We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is truly a piece of Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at The Black Olive

Save Saved
You added Inn at The Black Olive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wedding Blocks/ JHU disc
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is truly a piece of Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all let me start off by saying GOD(Allah, Yahweh, The Lord, King of Kings, thee one and only Source, The Master of the Universe! Whatever you want to call the creator. I feel like my God personally favor me when he revealed to me that there is a place not far from you located right on south Carolina St. located in Baltimore Md. in Fells Point that you can go relax and feel comfortable about everything that Awesome Hospitality has to offer! From making reservations on the phone, to great food, to Terrific customer service, and exquisite food! You probably can read this and feel the exciting energy that's coming out of my mouth as I type the words describing this piece of Heaven on earth! My husband and I decided to find out what the Black Olive was like after hearing about it from some people we met at the water taxi spot. So as the couple was talking about it, I pulled out my iPhone and went to the Black Olive Inn website to find out what was so different about this particular hotel because believe you me my husband and I have stayed in what we thought was some of the finer hotels or Inns all over the place. So just to let you guys know I'm experiencing a challenge that land me in a wheelchair temporarily but I'm still on the go! Now mind you I am a resident of Baltimore near the Inner Harbor but the condo I live in does not have a patio or a jacuzzi tub so during my healing time my doctor suggested that I get out and get some sun everyday, try to take a salt bath everyday or almost everyday, and water my spiritual garden (pray at least 5 times a day) she also suggested an organic diet which I was already doing. So as I was comprehending all of this good stuff about the history of this family based business called the black olive I noticed the sun was shining a lit'l brighter on us and a big smile came upon my face :-) I was so anxious to see this place that I saw on the Internet that had everything I prayed for but was a lit'l discouraged on the other hand cause I know that when businesses advertise they tend to stretch the truth so since I thought in my mind this could be a gift from God my husband and I went about 5 blocks up from one of the taxi spot to find the Black Olive and first of all they were wheel chair accessible so I felt real good about that and then we entered in on the 1st floor. We get to the front desk and a young lady with a beautiful smile greets us and introduce herself as Beonka so I asked about thee jacuzzi tubs, patios, rates, and other questions that I needed to verify. This young lady suggested that we see for ourselves she then took us to one of the rooms and I started to tear up! It was all true what they had on the website about the limestone walls, olive oil coatings in the bathroom, Persian rugs, pipe less aqua therapy jacuzzi tubs, coolant/heating system ! The organic mattress,robes, sheets, washcloths, towers, spacious hallways, clear fresh drinking water! The whole environment is organic, not to mention the whole entire building! My husband and I felt very blessed to have found this spot! We then made a reservation over the phone to do a Sunday night to try the Jacuzzi tub out. We spoke to a young man named Chris who is a manager there and he informed me that I should try Expedia for another rate that will probably be less. I then went on the Expedia website and it was the regular rate so I then called the Black Olive back and spoke to Chris again and told him what happen and he apologized wholeheartedly and suggested that he will honor the rate that Expedia would have recommended! I and my husband was very grateful! So we get there Sunday afternoon and arrive 2 hours early so we can hit the organic market. We had been notified by AJ(front desk), that the market was closed so my husband and I figured we'll just go in the morning, however we were still looking to see what they had and there was what we thought was a kid in the market asking us would we like to come in and take a look, of course we said yes! This young man then introduced himself as the owner! Hahaha, I'm laughing because it was so hard to believe he was in his 40's! Anyway, we decided to go up to the rooftop for Sunday brunch and we were immediately helped by a nice young man who escorted us to a table inside with an amazing view of the Inner Harbor! We also met a nice young man by the name of Justin! We felt like we were in a different world at this point! Real talk y'all! I forgot to mention before we went to have brunch, AJ (front desk) secured our bags until we after we ate and carried the bags to our room for us! (Awesome Customer Service) We then looked around and a complimentary bottle of organic wine was chilling in the fridge along with a real bottle ( not plastic bottle)water. The best tasting water I've had since my mom use to boil my water when I was a kid. I was then very excited to try the aqua therapy jacuzzi tub, so my husband assisted me in the tub and was able to get in with me because the tub is built for two! It felt amazing while in there and it was still feeling good afterwards! We then put our robes on that they provide for you and I did not want to take it off! We then tried laying in the organic bed. It felt like I was literally laying on a cloud! I literally didn't get up until sunrise which you can see from the patio in the bedroom. Just to let you guys know I had nothing but peace and sweet dreams that when my husband and I got up we had to stay another night! To be honest we felt like we were in another world! We were so happy to have been blessed to have had thee black Olive experience! If you guys want it all and know that you deserve thee Black Olive experience then go ahead and treat yourself to a piece of Heaven on earth! Thank You

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    25
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
47
132
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros:
Suite has very large rooms and jaccuzi type tub in bathroom.
Good Wifi
Cons
Location not ideal,free parking a bit problematic but there is a parking facility next door.
Motion activated lights in room is a nuisance.
Pervasive food odorresumably from top floor restaurant.
Expensive for what it is
Floor in room looks dirty although many carpets try to mask it.
Stains on walls,the place needs freshening up

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Let's start this review with a solid 5 star rating.

As a seasoned business traveler, I have grown accustomed to your standard upscale Hilton properties and the various amenities they offer. So if that's what you are looking for, this will be a shock to your system. This is nothing like the Hilton.

The rooms are very large. The floors are stained cement. The walls are made from various materials and painted in complementary colors. There is a very BIG environmental GREEN statement being made in the room. Organic everything. Motion sensors to turn off lights. Only one TV in the sitting room (personally I would add a TV in the bedroom).

Paintings by local artists are used to decorate .... And those paintings are available for sale. High end Egyptian rugs are placed throughout the rooms. The shower was big enough for five ... So bring friends. Everything is very nice, just different.

The hotel's staff was first class. From the minute I spoke with Joseph, making my reservation, I was dealing with a caring person. The guys at the front desk were great. The hotels manager, the son of he owner, was very accommodating when it to my request for a late checkout. I can't say enough good things about the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear pilotsfeelfree1,
I wanted to take the time to express how particularly honored we are to have received a coveted 5 star review from you. You are obviously very well traveled and have given many thoughtful reviews to businesses. It looks like your opinion is trusted by many. We are a small family hotel that has decided to put all of its effort into customer service and to build a facility that does our best to nurture our guests. Your review is better than any advertising. It is real. together with tripadvisor, we have taken the advertising dollars that we need to spend and given directly to you. We appreciate the time and effort it took to make such a detailed review.
If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have never experienced the level of customer serivice as I did at your hotel with the concierge at the front desk, Joseph. My boyfriend and I were there celebrating his birthday and Joseph went above and beyond to make sure we had a very special night and everything went perfectly! I truly don't think the night would have went as well as it did had it not been for Joseph and I really appreciate all that he did for us. We will definitely be returning to the hotel, restaraunt, and/or bar all due to the service we received when we were there on 04/15/2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sherry J,
I wanted to take a minute to thank you for your feedback about one of our wonderful people that make the Inn at the Black Olive so special. Our hotel team takes great personal pride in the experience that they are able to convey. It is one that is not only genuine, but one that has as a goal to create a sense of delight. Because we will do anything for our guests to be happy, we feel very good when we get feedback like yours. We are here to serve you, not as servants, but as artists of service. We have a lot of fun. We work as a team and strive to keep as much of a human element so that we can make your stay feel genuine. We are not a big box. Our team members, like Joe, bring a lot of personality and charm to the table.
If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is one of the best holiday experiences we have ever had. From the warm greeting at the front desk to the beautifully furnished room, it was a great experience from start to finish! The staff were first rate and we also had a delicious meal at the Black Olive restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 614Johnt614,
I just wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review of our hotel and the mention of our family's restaurant that is the heart of our hospitality. The Black Olive which is the culinary destination that inspired our hotel, has been serving the finest seafood in the area for over 16 years. We are very proud of our food traditions and enjoy very much to come into contact with wonderful people like you. We sure hope the rest of your trip went as well as it started. It gives us great joy to have been part of your good impression of Baltimore, our home!
We look forward to serving you on your next trip to the area. If we may be of any assistance for any travel in the future, don't hesitate to call. Our concierge is available 24 hours to assist with our customers needs.
Thanks again for helping us get the word out!

Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a nice hotel that is a close, easy walk to all the fun in Fells Point which is my favorite neighborhood in Baltimore. If you want to go to the Inner Harbor it is still a short drive or taxi ride from here. The inn strives to present an edgy, eco-friendly experience and the staff is proud to point out all the "green" features of the rooms. If you are in to that sort of thing you will be pleased with efforts they have made towards sustainability and environmental friendliness. My room (junior suite) was very spacious and comfortable and all of the appointments were sleek, modern and completely up-to-date. Nice bathroom. They also provide a good iPod sound dock and the beds are extremely comfortable. They provide a bottle of wine and spring water in the refrigerator which is also a nice touch, especially in this price range as you would never get that sort of treatment in any hotel that focuses on business travelers. There is also free wi-fi access for each room. The staff is very friendly and there is free, safe, on-street parking just outside the front door. Can't go wrong staying here if you want to focus on this side of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Curmudgey:
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated and is the only way for a small business to compete with the big chains. My family discovered the jewel of Baltimore 20 years ago and knew the charm and scale were perfect for our family's effort to build a boutique hotel to showcase our special brand of service.

Thanks, especially for letting people know that our hotel is a good place for business travelers. We worked hard to include everything that you may need to conduct your business in Baltimore. We feel a special responsibility as ambassadors of not only this fine city but of Fell's Point as well, one of our nations most historic seaports.

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a unique hotel. From the spacious luxurious rooms with such comfortable beds, to the delicious organic food, the Inn at the Black Olive is a little paradise. We celebrated a family wedding at the Inn, enjoying such high quality service from the unobtrusive staff. The top floor venue was perfect for an intimate gathering of about 60 people with the Baltimore sunset as the backdrop. Carefully chosen original artwork throughout the Inn added visual interest. I particularly enjoyed the beautiful large bathroom. Despite the freezing temperatures outside our rooms were comfortably and consistently warm.
Spending the weekend with our extended family at the Inn was memorable!

Room Tip: If you are bringing children ask for a room/suite with blackout curtains in both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ce0l:

It is the people like you that take the time to let people know about us that allows a little family business to compete with the chains. We are very proud that you have identified us as a "Little Paradise."
We thank you for pointing out some of the features of which we are extremely proud. The Building is not just an environmentally friendly building but an occupant friendly one. Our special walls built of Aerated Autoclaved Concrete combined with radiant heat are designed not only to save energy, but to improve thermal comfort! Our bathrooms are designed to give you your own personal spa. We hope you enjoyed the Sanijet pipeless aqua-therapy tub!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Address: 803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the room service meals, Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*Organic beverage and room service available from 7am-10pm from one of our award winning restaurants*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at The Black Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.