We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An entirely different type of hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at The Black Olive

Save Saved
You added Inn at The Black Olive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% OFF 5 NIGHTS OR MORE
Ranked #3 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An entirely different type of hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Let's start this review with a solid 5 star rating.

As a seasoned business traveler, I have grown accustomed to your standard upscale Hilton properties and the various amenities they offer. So if that's what you are looking for, this will be a shock to your system. This is nothing like the Hilton.

The rooms are very large. The floors are stained cement. The walls are made from various materials and painted in complementary colors. There is a very BIG environmental GREEN statement being made in the room. Organic everything. Motion sensors to turn off lights. Only one TV in the sitting room (personally I would add a TV in the bedroom).

Paintings by local artists are used to decorate .... And those paintings are available for sale. High end Egyptian rugs are placed throughout the rooms. The shower was big enough for five ... So bring friends. Everything is very nice, just different.

The hotel's staff was first class. From the minute I spoke with Joseph, making my reservation, I was dealing with a caring person. The guys at the front desk were great. The hotels manager, the son of he owner, was very accommodating when it to my request for a late checkout. I can't say enough good things about the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear pilotsfeelfree1,
I wanted to take the time to express how particularly honored we are to have received a coveted 5 star review from you. You are obviously very well traveled and have given many thoughtful reviews to businesses. It looks like your opinion is trusted by many. We are a small family hotel that has decided to put all of its effort into customer service and to build a facility that does our best to nurture our guests. Your review is better than any advertising. It is real. together with tripadvisor, we have taken the advertising dollars that we need to spend and given directly to you. We appreciate the time and effort it took to make such a detailed review.
If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    21
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
120
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have never experienced the level of customer serivice as I did at your hotel with the concierge at the front desk, Joseph. My boyfriend and I were there celebrating his birthday and Joseph went above and beyond to make sure we had a very special night and everything went perfectly! I truly don't think the night would have went as well as it did had it not been for Joseph and I really appreciate all that he did for us. We will definitely be returning to the hotel, restaraunt, and/or bar all due to the service we received when we were there on 04/15/2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sherry J,
I wanted to take a minute to thank you for your feedback about one of our wonderful people that make the Inn at the Black Olive so special. Our hotel team takes great personal pride in the experience that they are able to convey. It is one that is not only genuine, but one that has as a goal to create a sense of delight. Because we will do anything for our guests to be happy, we feel very good when we get feedback like yours. We are here to serve you, not as servants, but as artists of service. We have a lot of fun. We work as a team and strive to keep as much of a human element so that we can make your stay feel genuine. We are not a big box. Our team members, like Joe, bring a lot of personality and charm to the table.
If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is one of the best holiday experiences we have ever had. From the warm greeting at the front desk to the beautifully furnished room, it was a great experience from start to finish! The staff were first rate and we also had a delicious meal at the Black Olive restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 614Johnt614,
I just wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review of our hotel and the mention of our family's restaurant that is the heart of our hospitality. The Black Olive which is the culinary destination that inspired our hotel, has been serving the finest seafood in the area for over 16 years. We are very proud of our food traditions and enjoy very much to come into contact with wonderful people like you. We sure hope the rest of your trip went as well as it started. It gives us great joy to have been part of your good impression of Baltimore, our home!
We look forward to serving you on your next trip to the area. If we may be of any assistance for any travel in the future, don't hesitate to call. Our concierge is available 24 hours to assist with our customers needs.
Thanks again for helping us get the word out!

Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a nice hotel that is a close, easy walk to all the fun in Fells Point which is my favorite neighborhood in Baltimore. If you want to go to the Inner Harbor it is still a short drive or taxi ride from here. The inn strives to present an edgy, eco-friendly experience and the staff is proud to point out all the "green" features of the rooms. If you are in to that sort of thing you will be pleased with efforts they have made towards sustainability and environmental friendliness. My room (junior suite) was very spacious and comfortable and all of the appointments were sleek, modern and completely up-to-date. Nice bathroom. They also provide a good iPod sound dock and the beds are extremely comfortable. They provide a bottle of wine and spring water in the refrigerator which is also a nice touch, especially in this price range as you would never get that sort of treatment in any hotel that focuses on business travelers. There is also free wi-fi access for each room. The staff is very friendly and there is free, safe, on-street parking just outside the front door. Can't go wrong staying here if you want to focus on this side of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Curmudgey:
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated and is the only way for a small business to compete with the big chains. My family discovered the jewel of Baltimore 20 years ago and knew the charm and scale were perfect for our family's effort to build a boutique hotel to showcase our special brand of service.

Thanks, especially for letting people know that our hotel is a good place for business travelers. We worked hard to include everything that you may need to conduct your business in Baltimore. We feel a special responsibility as ambassadors of not only this fine city but of Fell's Point as well, one of our nations most historic seaports.

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a unique hotel. From the spacious luxurious rooms with such comfortable beds, to the delicious organic food, the Inn at the Black Olive is a little paradise. We celebrated a family wedding at the Inn, enjoying such high quality service from the unobtrusive staff. The top floor venue was perfect for an intimate gathering of about 60 people with the Baltimore sunset as the backdrop. Carefully chosen original artwork throughout the Inn added visual interest. I particularly enjoyed the beautiful large bathroom. Despite the freezing temperatures outside our rooms were comfortably and consistently warm.
Spending the weekend with our extended family at the Inn was memorable!

Room Tip: If you are bringing children ask for a room/suite with blackout curtains in both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ce0l:

It is the people like you that take the time to let people know about us that allows a little family business to compete with the chains. We are very proud that you have identified us as a "Little Paradise."
We thank you for pointing out some of the features of which we are extremely proud. The Building is not just an environmentally friendly building but an occupant friendly one. Our special walls built of Aerated Autoclaved Concrete combined with radiant heat are designed not only to save energy, but to improve thermal comfort! Our bathrooms are designed to give you your own personal spa. We hope you enjoyed the Sanijet pipeless aqua-therapy tub!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I were curious about staying at this inn after having a most wonderful dinner several years back at the Black Olive Restaurant. I must say we were even more impressed with the inn and the lovely, and amazingly roomy, accommodations. We were thinking of taking another trip in springtime, but I happened upon a story in the Baltimore Business Journal about this property being put up for auction this month??!! Does this mean this new and wonderful inn will be closing or merely changing hands? I hope it doesn't close, but even new ownership would spoil the sense of family and hospitality that the owner and staff have worked so hard to achieve. I hope this new Baltimore gem will remain!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
February 22, 2013
Dear Spike 17:

First, on behalf of the my family,I wanted to proudly announce that It aint so!!!!!! Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going. This also includes forming the personal relationships with guests to provide a service that is different than all the "box" hotels. Our passion and determination comes from the heart. Our entire family which extends to the entire staff of the building takes great pride in their collective work. We take our Trip Advisor reviews as a management directive. We strive to bring a smile to every guest and connect with them to facilitate their agenda during their stay in our wonderful hotel and City! We humbly strive to continue to earn our top ranking and value your feedback tremendously! Thanks for letting us broadcast that the Hotel is not going anywhere. We look forward to seeing you in the Spring. It is just such a lovely time to visit!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This small Baltimore inn combines modern urban chic with the warmth of the Greek Islands. Dimitri, the host, is warm and welcoming. His staff follows his lead.
The rooms are simple and luxurious.
The food at the rooftop restaurant is outstanding. So is the view.

There is tons to do within walking distance.

We had a great time at the Inn at the Black Olive. We are looking forward to our next escape there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
February 22, 2013
Dear abc28970:

It is the people like you that take the time to let people know about us that allows a little family business compete with the chains. We give you everything we have from the heart and my team is the same way. Thanks for commenting on this. Service is an art when practiced on beautiful people! Thanks for being our canvas;)

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Address: 803 South Caroline St, Fells Point, Baltimore, MD 21231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the room service meals, Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*Organic beverage and room service available from 7am-10pm from one of our award winning restaurants*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at The Black Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.