We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brexton to your Saves list
Hotel Brexton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel was lovely. What a delightful boutique hotel with the right mix of turn of the century aesthetics and modern conveniences. It is walking distance from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride. The neighborhood
has such a incredible array of restaurants. A five minute walk or less
will take you from Ethiopian to Afghan to Indian fare. Besides these nice
bonuses, I have to call out Milton and Paul who worked during the days I was staying. They were so attentive and proactive with brilliant suggestions of where to eat (how I found out about the aforementioned) to helping with rental-a-cars (challenge on a FREEZING morning at 8 am). All their help, and suggestions of the entire staff was done with such warmth,
I was quite swept away. Last but not least, for those business travelers
looking for a different option to the mega sky rise chains, SUPER FAST WIFI!! Woop! Overall, an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words. We truly enjoyed having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We could not agree with you more, we are an excellent option for outside the big chain hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    87
    23
    14
    22
See reviews for
41
156
35
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed one night in early the weekend before Christmas. The in an Amazon Local deal. It included a queen room, bottle of wine, continental breakfast and dinner for two at Supano's restaurant on water Street.
The exterior old the hotel is impressive. It dates from the 1870's. The lobby is not so impressive but don't be put off. We were upgraded to a king room on the second floor. It was well appointed and quite comfortable. Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. The TV was a little odd because the remote would only change stations, adjusting the volume or even turning on and off required using the controls on the tv.
Ebony, who worked at the desk during our stay, was wonderful. She went out of her way to be accommodating. Even taking us to the breakfast room to show us how to use the sophisticated espresso/cappuccino machine which is available 24/7. Yumm!! She also arranged to ship an item of clothing which we inadvertantly left in the room.
A word of caution. There is free on the street parking directly in front of the hotel. Very convenient. But there are only 6 spaces, first come, first served.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a kind review. We will be sure to look into the remote so that the volume control works as well. We hope that you will stay with us again soon on your return to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have stayed at Brexton many times over the past few years, and it is a clean and friendly place to stay while exploring Baltimore. The staff works hard to make it comfortable for guests and are very friendly. Once in awhile I can hear the neighbors in the room next door, but most often a quiet place to be. Very convenient to Myerhoff Symphony Hall and if you enjoy walking, not to far from the Inner Harbor, or you can take the free Purple Bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review of our hotel. We truly value your opinion, and we look forward to your return to the Brexton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The staff is friendly, accommodating, and clueless. The rooms are well maintained, and sizable, but don't ask them for directions. They'll tell you where a bus stops, or where the light rail will pick you up, but won't inform you of simple things like "Light rail doesn't run until 11 AM on Sundays" or "The bus stop you need to get off, if you pick up the bus at the stop we're pointing you to is [__]." Additionally, they'll call you a cab, and that cab will come in "2-15 minutes." It's out of the way enough that you stay away from the downtown Baltimore nonsense, but it's out of the way enough that you're away from everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for any confusion regarding getting around in Baltimore. Taxi cabs can take anywhere from two to 15 minutes to arrive at our hotel depending on demand. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. We promise to offer a detailed map with specific instructions upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I was in town on business and decided to book my reservation on hotel.com with Hotel Brexton. I had a wonderful stay there two years ago. When I arrived early in the afternoon my room was not ready. I stored my bags and did some sightseeing. When I came back at 5 I checked in and boy was I DISAPPOINTED. I had a lovely room on a beautiful side street. I imagine my surprise when I discovered the curtains were broken on both windows facing the street. The only blind that worked was facing a car parked on an alley. I immediately went back to the desk and asked for another room. I was told I was blocked into a room the hotel was sold out and I could not be moved. I guess engineering does not exist at Hotel Brexton... IThe room should have been put out of order until the blinds were repaired!!! I asked to speak to the manager. None ever materialized. I did get free WIFI The room was clean. I work in hospitality at another hotel out of state. I felt like I was thrown under the bus. The blinds could have been fixed or I could have been moved. Plenty of people were still due in... at 5 PM. The difference was I prepaid at hotels.com. Not refundable... If I decide to stay again at Hotel Brexton I will deal with them directly and not through an online booking, Also the front desk staff was not in uniform and no one had name tags on. The housekeepers were in uniform. I was VERY surprised.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to make a reservation!!! If there is any issues it will be easier to resolve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day, and I promise you we will look into your review to make sure this does not happen again. We do have an engineering department at the hotel and I will be sure to share your comment on the blinds with them. Again, we are truly sorry and we hope that you will give us another chance to prove our award winning service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Brexton for 3 nights in October and loved it! The building and rooms are beautiful. We love historical buildings and it was a treat to learn about the hotel's history and see the before and after pics they have displayed on each floor. We also absolutely loved their coffee machine! It is hard to get good coffee at a hotel and it was a real treat to have their coffee machine which could make fresh coffee, lattes, cappuccinos, etc with the flavors we love (french vanilla, irish cream, and mocha are our favorites). The location was ideal as we were able to walk to bars and restaurants as well as the museums, theaters, cathedrals, and other amazing monuments! We strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We agree that good coffee can be so hard to find when traveling; that is why we offer only the best coffee machines for our guests. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've had two short stays (2 nights and 3 nights) at the Brexton recently, and everything about the experience was a pleasure, from the welcome of the desk staff, to one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. I stayed in two different rooms - one on the 2nd floor (luxurious, with wooden floors) and one of the 5th (with beautiful views across the city). Both were spacious, impeccably clean and well appointed. I can't imagine a better place to stay in the Mount Vernon district of Baltimore and the building itself is historic. Lots of great restaurants and cafes a short walk away, as is Meyerhoff Symphony Hall, in a nice part of town. The elevator is slow but it works fine. I came by train so parking wasn't an issue. The desk staff was unfailingly helpful and friendly. The breakfast is continental - and free (there are good places for a big breakfast nearby). In a word: great.

Room Tip: Views from the higher floors are great (I was in a room that faced East), but it's worth asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for such kind words! We take great price in reading your review. It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brexton - Truly Extraordinary. Decidedly Unique. Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in our brand new boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. We invite you to reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brexton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.