We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe & Julia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Fallsway, Baltimore, MD 21202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frostburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Joe & Julia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I booked this room for my wife and me the night before my appointment for a second opinion at Johns Hopkins. When I arrived, the check-in was exceptional. The parking lot was full, but the desk clerk found a spot for me and even "comped" my parking. The room had a full size hot tub for two. The room was very clean and cozy. Snacks were provided in the room as well. I especially liked the way they repurposed this former warehouse into a hotel in the downtown area. It is conveniently located to a lot of amenities. The shuttle service to and from Johns Hopkins was swift and friendly. I will stay there again and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us! It is heartwarming to know that you and your wife enjoyed our location, complimentary shuttle service and the guestroom. Thank you very much for your acknowledgment on our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon when you visit Baltimore again!

Warm Regards,
Lucy Boston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    184
    36
    6
    15
See reviews for
147
172
26
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked this room for myself while my husband was recovering from surgery at Johns Hopkins. I was able to get a JH discounted rate of $89 night. Here is my take on the property:

Pros:
- Johns Hopkins shuttle. Very convenient. They will take you whenever you need to go and you just call the reception to arrange to be picked up. Free and fast.
- Close proximity to JH
- Basic free breakfast (coffee, breads/pastries, sausage/egg patties, yogurt, cereal, juice)
- JH rate (had to call the hotel to get the rate. No proof of JH affiliation required)
- friendly staff

Cons:
- unsecured parking (that I still had to pay $16 a night for!)
- not the most savory section of downtown
- rooms aren't very quiet... floor in the room above mine creaked very loudly whenever someone moved (had to install ye olde ear plugs) and all noise from the hallway came right into the room as there was a big gap between the door frame and the door
- it was hard to get the room very dark due to the aforementioned gap

Overall, this was a fine place to stay for my purposes but I think I might have preferred to spend a little more dough for something a bit more upscale. However, I would recommend this hotel for anyone doing business for a short period w/ Johns Hopkins.

Room Tip: The top floor would probably be best due to the creaky floors/ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
First I’d like to congratulate your husband on his recovery and wish you both happy times outside hospital walls. We offer this discounted rate to lessen the blow for families who are overwhelmed by medical costs. The complimentary shuttle does work on a schedule and I am happy they were available for you when you needed to be driven. Our front desk staff collaborates very diligently with the shuttle company to ensure quality and satisfaction. Our location is less than one mile from Johns Hopkins Hospital which makes us very convenient for our hospital guests. Thank you for reviewing our property so we can work on improving. The friendly staff is always striving for excellence.

We appreciate your thoughts.
Lucy Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife had surgery at Johns Hopkins last week and we stayed at the Sleep Inn & Suites on the night before and for 3 nights afterwards. I would gladly put the service we received at this location up against any 5-star hotel in the area. They genuinely cared for us - not only as customers but also as people. I will break down my review by the rating categories outlined below.

SERVICE: From the moment that we checked in, their staff made us feel welcome. We checked in late and asked a question that took us back out before the staff was able to complete their checkin orientation. When we arrived back at the hotel, the front desk attendant met us at the door, remembered our last name, completed the check-in orientation and give us the WIFI access information. My wife had surgery at Johns Hopkins for breast cancer and our family and friends conducted a "Team Lisa" campaign where people took pictures with a logo and sent it via text to her cell phone. I let the staff know about the project and not only did they participate but they left the sign taped behind the front desk so we saw it each time we came in or left the hotel in the days after surgery. When my wife was nauseous a day after surgery, they were genuinely concerned and happily dipped into the breakfast foods in the middle of the afternoon so that I didn't have to leave the property. The local shuttle service was a great add as well when we needed to make some quick local trips. In THE NEW GOLD STANDARD by Joseph Michelli, there is a chapter about "selecting" versus "hiring". This Sleep Inn & Suites has absolutely gone beyond simple hiring of people that can perform a job. They have selected well a team that is committed to service. WELL DONE!

VALUE: Although they do offer a Johns Hopkins rate (for people there for medical reasons) that is slightly less than their standard rate, their standard rate was a great deal less than other nearby options. The price of the room, the quality of the breakfast, free WIFI, a refrigerator and microwave in the room, free local shuttle service and the proximity to Johns Hopkins as well as the harbor made this location a fantastic value! Parking was $15/night which is reasonable.

SLEEP QUALITY: The beds were comfortable and we got a good night sleep all nights.

CLEANLINESS: The hotel still has a "new" feel and is both clean and comfortable.

LOCATION: At less than 1.5 miles from Johns Hopkins, it was perfectly located for us. We enjoyed a walk to the Baltimore Harbor (less than 1 mile away) and a drive to Fells Point (2 miles away) was enjoyable for food and shopping. There are also some great food options near the hotel as well. There is a great pizza place nearby that I can't remember the name of but was worth the short walk - ask at the desk, they can tell you.

ROOMS: We ended up getting a larger room since we were there for almost a week (we didn't check out the day of surgery) but the standard room would have been just fine for us if we were there for a shorter trip. The ONLY thing that seemed a bit less-than-ideal was the size of the TV in the larger room - but that is a MINOR concern.

RESTAURANT: Only available for breakfast but it was very good with eggs, sausage, fresh waffles, juices, coffee, tea, bagels, bread, sweet rolls, fresh fruit, yogurt (3 kinds), cereal (4 kinds) and hard boiled eggs.

As an added bonus, the owner of the hotel hosted a bar-b-que in front of the hotel on the Sunday before Memorial Day for all of the guests providing free lunch and beverages. It was clear that he either established expectations for great service or fully supports the efforts of his team.

We will return to Baltimore several times in the upcoming months and will look forward to our stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites DOWNTOWN INNER HARBOR for each return visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and the extra space is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just returned from a cruise that left out of Baltimore. Pre cruise we stayed at this hotel and were pleastantly suprised. The hotel was very clean, and modern and the staff were friendly and efficent.

The bed was comfortable, clean and quiet. We were also pleseantly suprised at how big the room was.

The hotel was within walking distance to the inner harbor and little italy. Breakfast at the hotel was good.

No real complaints to speak of but if I had to choose something that needed improvement it would be organization of the cruise shuttle service. On the morning of the cruise embarkation myself and several other guests waited for at least twenty minutes to be picked up by the "shuttle". While this did not cause any major problems, I feel that the hotel staff could have been more organized and communicated better with the guests instead of having guests call the shuttle driver themselves.

Overall it was a plesant experience and I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel, as we know it is a top priority for our guests and for us too! Thank you for mentioning the friendliness and efficiency of our staff, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

When guests choose our Park & Cruise Package, we love that we are the first part of your vacation! The package allows our guests to relax and let us worry about the little things. I do apologize for the shuttle being late, sometimes traffic can cause delays, and I apologize if this caused any inconvenience to you and the other guests. I can assure you this is a very rare occasion, and we receive many compliments about the timely manner and great customer service received by our shuttle service.

I hope you had a wonderful cruise, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor soon.

Warm Regards,
Lucy Boston
General Manager
lucy@sleepinnbaltimore.com
(410) 779-6166
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I were in Baltimore to see some baseball games and tour the city with friends. I booked the hotel because of the location and the reasonable rate.

The hotel turned out to be a bit further from the Inner Harbor than I anticipated (about 3/4 of a mile and just over a mile from Oriole Park) but my wife and I are walkers so did not mind. The immediate neighborhood is a little seedy and we were a bit uncomfortable walking at night. However, just in front of the hotel is a stop for the "Charm City Connector", an intersecting system of three bus lines that run all through the down town area and a bit beyond. The buses run fairly regularly (every 15 minutes or so) and are used by both locals and tourists. The buses are FREE and quite convenient. My wife and I used them to tour the city and enjoyed the experience very much.

The hotel is close to Little Italy: good Italian food reasonably priced for the most part.

The hotel itself is clean. The decor is modern and the rooms are laid out in an unusual but interesting fashion. When we arrived at our assigned room, we discovered someone making repairs to the bathroom who told us it would be a while before he was finished. We went back to the desk and informed the clerk who seemed a little surprised but was quite polite and got us another room right away. Any other contact with the staff was pleasant. Our new first floor room proved to have a little bit of street noise now and then but it was really not a problem. Breakfast was OK and the breakfast room comfortable enough. The beds were comfortable, AC was good, and we slept well.

There is a small workout room with three macines all in working order. Wifi and computer access in the lobby.

Overall, a good experience. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and we liked this place alot :) The staff was excellent, the location was good and the room was an outstanding value. The bed was extremely comfy and clean. My wife and I walk all around the harbor area from Feels point to Federal Hill. We also visited Fort McHenery and a cool Industial Museum near the harbor. Dispite the danger warnings about this city, we had no problem getting around from this hotel's location :) If we visit Baltimore in the future we will most certainly stay here again :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay! Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff, we all strive to make every guests experience as good as yours. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor soon.

Warm Regards,
Lucy Boston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a mini tour of the East coast. To be honest we only stopped by Baltimore because we're big fans of The Wire and wanted to include it in our trip. Unfortunately, because of The Wire we had slightly skewed views of Baltimore and as such were reasonably terrified of the whole surrounding area around the hotel - it's about a 10-15minute walk to the harbour, which I'm sure is perfectly fine, but we got a taxi back anyway like big scaredy-cats.

Anyway, the hotel was a 10min taxi ride from the train station, and for the money we got a very large comfortable room and a great breakfast selection (any hotel with a waffle iron is my idea of heaven). But we were also impressed by the friendliness of the staff, who made us feel welcome and were happy to give advice on the area.

It felt a little corporate, but for a chain hotel that's what you can expect, and in a way we found it comforting given the (imagined) terrifying surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Being from England myself, I understand your feelings about visiting Baltimore (or any large city in the US), especially when you see shows such as the Wire on TV. I am glad that you got to see that it is definitely not scary and that Baltimore is a wonderful city to visit. I take the 10 minute walk to the Inner Harbor often and I can assure you that I feel perfectly comfortable in doing so. We also do have the Charm Circulator bus that passes right by the hotel, and we are fortunate to have a bus stop right in front of the hotel. This is a free bus service that has routes covering the entire city, so this is a great option for guests who would prefer not to walk.

I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and our waffles, they are delicious aren't they?! Thank you for mentioning the great customer service received from our staff, we strive to be as helpful and as accommodating as possible.

Warm Regards,
Lucy Boston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor

Address: 301 Fallsway, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from the Downtown Inner Harbor and Harbor East, Sleep Inn Baltimore Downtown Inner Harbor offers all of the advantages business travelers and leisure guests are looking for, in a quiet and convenient setting. Walking distance to most of the area's attractions, experience the value of the Sleep Inn brand; within a warm, historic setting. As a beautiful retrofit to a 20th century warehouse, the hotel includes exposed brick and waterfalls that adorn both sides of the main entrance and provide a dramatic introduction to a lobby with 25' ceilings. Quality at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Sleep Inn And Suites Downtown Inner Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.