We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bertha's Mussels

Bertha's Mussels
734 S. Broadway, Baltimore, MD 21231
(410) 327-5795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 1,817 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading about Bertha's Mussels, we were very excited to give the place a try. After being taken to the upstairs portion of the restaurant that had no personality and a ln awkward environment, we ordered some mussels. To our disappointment, the mussels were small and served by themselve, not in any type of sauce. This would have been ok, but the mussels were barely room temperature. While there was a butter sauce to dip the mussels into, we struggled to get through them. The portion size was good for a couple people to split them, but between the mussels being served "as is" and them being cold, we were more than ready to leave shortly after they came out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    101
    43
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We got there late evening so we didn't have to wait for a table. Ordered soup for appetizers and they were good. Had to wait at least 1/2 to 3/4 hour for our entrees. We even had to ask for the bread. The food was good and plentiful........lots of mussels and large crab cakes. An expensive no thrills place for us (surprised by the $30 price tag for the crab cakes).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to love this place, unfortunately I can't... There were dead bugs on the widowsill and the server misunderstood our order. This was awkward, we let her know about the error and she quickly rectified it, but we were underwhelmed in general with the cleanliness and quality of food preparation.

The mussels were good, but I didn't like that the sauce was served on the side instead of on top of the mussels. This is just a personal preference...

The crab soup was also good, but not enough to bring us back.

Finally, the crab cakes could have been phenomenal-- they were full of crab and had very little filler; however, they were burnt on the bottom and soggy on top.

Bertha's isn't a total disaster; but, we will definitely skip it in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seems overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I came here for lunch with a group of friends. Food was good, but nothing too special. Service was slow, and it took two hours to get through lunch. Not my favorite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ate here in our first trip to Baltimore. I recognized the name from their bumper sticker. I had my first crab cake ever, which was delicious and my wife enjoyed her chicken dish. The food was excellent, the service was fair, and the dive bar in the front was fun for a before dinner drink. We really had a good time here, and I would recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertha's Mussels also viewed

 

Been to Bertha's Mussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertha's Mussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.