We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little bit of heaven in Fells Point, Baltimore"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at The Black Olive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at The Black Olive to your Saves list
Inn at The Black Olive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"A little bit of heaven in Fells Point, Baltimore"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful two night stay at the Inn at the Black Olive. I was traveling with my daughter looking at colleges & found out about the Inn on Trip Advisor. After an absolutely exhausting drive in heavy rain, lots of traffic...6 hours in the car...no one was happier than the two of us to arrive at the Inn. Joseph was warm & welcoming & when he showed us our room..we were giggling with delight! Soothing colors on the walls along with the warmth of oriental carpets, paintings by local artists & beds with brilliant white sheets...What more could you ask for?? Well...the complimentary bottle of amazing wine (I just searched for & bought a case of it here in CT!) hit the spot & we were reassured that our reservation at the Black Olive restaurant was held even though we were hours late. The attention to our comfort & experience continued at dinner where we were delighted by the delicious food - hummus/amazing!!, grilled octopus/amazing!!, etc....We were greeted by the owner of the restaurant - Stelios - & he was charming, attentive & gracious. Just as we were about to leave, it started pouring and Dimitris the son of Stelios and owner of restaurant & Inn, escorted my daughter & I back to the Inn with an umbrella!!! He told us about his family history of hospitality & hotel/restaurant ownership in Greece & how this venture in Baltimore is a dream come true for his family. His passion in those few minutes was palpable & we were so grateful for the chance to meet him.
The room was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean & very comfortable. The bed was amazingly
comfortable, internet worked beautifully & the air quality in the room was also perfect - no smells of food or of anything from outside (and the street is a busy city street). I can't say enough about Joseph & Dimitris & their beautiful smiles, welcoming personalities & attention to us as guests. I HIGHLY recommend the Inn at the Black Olive...if in Baltimore again, it is the only place I would stay. Thank you for a truly lovely experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    30
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
143
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Just had a quick stay at the Inn at the Black Olive. What a truly wonderful hotel. We have travelled to Baltimore quite frequently this past year and have stayed at several different hotels. Granted, I seek and appreciate unique and different places and if you enjoy the same, this is a great option. The bed was amazing. The room was huge. Wifi is free. I would suggest parking in the garage next door as opposed to valet. Cannot say enough nice things about this property and plan to return on our next visit this fall.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear KSP-HHI,
First, I wanted to thank you for your feedback. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going. This also includes forming the personal relationships with guests to provide a service that is different than all the "box" hotels. Our passion and determination comes from the heart. Our entire family which extends to the entire staff of the building takes great pride in their collective work. We take our Trip Advisor reviews as a management directive. We strive to bring a smile to every guest and connect with them to facilitate their agenda during their stay in our wonderful hotel and City! We humbly strive to continue to earn our top ranking and value your feedback tremendously!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

With employees like AJ and Amed and an owner Dimitri who cooks, answers the front desk and even serves in his own resturant you will have a great time and be in a fantastic location , short walks to Fells point, Harbor east, and the inner harbor. The hotel was built with your personal comfort in mind, it's quiet, large rooms and the views are fantastic. When was the last time someone said when asked a question " I will take care of that for you, we do everything here". We will definitely return soon.
The Lindsay,s

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
First let me apologize for the delay in response. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Inn at the Black Olive. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay; I will share them with the staff which you would be glad to hear that AJ and Ahmed are both currently still employed here. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Whenever you visit Baltimore please come and see us. We look forward to having you again.

Yours in Wellness and Therapy,

Dimitris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Inn at The Black Olive. We selected the hotel because it was listed as #1 on Trip Advisor and we like boutique hotels. The service was top notch and we found the staff quite helpful. For example, when we arrived at the hotel for check-in, one of the staff members came outside to help us with our luggage. Another example of their stellar customer service was when they called a restaurant that was no longer taking reservations for us and secured a table on a crowed Saturday.

The hotel is not a typical luxury hotel that you may find at a Ritz or a Waldorf per se, but our room was spacious, clean and offered many amenities not necessarily offered at other top tier luxury brands. For example, the complimentary bottle of wine and unlimited access to Netflix and their HD satellite are a plus. Relaxing on the balcony overlooking the city and harbor is remarkable. Not to mention their two person whirlpool bathtub and separate stand alone glass shower are a nice way to spend a romantic getaway with your significant other.

Overall, staying at the Inn at The Black Olive will make you feel like royalty in the way they roll out the red carpet for you. I recommend checking it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at the hotel and also had dinner at the restaurant. Let me start by writing that from the moment I called to make a reservation, to then make changes to it before my stay, to the one night stay and to the time at the restaurant, we experienced a class act operation. The hotel room was impecable, very spacious, comfortable and tranquil. The food at the restaurant was AMAZING! I had the Bronzini fish and my boyfriend had the Dorade Royale. While we were there we were treated like VIPs. The owners introduced themselves to us and even had some very pleasant conversation. I most definetly recommend both the hotel and restaurant. We are looking forward to our next visit in June!
Ileana

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'd give a higher rating than excellent if I could. My stay at the Inn at the Black Olive is, hands down, my life-time favorite hotel and restaurant experience. With the little bit I'd read before I arrived, I was determined to see what the promise of "unique experience" really looked like. Walking into the foyer, I was greeted by a friendly host who welcomed me to Baltimore, asked about my stay, shared his knowledge of the local area and asked if I was thirsty or needed anything for my stay. (What??? I grew up in the South and this is how people treat each other in our homes!). Next, this same nice man, Joe, helped me upstairs with my bags and took his time showing me around my room. And this is a necessity for two reasons...1. the "room" is a suite - and mine was huge. I could easily live in a space this large and have room to spare. and 2. (and this is the best part) The "uniqueness of this experience began with its construction. It is a genuine work of art from the ground up. Joe explained to me the details of the room, showing me the walls of crushed limestone and the bathroom walls that were polished with a natural olive oil rub to protect them from the moisture...the amazing walk-in shower with geo-thermal heated water and a rainfall shower head. It was all I could do to pay attention because I was getting lost in the enormity of the room and staring at a tub, the likes of which I'd never seen and wondering what I was about to learn about it. Before he got to that, I got to feel the organic, luxurious (wasn't sure you could put those two words together- but here you can ) towels and comfy robes there just for me (What? Am I a princess?) and then I learned about the magic of the sanijet tub. You gotta look it up yourself. Incredible. I could go on and on... the most comfortable bed EVER (the Westin Heavenly takes a backseat) and to top it off a complimentary bottle of wine. When Joe left, I stood there for a minute, listening to the fresh clean air coming through the vents into this room that might as well have been on another planet because it was the first of its kind I'd seen and I'm a frequent traveler. It took me a few minutes to adjust. Three words I'd use to describe my stay: Hospitable, Educational, Transformational. The entire staff is masterful at creating an experience of top-rate customer service. Not only would I stay here again, I would recommend this for people looking to travel to Baltimore specifically and even for people who live in Baltimore looking for a quick in-town get-a-away. The whole experience was dreamy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice. Our most recent stay was two weeks ago. We go there when we want a one night getaway that's close by. We were initially drawn to this hotel because of it's location. It's not terribly out of the way from where we live and it is in Fell's Point which is our favorite part of Baltimore City. When we checked in the staff were the friendliest and most attentive we have ever experienced in a hotel, they really make you feel welcomed and important. When we saw our room for the first time it was far more than we expected. The suite was large and looked amazing. There was a rustic yet also modern elegance about it. The walls were beautiful and hanging on them was beautiful artwork that you can buy if you would like. The main room had the sofa, TV, table and sink/microwave area and the fridge, which contained a lovely bottle of COMPLEMENTARY wine. The next room was the bedroom which had THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT ON! I would seriously check into that hotel just to take a nap on that bed. The bathroom had a large, Jacuzzi tub and there were bath salts and bubble bath to use and plenty of towels, you only get one bath robe though but I'm sure you could ask for another. The bathroom also had a large glassed in shower and even a black face towel labeled makeup. The hotel also offered complementary breakfast, delivered to your room at the time you choose. When you check in and they show you to your room they give you a menu and you choose what you would like and then you select a time for it to arrive in your room. The hotel also provides room service from The Black Olive restaurant which is directly around the corner. We have never gotten room service from there but we have eaten there and the food is amazing. This hotel, aside from being luxurious is also very environmentally friendly. Everything is made from raw, organic materials from the limestone walls, to the bed, mattress, pillows and bedding. The lights are energy efficient and turn off when you go from room to room and the owners take part in fair trade which is where most of, if not all of what you enjoy in the hotel comes from. The last time we stayed we met one of the owners who was kind enough to introduce himself, bring us our valet parked car and even gave us a brochure when we asked about where the fabulous beds came from. This is by far our absolute favorite hotel and we look forward to many more stays there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Address: 803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the room service meals, Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*Organic beverage and room service available from 7am-10pm from one of our award winning restaurants*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at The Black Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.