The coffee was heinous . Worst coffee ever. It was served in a carafe, and the after taste was so strong that I couldn't even tell you how the food was!
We will stick with the in-room Keurig coffee maker until this can be fixed! We will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    459
    123
    40
    32
See reviews for
218
261
63
502
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel rates 5 stars for its hospitality alone! Everything about this hotel is great, from the warm welcome at arrival to the harbor view rooms to the wonderful Concierge Lounge. These people have been trained in the finer points of hospitality, and the management fully understands that it is the little, no-cost or low-cost things that make a guest’s stay memorable.

First, the doorman/bellhop runs to the taxi to take your luggage and rolls it all the way to the front desk – without you even having to ask them to do it and before you’ve even descended from the car. There is a basket of wet towels at the bellhop stand if you need to quickly refresh after your trip to the hotel. Next, the well-staffed front desk was all smiles, warm & welcoming. When we booked (using Marriott points), we were asked to pay an extra $50 for a harbor view room. The front desk said that they would automatically upgrade us anyway to a harbor view room and said they would take the $50 off our room charges. Our harbor view room, 2717, was fabulous. We stayed here 5 years ago, and noticed during this latest stay that the hotel does not show any signs of wear & tear. It was impeccable then, and it is impeccable now – no bumps, no scratches, no fading, no tatters.

Room 2717 has double beds, desk, TV on chest of drawers, reading chair, large foyer with bar area/coffee & tea maker, large closet. The bathroom is standard, but well-maintained. Above all, there was no mold in the grout! (Mold in grout is becoming very commonplace in hotels).

Housekeeping makes swans, doves and peacocks out of towels. Very thoughtful. Yes, it is the little things that count! After the first day of work, we came back to the room to find towels folded into a peacock on one of the beds. The next day, there were two swans, face to face in the shape of a heart, with a signed thank you card for being a Marriott guest. Thank YOU, Gladys (housekeeping) and Marriott Waterfront, for caring so much about your guests!

The Concierge Lounge is one of the loveliest and friendliest we have ever been in. Most lounges are professional, cordial, but nothing more. These folks are warm, bubbling, and willing to bend over backwards to make you happy. You are welcomed when you walk in, given all the service & attention you need while you are there, and given a friendly send-off when you leave. Wednesday evenings in the Lounge is Manager’s Evening, when the managers mingle with the guests and drinks are on-the-house. What a special touch! What thoughtful hospitality! Thursday mornings there is a special station set up for made-to-order omelets. (We hadn’t ever seen that in a concierge lounge). It never got boring here since there were new things all the time. Both the breakfast and the evening appetizer buffets were very nice and of good quality. The very large & spacious lounge is on the 31st floor with marvelous views of the harbor and the city.

The downstairs lobby bar and sitting area is one of the largest and nicest we have seen in any Marriott here or abroad. It is elegantly decorated with lots of comfortable sofas & chairs.

What a wonderful stay we had. We come to Baltimore every year for a Conference & have stayed several times at the Holiday Inn, Marriott Inner Harbor, Courtyard, and this Marriott Waterfront. The Marriott Waterfront is by far the best, not only for its exceptional service and lovely rooms, but also for its proximity to fine restaurants, such as the marvelous Charleston and Cinghiale, both run by Chef Cindy Wolf and Sommelier Tony Foreman. It’s a bit of a walk to the Convention Center, but we very much enjoy the exercise. For those who don’t care to walk, there is a free bus service offered by the city of Baltimore. The bus stop is ½ block away.

This is an exemplary Marriott that should serve as a training center in the fine art of hospitality for all Marriott employees worldwide.

Room Tip: Harbor View Rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott for Preakness. It is close to all sights. Most of them walking distance. Great! The only small downside ist the Fitnesscenter which is a little outdated. But you could go jogging - thats a must. It is so beautiful there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice, quiet place to stay on the waterfront. Clean hotel and friendly staff. Lots of places to eat close by. The hotel restaurant was a little pricey. Reasonably priced for the location. Movie Theater and shops within walking distance.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a waterfront view, if that is what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for a weekend for the Preakness.
Throughout the stay , the hotel staff were excellent in warmth and responsiveness.
In the past we have stayed at the nearby Renaissance, but this hotel was outstanding..

Room Tip: The waterfront views were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. There are many restaurants, bars & wonderful boutiques all within walking distance. As I walked through the grand lobby of this hotel I knew that my stay here was going to be special. I was here for a sales conference for work, which also happened to fall on the days preceding The Preakness, which meant the hotel was super busy. That being said the hotel staff were all very professional & courteous beyond belief. The check in process was a breeze. My room was wonderful, very comfortable & clean with plenty of room. I had a great view of the harbor. During our 2 day stay our breakfast & lunches were catered by Marriott and the meals were very satisfying. We had a special meet & greet reception the first night which featured many delightful appetizers including crab cakes which were awesome. I must admit to being a Marriott rewards member and somewhat partial to Marriott properties, but this truly is a wondeful hotel value. The location is worth the price alone. I will be coming back to stay at this property very soon.

Room Tip: Just simple ask for a rrom with a view of the harbor when checking in and you won't be dissapoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just a few blocks away from Fells Point and many restaurant options, this property is slightly tucked away but still close to it all. Camden Yards is a long walk/short cab, as our most other Inner Harbor sites. Hotel is average as far as Marriott properties go but location and corner, harbor view rooms set it apart.

Room Tip: Corner, harbor-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltimore Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Marriott Waterfront

Address: 700 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#16 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baltimore Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neatly nestled along the scenic water's edge of the Inner Harbor, Baltimore Marriott Waterfront welcomes guests with breathtaking harbor and downtown views, luxury accommodations and exceptional service for a relaxed stay in Baltimore, MD. Putting guests near the many cultural, shopping and entertainment options of the Harbor East neighborhood and the city's downtown, our hotel features spacious accommodations with a variety of guest rooms and suites to meet the needs of today's travelers. Whether exploring the area on foot or via water taxi, nearby attractions include the National Aquarium, Baltimore Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, the Ravens' M&T Bank Stadium and more. Boasting 80,000 square feet of high-tech meeting space, dedicated event managers and inspiring event menus complemented by white-glove synchronized banquet services, our hotel is a premier destination for hosting exceptional events in downtown Baltimore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baltimore Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel Baltimore
Marriott Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltimore Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.