We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a weekend wedding stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltimore Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baltimore Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Little Italy)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Buffalo
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a weekend wedding stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed at this Marriott while in Baltimore for a wedding held at the George Peabody library. I can't comment on the pricing, as we booked a room from a block rate (though friends of ours were able to get an even lower rate through Hotwire), but overall the hotel was satisfactory.

The hotel lobby/lounge area is very nice and the staff pleasant. Our room was clean and had a nice view—request a high floor when booking and you'll have a better chance of getting upgraded to a harbor view room. We booked a standard room and ended up on the 27th floor overlooking the Inner Harbor.

The bathroom is quite small, you have to maneuver around to get the door closed. Having two people in the bathroom is a VERY tight squeeze unless someone is in the shower. But all in all, manageable. We had a small refrigerator (which was a nice plus) and a safe in the room. In addition, there is a pretty large closet.

As a side note, we dined at the hotel restaurant for breakfast and had the breakfast buffet, which included made to order omelets, sausage, bacon, apple filled pancakes, a variety of fruit/yogurt/granola, bagels, oatmeal, etc. You're best off doing the buffet because by the time you order a menu item and a juice or coffee, you've surpassed the price of the buffet.

I would recommend this hotel to others. There are plenty of restaurants and things to do within walking distance, especially for those who do not have a car during their trip. I do know that valet services can tack on quite a bit to your overall bill, so that is something to be aware of.

Room Tip: High floor (even if you book a standard room you may end up with a harbor view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    444
    117
    39
    31
See reviews for
212
249
63
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is in an impressive location downtown and you get to enjoy a beautiful view from your room - especially if you get to stay in one of the higher floors. But us this worth the nightly rate they are charging? I think not. I found the rooms to be relatively small sized and crowded. The same with the bathroom. Insufficient bedside lighting and missing bedside tables. rooms were cleaned every day - eventually...

As for the bars and restaurants, everything is ridiculously overpriced. Happy hour drinks are served at a happy hour quantity as well. Serving personnel at the bar and restaurants unsmiling and unwelcoming. Overall not a very nice atmosphere to be in...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the best hotel I have stayed at in Baltimore (although I haven't stayed at Four Seasons yet). Got upgraded for being a gold member--room was beautiful with panoramic views of the harbor. Since the concierge lounge isn't open on the weekend, they gave us breakfast vouchers each worth $15 that could be used for room service, restaurant or their "to go" convenience shop. The location is super--you can walk to tons of restaurants, the movie theater, bars and there is much more a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsgbhalf
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location, both the views and proximity are great.

Rooms are spacious, beds meet Marriott normal standards.

I had a bit of trouble with getting hot water in shower but manageable. Did not appreciate the 4a.m. whine/vibration from the heating ductwork.

At $400/ night, expected a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed two nights here and had a comfortable stay. The lobby was especially nice, with lots of fresh flowers and a fire in the fireplace surrounded by couches. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, the TV big, spa shower newly renovated and hot... it's not going to win any awards for personality (it is marriott, after all) but it's going to give you exactly what you'd expect from a nice new hotel. Right in the heart of downtown, too.

There's an indoor pool and sauna, but no hot tub.

Be warned, parking is like $40 a night, we found a garage two blocks away for $13 a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It's right in the Inner Harbor area, and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and attractions. The great locations means a high price tag though.

The lobby is stunning! We arrived a few days after Christmas and it was beautifully decorated with a large tree in the center of the lobby. They also had an immaculate gingerbread house/candy display in the breakfast area -- it was beautiful.

Check in was easy. We got our room right away, despite arriving at 10am, much much earlier than normal check in. Also, as a Marriott elite, upon check in, I got to draw a free gift out of a bag -- I got extra reward points -- nice!

The room was okay. I expected better for the price tag of this hotel. It seemed very basic. But it was spotless and the view was to-die-for!

What I didn't like:
Expensive breakfast buffet. Now, I know most of the upper tier Marriott properties do not offer free breakfast, but ugh. I love me some Marriott waffles, so I was a little sad that I couldn't do a DIY breakfast during our stay. But that's okay, there are plenty of other great restaurants in the area. But I did check out the buffet. Oh my. It looked sad. Don't eat here, go to a real restaurant.

No free wifi! This is 2013. How much longer can these hotels get away with this?! Oh wait, I know! Because this is considered one of Marriott's top tier hotels (and thus, used frequently by business travelers), they can charge for this because the main demographic of their guests is paying via company expense account. No biggie though -- there's always 3G/4G.

TEENS TEENS TEENS: Apparently, this is a choice hotel for school trips/conferences because teenagers were running amok around this hotel. Very loud, very annoying.

HVAC system in the room: The A/C kept turning on. We had maintenance come up twice to look at it and no one could figure out what was wrong.

Bottom line, the location can't be beat, and if you're here to explore the inner harbor area, I recommend this place. Granted, the Four Seasons next door is probably better if you're looking for luxury, but really, this isn't bad either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place is nice. It's not a luxury hotel, but the bed is a luxury hotel style bed - pillow top, super comfy, super soft sheets. But, the down-free pillows were terrible - really mealy and mushy. If we stay here again, I'm bringing my own towels. The rest of the room is just okay, the bathroom is fine but the shower/tub is just a plastic fitted tub with a cheap shower and curtain. The view over the harbor was really stunning and beautiful. We didn't eat breakfast there, as it's $24.95 for the buffet and it really didn't look good. A quick 3 minute walk to Panera Bread was great. Also, we realized later there's a nice looking Delicatessen on the inner harbor, I think we will go there for breakfast next time. The thing that kind of ruined our peaceful weekend stay was that the previous occupant of the room had the clock radio alarm set for 6:45 AM. Argh! Can you imagine, after having a nice meal out on the water on Saturday night, then to wakt up at 6:45 with a blaring alarm? It would be a good idea to remind the housekeeping staff to check that and turn it off between guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltimore Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Marriott Waterfront

Address: 700 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#14 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baltimore Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neatly nestled along the scenic water's edge of the Inner Harbor, Baltimore Marriott Waterfront welcomes guests with breathtaking harbor and downtown views, luxury accommodations and exceptional service for a relaxed stay in Baltimore, MD. Putting guests near the many cultural, shopping and entertainment options of the Harbor East neighborhood and the city's downtown, our hotel features spacious accommodations with a variety of guest rooms and suites to meet the needs of today's travelers. Whether exploring the area on foot or via water taxi, nearby attractions include the National Aquarium, Baltimore Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, the Ravens' M&T Bank Stadium and more. Boasting 80,000 square feet of high-tech meeting space, dedicated event managers and inspiring event menus complemented by white-glove synchronized banquet services, our hotel is a premier destination for hosting exceptional events in downtown Baltimore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baltimore Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel Baltimore
Marriott Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltimore Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.