We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Euro Style Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brexton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brexton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quirky Euro Style Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you like hotels with quirky charm and character then this is a great place for you. If you prefer a typical chain without any "soul" but a multitude of services then The Brexton isn't for you. This is a really charming place that reminded me of some of the hotels I've stayed at in Europe. We usually stay at the Peabody Court up the road and I like the Brexton better. The location is ideal if you're spending any time by MICA, Symphony Hall, The Lyric, University of Baltimore, Peabody Institute and the Walters. Easy walk to all these and relatively close to N. Charles St. and the multitude of great restaurants in the Mt. Vernon neighborhood. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed - not overly luxurious but very nice. The linens were inviting with plenty of pillows. I loved the circular staircase and chose it over the slow elevator many times even though we were on the 4th floor.

The other members in our party did have some issues with the climate control but that might have been because they're elderly. We did not have any troubles with it.

Parking is available in front if you're lucky enough to get one of their passes. Otherwise, on weekends there are plenty of spaces on the street. Like much of Baltimore, you still have to be "on guard" and aware of your surroundings but the area is certainly safe. The front door is always locked and requires your room key or a press of the intercom where the 24 hour front desk person will buzz you in. The light rail is close by if you're without a car.

The continental breakfast is mediocre at best - a small basement room with the typical cereals and bagels and a terrible coffee machine (Keirigs in the rooms are your best bet if you don't go out for coffee in the neighborhood - Starbucks is a few blocks away). I'd rather they drop the rate a little and not offer breakfast.
My only other complaint - the $10 daily wifi fee.

Other than that, I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. We agree, our hotel is a much better option than the big chain hotels. We are so pleased to hear that you will stay with us again in the future; we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    86
    21
    14
    22
See reviews for
38
153
33
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Brexton, a convenient location to move around...
Old Castle like looks and a modest space. Breton is an ideal location to stay in Baltimore for
you to reach Penn Station, Washington Monument, Walters Museum, Inner Harbor, MICA, U.B, and other universities around. The place is very historic and the restoration is done very well. the staffs are very kind and helpful. And rooms are very neat. Good place to be in the center of Down town Baltimore. Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree that our location is ideal for Baltimore travelers and tourists. Please stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife took me to the Brexton for my birthday. The building, the amenities, and the staff were all top notch. It is only a block from the City Cafe and from the antique stores on Howard. Avoid downtown parking problems by leaving your car parked near the hotel and taking the street car downtown on Howard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Brexton is the perfect place to celebrate your birthday! We wish you a very Happy Birthday, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

12 of us travelled to Baltimore and stayed here for 2 nights before getting a Royal Caribbean cruise for 12 nights.

We had great communication with Paul the manager before our stay. We orgsanised the rooms for 12 adults along with transport from the airport, and transfers to & from the cruise terminal.

Upon arrival to the hotel there was wine and snacks- a very welcome treat after such a long trip.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the driver were very patient, especially when loading and off-loading over 24 cases into the vans.

The hotel itself is very clean and tidy- we were upgraded to a suite on the top floor which was very spacious and lovely! The breakfast room was small, however due to jet lag we were up at 5am and therefore didn't have a problem getting a seat!

Room Tip: No bar or restaurant, but city café was just a few minutes walk which served great food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy we were able to help make your cruise such a success. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'm a DC resident, so I've never stayed overnight in Baltimore until my trip last week. Staying for the weekend at the Brexton was the perfect way to enjoy a beautiful spring weekend. Paul set us up in Room 602, on the top floor. We had a terrific view of the city. The room was commodious and yet not too big. It managed to feel both cozy and open. We had the option of opening the blinds to let in the sun or close them completely for sleeping. No cumbersome hotel drapery to manhandle. The only quibble with the bathroom was the tiny shower and the bowl sink on the vanity, which was awkward to use. The best feature of the room, however, was that it was completely quiet, resulting in a restful night's sleep. The Mt. Vernon location is ideal for weekend visitors, as there is so much to see within walking distance. We walked around the corner to Milk & Honey for brunch on both Saturday and Sunday morning and did a tour of my daughter's campus, MICA, on Saturday. Saturday night's dinner at Tapas Teatro in Station North was easily walkable. The staff was very courteous and attentive. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Just ask, the staff will do their best to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are so pleased to know your weekend in Baltimore was so pleasant. We take great pride in our service, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My travels bring me to Baltimore often and I always stay at the Brexton. Paul and his very gracious staff will always make you feel welcome and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The hotel and the rooms are kept spotless. The beds are comfortable and the hotel is very quiet. The hotel is small so if you are looking for a fitness center and room-service food you will be better suited to staying at a chain hotel. But if you are looking for a restful night's sleep and a consistently high quality experience, you will make the Brexton your first choice. The Brexton helps to make my frequent traveling experiences more comfortable which is why I give the Brexton my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. We truly enjoy having you as our guest. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This renovated hotel retained its historic spiral staircase and old window moldings, yet had an updated bathroom and an in-room keurig coffee-maker. We stayed in room 304 which had the bathroom located in the old turret, a nice touch, and was quite spacious. The hotel was not full so parking in the front designated hotel spaces was not a problem.
Milton was a very accommodating manager and was willing to hold our luggage after we checked out and give us great restaurant suggestions.
The breakfast was continental, nothing special but served its purpose. And there was a high tech coffee machine with many options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to providing you with the same great service upon your return to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brexton - Truly Extraordinary. Decidedly Unique. Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in our brand new boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. We invite you to reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brexton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.