We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, very helpful manager and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brexton to your Saves list
Hotel Brexton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“Excellent Hotel, very helpful manager and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our party of 12, from the UK, stayed at this Hotel 30th and 31st March Hotel and a further 5 family members joined our party and stayed there for the 31st as well. We loved the Hotel, the rooms were lovely and the location suited us very well. $8 in a taxi down to inner harbour.

The Manager Paul helped in every way to make our visit go well and kept in constant touch by email to ensure we had the type of rooms we needed and that the organised transport had all the right flight times. The staff that we met were always helpful and pleasant. Paul even organised transport on the day we returned from our cruise so that we could spend the afternoon at the inner harbour before our evening flights to the UK. The drivers he used were very helpful, especially as we had so much luggage to take in and out!

If we ever had the opportunity to return to Baltimore we would definitely stay at the Hotel Brexton.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are large with little road noise. Nice decor throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope that you and your family return to Baltimore again soon. It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    89
    24
    14
    22
See reviews for
41
160
35
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I like older buildings and rather than a chain hotel in the Inner Habor, thought the Hotel Brexton looked an interesting place to stay in Baltimore.I was also travelling in and out by Amtrak and thought it would be handy to the station. Sure enough the station is a 15 minute walk away (though I imagine the taxi drivers at Penn would also be delighted to take you on a five minute journey..).
As to the hotel experience itself the room was a good size as was the bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable. I was up on a higher floor at the back and heard no noise at all.In fact it was surprising how peaceful it was, given two major roads run pretty close by. The staff were friendly and helpful.
One of the guidebooks described Mount Vernon as "a mosaic" which may have been a nice way of saying "don't have to walk too far in any direction to find a derelict building" I'm not sure.
However while I wasn't out late at night, I felt totally comfortable walking around on my own in the area.In fact I found everyone in Baltimore very friendly!
The only down side might be the breakfast.The dining area is limited which means the food out is limited too.If you were a big eater it might be a concern.But I'm not so it wasn't !
All in all a very peaceful stay in an interesting building.Would certainly stay again if in Baltimore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so pleased to hear about your pleasant experience in Baltimore and at our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind review. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay in a wonderful place! Paul, Eboni, and Milt were fantastic. They helped in every way. We left our car parked and walked, took the free bus, or rode the light rail. We reserved parking several days before we arrived, and enjoyed discovering Baltimore.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased to know your stay in Baltimore with us was so wonderful. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Brexton this past weekend and enjoyed my stay for the most part. I was right on the first floor, and my room was absolutely lovely, however, being placed right behind the from entrance, I heard the beeping of the door every time it was opened, which was a bit annoying, and especially while in the bathroom, I could hear all conversations and other noise going on in the lobby. Also, the last morning I was staying there, there was a constant, VERY loud alarm going in the lobby for quite some time, and again, being on that first floor behind the front desk, I could hear it going off all morning.
Luckily, the room was still beautiful and comfortable, and if it weren't for the noise from the lobby, I would have given this hotel an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the alarm and noise you experienced during your stay with us. We will look into the noise issue to ensure a restful night of sleep upon your return to the Brexton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I used a Travelzoo voucher to stay during a weekend, and I had a nice stay at this hotel.

For me, this hotel was a nice balance charming older hotel and modern convenience. The upside to this being in an older building is that there are interesting architectural features and it does not look like most other hotel rooms in the US. The downside is that the bedrooms are a little smaller and the water going through the plumbing can be heard in other rooms.

If you are someone that wants the furniture and decor in a historic hotel to match the age of the building then this is not the hotel for you. The furnishings are fairly modern, which to me is an upside.

My bathroom was larger than average among my many chain hotel stays. The food at breakfast was not awesome but sufficient. I had a bagel and cream cheese. However, there is awesomeness which is the cappuccino-latte-mocha machine. It was fantastic and more than made up for the few food options.

Parking is first come, first served. Keep in mind a parking spot is not guaranteed and if there are events going on around the hotel street parking will fill up even on a weekend.

I had very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. Our modern decor in our historic hotel truly does make us unique. We are happy to hear your kind remarks regarding our hotel. Please stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We found this little gem on the Hotels Tonight App, and were pleasantly surprised by its ambience and charm. My wife is a big follower of English Royalty and their history and when we found out it was the childhood home of Wallace Simpson, the wife of King Edward VIII, we just had to stay there. It was a beautiful old hotel. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable and we had a great city view. Highly recommend it for a stay in Baltimore. Be aware that parking is very limited at the hotel, so make sure you call ahead or make arrangements with a public lot. They do alert you to this on the hotel website. Fortunately, we did not need a car while visiting the city so this was not an issue and you can walk to most of the downtown sites from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. We take great pride in our hotel and it's rich history. We are delighted to hear of your appreciation for it's amazing history. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Comfortable bed, nice Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, Friendly and accommodating staff. Charming boutique hotel. Parking was a problem, we used a parking garage about a block and a half away. Continental breakfast consisted of coffee, a bagel and cereal. Price was decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are sorry you were unable to park closer, but we are happy to hear your enjoyed our amazing amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21201
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brexton - Truly Extraordinary. Decidedly Unique. Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in our brand new boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. We invite you to reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brexton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.