We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is just no other way to put it........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at The Black Olive

Save Saved
You added Inn at The Black Olive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wedding Blocks/ JHU disc
Ranked #3 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fallston, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“There is just no other way to put it........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place is phenomenal - from the awesome personal service from Dimitris to the kind people at the front desk, everyone makes you feel like family. I stayed there a few weeks ago and the beds are just to die for and the PILLOWS omg awesome. I am extremely picky about where i stay, i always do my "bed bug check" and overall cleanliness and this place get a A+ in my book.

only negative thing would be the internet was a little slow.....but the super clear direct TV is top notch and makes up for it. I have never stayed at a hotel with a abundance of channels like you get here!!!

You must try the tub, if you dont your really missing out. Also the shower is SO BIG you could have a party in there ha ha.

Great job Black Olive!!!! I will be back!

RS

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    25
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
128
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed summer last year but I wanted to review now because it was a truly unique experience.

I think this hotel stands for things I am passionate about: outstanding service, family values (not corporate greed!), amazing food, care for the environment.

I don't know the owing family, but I asked for the cab driver for the story behind such an unique hotel. During my stay, I was able to feel their generosity, care, over-deliver attitude.

I am from Spain and it felt to me like Southern European warmth, with outstanding american services!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, ma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Inn at the Black Olive. There were some very lovely and unique aspects to the hotel but there are also areas for improvement. We stayed in a suite on the second floor. It was very spacious and well appointed. The beds were comfortable. The motion detector lights were a little annoying as they kept going off when we didn't really want them too i.e. reading in bed, or stayed on i.e. hallway outside bedroom while we trying to sleep. Another funny quirk, if you needed the temperature adjusted, you needed to contact the front desk and they change it from the computer. There was a staff member available 24 hours.

It was also very quiet both in location and from other guest rooms. We did not hear any other guests and slept well. The hotel is a little isolated although it is a very short walk to dining and shopping. It appears the whole area seems to be changing.

We ate in the rooftop restaurant one night and the food was good. The view even better along with the relaxing and appealing atmosphere of the dining room . The service very attentive but the menu a little lacking. Choices did not really seem greek - which it claimed to be and they were out of several of the items even though there were only a couple of other diners. A better option may be to have drinks at the bar/balcony and eat somewhere else.

They did not seem to be very knowledgeable about the area but were eager to help us find out what we needed to know. The front desk staff was always friendly but seemed to get overwhelmed when more than one guest needed help.

The "store/restaurant" on the first floor of the Inn was closed most of the time were there. We did attempt to get breakfast here one morning but even at 7 am they did not seem prepared to serve us. We had some lukewarm eggs and toast that took quite a long time to prepare.

The free wifi and complimentary water and wine was a very lovely touch.

I would consider staying here again but would also be open to looking at something else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed one nite at the Inn at the Black Olive while visiting colleges with my daughter. The staff couldn't have been any nicer and accommodating. Room was a suite that was nicely decorated with local flavor/artwork and had an old feel to it though the bld was relatively new. The whole property had an " eco feel" to it and loved the concrete bathroom sinks. Room size was large and we felt like we were staying at a friends apt. We had dinner at their rooftop restaurant and the food was excellent and atmosphere very relaxing. Location was quiet yet a short walk to Fells Point main area. I'd highly recommend it and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Joe493,
First, I wanted to thank you for your feedback. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going. This also includes forming the personal relationships with guests to provide a service that is different than all the "box" hotels. Our passion and determination comes from the heart. The payment comes from the warm feeling of making a guest delighted with Baltimore, with Fell's Point, and with our brand of real hospitality. We treat our Trip Advisor reviews as a management directive. We strive to bring a smile to every guest and connect with them to facilitate their agenda during their stay in our wonderful hotel and City! Thanks for all of your details but most importantly thanks for noticing the incredible poured concrete sink made locally by a company called Lukeworks. Mark Melonis, a fellow passionate member of the sustainable community here in Baltimore is producing some of the most amazing custom concrete and Bamboo furniture and poured concrete countertops. Please visit his site to find out more about his incredible work (www.lukeworks.com).

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family stayed at Inn at The Black Olive for one night in August. It wasn't my first choice, but during a very busy weekend, it seemed to be the only available option for us. We received very friendly service during check-in. We were escorted to our room by the front desk clerk and bellman. They made sure to explain everything in the room including the free Netflix, Wi-Fi, and thermostat. The complimentary bottle of wine was a wonderful addition.
The room was huge and sparsely, yet adequately furnished. However, I would prefer a TV in the bedroom. My only real complaint was the lack of attention to detail on the upkeep. There was something weird going on in the bathroom...a missing or broken tile on the side of the bathtub left a large gaping and very unattractive hole. There was also something splattered across the wall by the sink in the mini kitchen area. If not for these minor issues, I would have rated it as Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Love2Travel1616,
First, I wanted to thank you for your feedback. Your constructive criticisms are what make us improve and continue to delight our guests. Our first review ever was a 1 star review. I firmly believe that this was the best thing that ever happened to us.
Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going. This also includes forming the personal relationships with guests to provide a service that is different than all the "box" hotels. Our passion and determination comes from the heart. Our entire family which extends to the entire staff of the building takes great pride in their collective work. We take our Trip Advisor reviews as a management directive. When we encounter a problem identified by a guest, fixing it becomes our number one priority.
We are working diligently to replace the custom limestone access panel that was damaged in your room and lime-wash the walls to remove the stain.
If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz,NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Inn at the Black Olive is a boutique hotel that offers a unique overnight experience. Visit their website to learn more details about the environmentally-conscious construction and amenities offered but I'll offer my personal experience. The Inn is on a side-street between the busy Inner Harbor and the lively Fell's Point neighborhoods. It is in a mixed residential and business area that has seen lots of renovation and modern construction over the past few years. You stay in a suite which consists of large rooms tastefully and comfortably decorated. The living area has a kitchenette with a refrigerator (stocked with mineral water and complementary wine), sink, small table with 2 chairs, and coffee maker. There is a large living room area with a comfortable couch and large screen television. The bedroom has a super comfortable king sized bed with the softest organic cotton bedding you can imagine. There are balconies off of the living room and bedroom. The bathroom has a fabulous shower and a fantastic double sized whirlpool bathtub complete with bath salts and body oil. There are plenty of large soft towels and bathrobes to add to the experience. The toiletries are organic and wonderful. I loved everything about it - it was super relaxing and comfortable. There are two restaurants associated with the hotel, neither of which we ate in, but will next time we visit. We did have a snack/lunch in their storefront market/cafe which was great. The rooftop dining room had a nice view and looked very pretty. Breakfast can be ordered as room service and was very good. We had a wonderful stay and I do think the hotel was able to achieve their goal of offering a healthy and totally relaxing experience. I have a few minor suggestions to offer but these things were not significant issues at all. The Seventh Generation facial tissues are far from soft, perhaps try Marcal or some other company that offers recycled products. It would be better if each suite could adjust their own thermostat although you offered to lower or raise it if we just called downstairs - the ac was adequate but the temperature wasn't steadily comfortable, sometimes got a little too hot before the ac came on. It would have been nice to have dimmer attachments for some of the lights - especially in the bathroom and hall outside the bedroom. I recommend one or two large plush reading chairs as well as the couch in the living room area - it was too bare for me. The breakfast was very good but the Mediterranean platter of pita with four listed spreads was a little sparse for $15 - it only came with two spreads and not that much pita. The coffee, wine and bathroom toiletries were super products.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wow. An electic Fells Point Inn offering the finest in decor, service, concierge accomodations. Amazing location within walking distance to Pier 6 and Bond Street Wharf festivities.This is 5/5 Star Inn. Parking next door was only $13.00 per night (very cheap for the area). Lovely spa bath and shower. State of the art ECO Inn. Will return again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with 2 king beds (separate) and nice for family with two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Tinwoman,
Your review is much appreciated. Thanks for pointing out the parking option that we have available. Although we are happy to have curb side pull up and valet services, we are very conveniently located next to the least expensive parking garage in the city. We encourage our guests to self park to find the best value. We do not take your perfect rating lightly. We read and value every piece of feedback from our guests as we know you are the key to our success. We enjoy very much the opportunity to meet such incredible and diverse people in our profession. We take great pride in this city and the great neighborhood of Fell's Point where we reside.
If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Superbowl champion city ;)!
Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Address: 803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the room service meals, Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*Organic beverage and room service available from 7am-10pm from one of our award winning restaurants*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at The Black Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.