We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and funky!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Rain's Fun House

Mr. Rain's Fun House
800 Key Highway, (3rd Floor of the American Visionary Art Museum), Baltimore, MD 21230 (Federal Hill)
443-524-7379
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 1,793 restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Baltimore MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun and funky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the place to go to before or after visiting the Museum. If it is good weather and you can sit on the terrace, it is a double bonus. The food is delicious, much different from any other menu you may have seen and fits with the funky and unique nature of the surroundings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    37
    18
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere for a small wedding! Appetizers were outstanding, as well as the service. I would consider this venue for a special event.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Expecting more FUN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I came here with a Groupon on Friday night expecting it to be super busy. We made reservations just in case, but in the end we were not competing for space with too many other customers. The patio was open, so most people were choosing to eat there. We chose a spot right next to the "Carousel" sculpture.

The service here was pretty slow. On two occasions during the evening a different server tended to our needs because our server was nowhere to be found. Service was definitely friendly and knowledgeable, but I expected slightly more for the price tag.

Yeah, the prices... They are pretty high for the way people dress (we dressed up after seeing the prices on the online menu, but we arrived to find people in shorts) and the service one receives.

The food was pretty flavorful, but we found it to be overly salty. The ruby red trout had a lovely glaze, and the butcher's burger was overwhelmingly meaty. I guess we should have known... The pretzel bites are the gem of this place. Keep asking for more!!! The pickle plate is pretty spicy; my wife could not handle it.

The drinks are awesome, and they would serve as the main reason for a return visit. I tried the Cerveza Sangria and the "Rules of the Game" cocktail, and my wife had the "Fresca" version of the Sangria. Definitely good portions.

Some overall tips:
+Come with a Groupon, or you will pay an arm and a leg.
+Don't order EXTRA sides with your entrees, even if the server tries to persuade you to. Your main dish comes with a side already.
+The fries that come with the burgers are amazing, and you receive a ton!
+Pretzel. Bites. Yum.

We will return, but only for the pretzels and the cocktails.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Different but interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The restaurant is located in the American Visionary Art Museum which is a intriguing place, an the food is fantastic. From the pretzel balls served as appetizers to just about everything on the menu is delicious. Checking out the first floor gift shop is a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good but strange...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just the name gives you an idea of the strangeness of this restaurant at the Visionary Arts Museum - but that goes with the territory. Strange decor, strange things on the wall, a strange mobile outside....That aside, I had a groupon coupon so was looking forward to the experience. I'd been to their previous restaurant near Annapolis so was prepared for some of the strangeness. But, as for the food and service, they were above average, but so were the prices. My soup was only okay, but the burger was good, and my friend really liked the trout. The service was attentive and the outside seating was very pleasant on a spring evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Rain's Fun House also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Rain's Fun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Rain's Fun House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.